Santa Puppy

Santa Puppy

by Lynn Cahoon

NOOK Book(eBook)

$2.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Santa Puppy 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 21 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
O k short story. Figured out who Lizzie is?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sappy, but really good! ,
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wish+it+was+a+longer+short+story%2C+but+I+enjoyed+spending+time+with+the+characters+that+I+have+come+to+know+and+love.
AmyWeidenaar More than 1 year ago
A beautifully written holiday story with an uncovered mystery woven throughout. I really thought the way it was intertwined with their holiday project to get the shelter animals adopted was a stroke of genius. Nothing was terribly far-fetched and though I did see the ending coming, I still found it completely heart warming. This was a fabulous cozy to pass the time with without getting too bogged down in darkness and angst. Thank you to Kensington Books, NetGalley, and Lynn Cahoon for allowing me the chance to read this story and share my honest thoughts and opinions with others.
KrisAnderson_TAR More than 1 year ago
Santa Puppy by Lynn Cahoon is a Tourist Trap Novella. Jill Gardner of Coffee, Books and More will be hosting a pet adoption event next Saturday at the store to help some adorable animals find forever before Christmas. In anticipation of the event, Jill along with Greg King and her friends are at the Bakerstown shelter to wash the dogs. Jill meets Baby, a ten year old terrier who arrived at the shelter after his owner was found dead on the beach the previous week. Jill takes off his collar and a safety deposit key falls out. Greg King, a South Cove police detective, obtains the items from the box hoping it will provide them with the deceased identity. The contents of the safety deposit box provide Jill with a mystery to wrap up before Christmas. Santa Puppy is a cute and uplifting cozy mystery. There is an adorable dog that misses its owner and a deceased human that the police have been unable to identify. All our favorites characters from A Tourist Trap series are back in this Christmas novella (120 pages). I found Santa Puppy to be well-written and it moves along at a fast clip. I would suggest reading one of the full length novels in A Tourist Trap Mystery series prior to reading Santa Puppy. The story has a good moral plus it highlights the plight of our veterans. There is a hint of Christmas magic at play in this engaging Christmas story (I do not want to spoil it for you). Santa Puppy is a heartwarming Christmas cozy with a sweet ending.
SewWrite More than 1 year ago
Jill Gardner along with her friends and Aunt are helping out the animal shelter this holiday season by bathing the animals for the upcoming adoption party they have planned at Coffee Books and More, Jill's book/coffee shop. While Jill is handling an adorable small dog named Baby she finds a clue that leads her to try to figure out the mystery of what sent the dogs owner on his journey to homelessness. I enjoyed this story even though it had some sad moments it also had some happy moments. Of course that fact that the story had an animal shelter full of animals and was centered around Christmas had me all in from the start.
4GranJan More than 1 year ago
Christmas Themed Two Hour Mystery This is a sweet and cozy mystery that is part of the Tourist Trap series. It is short, not quite 100 pages. It is a cute story that is totally believable. It is filled with Dogs, Santa, Christmas Cookies and love. I received this book for free and this is my honest review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Cute story but way too short to satisfy my craving for these stories. Stephanie Clanahan
weluvdopey More than 1 year ago
This is a great book with a wonderful story and well developed characters. The story flowed very well and was very enjoyable. This book will keep you reading long into the night and you will not want to put this book down until you finish. This was such a great read and full of surprises. I am looking forward to reading other books by this great author.
ArleneArredondo More than 1 year ago
Loved this story! It captures what Christmas is all about. Heartwarming and a great idea for this holiday: a Cookie exchange event.
TarynLee More than 1 year ago
In this short novella Jill is happy to be helping out a local shelter with a Christmas adopt a pet party. Her boyfriend, aunt, and a few other people have agreed to help with the washing and grooming of animals to get them ready for the party. While at the shelter she is introduced to a dog named Baby whose owner recently died from a heart attack. When Jill learns about the dead mans situation she wants to help find out more about his life and if she can find Baby a forever home. She takes the clues she is given and searches for the answers that she seeks. Can she bring herself some piece of mind and come out with a happy ending for the dead man or will the clues she has not lead anywhere? Follow Jill as she does everything she can in hopes of finding a positive outcome.
Marshathereader More than 1 year ago
Santa Puppy is a sweet novella by Lynn Cahoon. It is a great addition to the Tourist Trap Mystery series. It is a heartwarming story perfect for the holiday season with a little romance, a little mystery, and a touch of sadness. It hits all the bases for real life. Santa Puppy is an easy read. When I started reading it, I did not want to put it down. The characters and setting are great and though it is part of the Tourist Trap series, it can be a stand alone. Great novella for animal lovers. I was given an ARC by Netgalley and Kensington for an honest review.
Nancy0708 More than 1 year ago
A touching novella that will put you in the holiday spirit. When Jill Gardener is volunteering at a local pet shelter giving dogs a bath she discovers a key in a dogs collar. This dog had belonged to an unknown homeless man who had died on the beach. The question now becomes what does the key belong to and will it help determine the man's identity? This story is part of A Tourist Trap Mystery series but it could easily be read as a stand alone. Thanks to Kensington and NetGalley for an ARC in exchange for a fair and honest review.
ganderson523 More than 1 year ago
Santa Puppy is a short and sweet addition to the Tourist Trap series. It is Christmas in South Cove and to help others, Coffee, Books, and More is hosting a party for the local animal shelter. Senior dogs and cats are going to be at the shop for customers to go and visit with and hopefully, adopt. The Saturday prior to the event, Jill, Greg, Aunt Jackie, Harrold, Amy and Justin go to the shelter and wash thirty dogs to get them prepped for the event. One of the dogs is a terrier whose owner, Thomas, was recently found dead of natural causes. While Jill is bathing Baby, his collar falls apart revealing a small key to a safe deposit box. Greg takes the key and discovers a journal, letter and fifty eight thousand dollars saved to purchase a dream home for him and his high school sweetheart Lizzie. The two went to Bakerstown High but he joined the Army after graduation. While he was away, her parents moved away to Oregon to separate the two. He never found her again but he never forgot her. Jill has Greg's blessings (this time) to find out as much as she can about his story. While Thomas' story was sad, all ends well and in a surprising way. As all books in the series, expect some yummy desserts, this time in the form of a cookie exchange, including a recipe. Jill gets a real tree this year and so does Greg for the station and conference room where the exchange is held. This is a fun Christmas story with the theme of helping others. I received a complimentary ARC from Lyrical Press and Kensington Books through NetGalley. All thoughts and opinions stated are mine only.
GratefulGrandma More than 1 year ago
This is a cute, heart-warming Christmas novella with characters I have grown to know and love. It is Christmas time in South Cove California and Jill Gardner is planning to host an adopt-a-pet event at the bookstore. As she is meeting the animals that are being featured, she learns about the death of a homeless man and his small dog left behind. When Jill finds a key hidden in the dog's collar, they find a journal and money left to his childhood sweetheart. This piques Jill's interest and she sets out to find his sweetheart. This is a quick story, but it has a wonderful Christmas message, as well as interesting information about Veterans and their hardships. There is a bit of magic, and a couple of twists that will surprise the reader. I highly recommend this addition to The Tourist Trap Mystery series, whether you have read any of the other books or not. It is a sweet Christmas Novella. The publisher, Kensington Publishers, generously provided me with a copy of this book upon request. The rating, ideas and opinions shared are my own.
ArizonaJo More than 1 year ago
Santa Puppy by Lynn Cahoon is a sweet little Christmas time mystery set in Ms. Cahoon's Tourist Trap world. Jill and her family and friends are putting on an adoption party for a local animal shelter to help place senior dogs and cats. There's one sweet little dog who captures Jill's heart as his master recently passed away from a heart attack and he has no living family. Jill does fina a clue and then Greg provides a few more clues which spurs Jill on to find out what she can about the man. This is a novella that kept me turning the pages and I breathed a happy sigh and a few tears at the end. I voluntarily reviewed an Advance Reader Copy of this book from Lyrical Press via NetGalley. All of the above opinions are my own.
BookloverUT More than 1 year ago
Jill Gardner, owner of Coffee, Books and More, has volunteered to host a Christmas adopt-a-pet event. One of the dogs that touch her heart is a little terrier named Baby whose owner was homeless and died of a heart attack. As Jill looks into the homeless man’s past, she discovers a sad love story that needs a Christmas miracle. I loved this little mystery. It had a theme that touched my heart. Pets become a part of the family, and help us make our lives whole. They can help us heal through the tumultuous times. I received an Advanced Reader Copy of this book from NetGalley and am voluntarily reviewing it.
Chatting-About-Cozies More than 1 year ago
This wonderful Christmastime novella will put you in good spirits for the holidays! Jill and the South Cove gang are volunteering at an animal shelter helping groom dogs and cats for an upcoming adoption event. An older terrier mix, Baby, catches Jill’s eyes, and his background is tied to a recent death, and the heartfelt story of his owner’s past. A happy ending is the gift Cozy Mystery Readers receive at the story’s end. Cookie recipe included.
CozyOnUp More than 1 year ago
This short story will get you in the holiday spirit and looking for ways to bring the true meaning of Christmas to others.  When a homeless veteran passes away from natural causes, Jill Gardner finds a key on his dog's collar as she and the gang prepare for a pet adoption event at her store. Being a sleuth, Jill wants to track down the man's family and find his dog a home. As the story unfolds and Jill gets the full picture, the true spirit of the season embraces the town of South Cove and the mystery is solved. I love the rescue and adoption angle of the story and found myself a little misty eyed at the end. A great quick read. A big fan of Lynn Cahoon's and could just hug her for this Christmas gift.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed reading this book because Christmas is close.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I think this book looks and aounds amazing.