Sacajawea

Sacajawea

by Anna L Waldo, A. L. Waldo

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback - Revised)

$9.61 $9.99 Save 4% Current price is $9.61, Original price is $9.99. You Save 4%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, September 25

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Sacajawea 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 55 reviews.
BanbaOir More than 1 year ago
I bought this book when it came out back in 1984 I beleive. I was a bit hesitant at first, not only because of its size, nearly 1500 pages, but the typeset was soooooo tiny,...but I never in my life read a book so rapidly and so completely obsessed. I have read and re-read my copies so much they are falling apart, and am ordering yet again to just have a copy that is intact. If ever this had come out in Hardcover, it would have been well worth the investment.
trippnmama More than 1 year ago
Don't let the length of this book scare you off. It is wonderfully written and a very fast read. I couldn't turn the pages fast enough. History in novel form is a fantastic way to learn something without being dry. The character development, the style of writing is wonderful. The true journal entries at the the beginning of each chapter hook you into reading all night long. Don't miss this one. I read this back in the 70's and have now read it again 30 years later. This is on my top 5 of all time.
KarenVO More than 1 year ago
I loved this book! I read it many years ago and could never find my hard copy, so I got it for my Nook. That too is a delightful way to read a book! It is hard to comprehend that Sacajawea was only about 14 or 15 years old when she made this trek to the Pacific Ocean. The story moves well and I stayed very interested.
harmonytx444 More than 1 year ago
Like some of the others who reviewed this book, I was a bit hesitant when I first decided to read it because of how long it is....but I'm so glad I did not let that stop me. I only wish we could really know for sure how her life ended because of the historical uncertainty that has never been absolutely determined....but I prefer to chose the version where she lived to be a wise old woman with loving family around her in her final days... This is one of the finest novels I've ever had the pleasure of reading. By all means, buy it and take the time to read it, I feel very certain you will be glad you did....
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I became interested in learning more about Sacajawea after seeing the movie Night at the Museum. It is evident that much research and leg work went into the writing of this novel....so much history! Like other reviewers, I too was intimidated by the length of this book at first but the writer keeps you captivated all the way through. All young Americans, especially girls should know the story of Sacajawea and how important she was to the expansion of this country. I highly recommend this book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved the Book!!! It was a great story and captivated me the whole time I read it Don't let size discourage you!!! All the time I spent reading it was worth it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book will change your life. I love to read and no other book I have ever read has compared to this one. I first read this book in 1989 and have read it at least 4 times since then and I just ordered a new one because the old one was falling a part. Sacajawea is my hero and an American Hero. She does not get the credit she deserves. I guarantee you will not be able to put this book down.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I am 13 and it took me 4 days to read this book. I loved it, and i reccomend it to everyone!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Is this book safe for children to read?Please answer honestly!
M-M_Joy More than 1 year ago
I was so excited to see this book available in e-book form. I have the original paperback. It's too fat to hold open so I have never been able to read past the first couple hundred pages. A fascinating book that I can now read comfortably.
Guest More than 1 year ago
i also i have read through this book about 4 or 5 times, and i am going to order a new one because mine is falling apart also.. i can't stop reading it. a very inspiring book. i'd love to see a new movie based on her life.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I absolutely loved this book! It has given me a whole new perspective and respect for all those Americans-native and *****wise-who explored, charted and settled this beautiful land of ours. Yeah, sounds corny? But thats the kind of awe and respect this book actually inspires.
Guest More than 1 year ago
At first, I was a little indimidated by the size of the book, but once I started it, I got into it so much, I had little else to think about.. I read it at school, read it while the tv was on.. I read it all the time. If you want to read it, I'm warning you, you'll get hooked.
Guest More than 1 year ago
...you will get so wrapped up in this book, you'll wish it were longer. I read this one years ago and became completely engrossed in anything to do with Native Americans. I am so happy to see that this one is still in print. Too many great historical fiction novels I read years ago are out of print. I'd love to have this one in hardcover, but it would probably weigh 20 lbs! BUY IT! READ IT! Be amazed!
Guest More than 1 year ago
WHEN I OPENED THIS LARGE WRITTEN BOOK, I THOUGHT NO WAY WILL I FINISH IT. PAGE 1, I DISSAPEARED AND APPEARED AGAIN 4 MONTHS LATER WITH TEARS IN MY EYES. YOU ARE CAPTIVATED THROUGH OUT AND NOT BEING ABLE TO COMPREHEND HOW SHE SURVIVED SUCH A LIFE SHE LEAD.the sad part was, the book ended. i wish sacajawea was here now among us, what a great women who cared so much of others.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book so much, although it took me a little longer to read it, It was always very hard to put down. I also found strengths I could relate to and enjoyed reading about the voyage of the Lewis and Clark expedition, because it hit so close to home (literally). I highly recommend this book!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was outstanding!! Even though the length is usually a turn off to a student who needs to spend ample time studying, not reading non-required books ;), I loved this book so much I could not put it down! I would reccomend this book to anyone; everyone can relate to the heroine in some aspect throughout the course of this book. I also like the way the author referred at the beginning of each chapter to the historical references, and I enjoyed her version of the ending of Sacajaweas life, where she used what information she had, and her imagination. An excellent, excellent book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have read many books in my 54 years, and I can say this is the very best one I've ever read. I have read it over and over again. I'll say maybe 6 or 7 times. Everytime I do read it, I find something I missed the previous times. I Recommend it highly.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I stopped reading this book due to its inaccuracies. I know she took ten years researching this book but the research stemmed from the white colonial point of view. The indigenous tribes are referred to as the racists ones we gave them instead of their actual tribe names. Words like pappose are used and she sets the story with a little girl who was told not to ask questions because that’s a mans role. Indigenous people were not introduced to patriarchy until after white colonials invaded their tribes. Indigenous tribes were matriarchal societies. You can read this, just know you aren’t getting anything close to actual history.
dragonasbreath on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
It's a long read but you won't have any trouble picking the story back up again. We basically follow Sacajawea from birth to death.Made an interesting tale.
kairosdreaming on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book is not for the faint of heart or those who want a quick read. At 1328 pages for just the story and an additional 61 pages of notes this is a titan of a read. But every page is well worth it.It starts out when Sacajawea is a young girl and covers her capture and enslavement by the Mandan tribe. While with the Mandans she is subjected to rape at around age 11 (the book makes it somewhat hard to pinpoint her age at times), learns the art of glass making, and then is eventually sold off to another tribe. This tribe is a lot kinder to her and she has a few easy years until she is lost in a wager to her future husband (the perverted Toussaint Charbonneau).We next see Sacajawea pregnant with her first child (John Baptiste also known as Pomp) when she attracts the attention of Lewis and Clark. As her man Charbonneau is to be an interpreter for the expedition, her wit and intelligence cause Clark to ask for her to come along as well. He also reasons that a party traveling with a woman and baby will not look like a war party.Regarding her travels with Lewis and Clark, while the travel west was covered extensively, the return was not given as much detail. Upon their journey they meet several local Indian tribes and the author seems to really hone in that all these people are fond of the native salmon, rotting or fresh, and the character's disdain for the meal. In all, I expected this to be a large part of the book when in reality it was only 300-400 pages worth of the book. While the rest of her life was definitely worth writing about, it seems like the author could have spent more time on this subject as it is one of the more well known parts of her life. The return back east lasted only a couple of chapters and didn't seem to give as much depth as everything else.Upon her return from the expedition they settle peacefully in St Louis where Clark's wife teaches her to sew and embroider and they have no worry of starving in the lean winter months (something that is shown quite prevalently in other parts of the books when she is with her native Indian tribes).One day, when the beatings from Charbonneau finally push her to the breaking point, she packs up her belongings and leaves and her ten year old son Baptiste stays with his father. She is taken in by a tribe of Comanche and remarries. Over the course of 26 years she has an additional five children, but only two out of them survive childhood.When her husband dies she leaves and seeks out the white man, hoping to find her first born son. The rest of the book follows this journey until she's well into her eighties and has settled down with her daughters and grandchildren.Sacajawea faced many hardships and Waldo's book explores many of them. It also faces her triumphs and her sorrows and really makes you believe you know everything she went through and can take a real peek at her life. Waldo also did a wonderful job of incorporating quotes and citations from numerous journals of the time at the beginning of each chapter. It provides factual background that helps make this fictional telling more believable. Each chapter starts out with an excerpt and she bases the next chapter loosely upon that excerpt, creating a story line for each chapter within the story itself. Her writing itself is very detailed and she seems to put a lot of emotion behind her words.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is such a great read its so easy to get lost into it and to lose yourself into the book. I don't think anyone else can do a better job of writing wbout this wounderful historic lady.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
C-Hope More than 1 year ago
The story of Sacajawea is historically documented throughout, yet written as a novel that has kept me up several nights! It is longer than I had expected but when we come to the end I will be disappointed to leave this very interesting lady behind.