Rubyfruit Jungle

Rubyfruit Jungle

by Rita Mae Brown

Paperback

$16.67 $17.00 Save 2% Current price is $16.67, Original price is $17. You Save 2%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, October 18

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Rubyfruit Jungle (SparkNotes Literature Guide Series) 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 40 reviews.
Jane1994 More than 1 year ago
I liked this book, it wasn't the best I ever read, but it's story was entertaining and moved along at a good pace. The charcters were interesting and full of depth. I disagree this is only for over 35, I'm 20 years under that mark, and I was able to enjoy it.
ametralladoras on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Loved it. Refreshing to read a book with such a strong female character. Don't agree with everything this books suggests (i.e. someone can change their sexual orientation based on the quality of sex). But love the sex positive quality of the book. Slightly dated, but still a good quick read.
SqueakyChu on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Curiosity got the better of me when I chose to read Rubyfruit Jungle. I knew the story was about a lesbian and also knew that it had been written in the 1970¿s. Since reading fiction about homosexuality is pretty mainstream now, I was interested in what was written about it over 35 years ago. As a story, I wasn¿t all that interested in it. It follows the life of Molly Bolt, a lesbian who grew up with her adoptive parents in Pennsylvania, then later moved with them to Florida. Molly was a very tomboyish and outspoken woman. She was never afraid of recognizing her own identity as a lesbian and often teased other women about their own sexual identity. From a young age, Molly knew she¿d never marry. Her greatest difficulties developed after her father died and her mother, learning of Molly¿s lesbianism, threw her out of the house.What amazed me most about this quick read was the frankness of the author¿s writing. I think perhaps that is why this book was so widely read at the time it was first published. Today, there are probably more interesting novels with homosexual characters. That Molly¿s homosexuality was the focus of the book led me to tire of the story after a while. What I did like, though, was Molly¿s determination to succeed and her own knowledge that she was a worthwhile person who could make something of herself even if others doubted her. The ending of the book was quite perfect for its time. If this book would have been written today, however, its ending would have been very different.
truth_of_spirit on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
While I read it, I was seriously wondering why there are sooo very diverging reviews of it. I actually liked it all the way through, however, the end was a little too open (or was it exactely not?), but then, on the whole, the depiction of the main character doesn't seem too caricaturized to me (agreed, there are some rather short bits which read like a comically-sad version of what it should be, but then again, it's art :-) )So, all in all, I liked it :-)
booksandwine on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Decent book about the sexual awakening of a lesbian. It opened my eyes to the lesbian experience. Also, lots of feminist undercurrent. Molly, the main character, grows up during the time where women wore dresses and aspired to secretarial positions, but Molly wants to break the glass ceiling. There are lots of sexual exploits and that's it. Don't read this if you are prude.
whirled on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Rubyfruit Jungle's style may be dated, but its themes - of coming out and of trying to make a mark as an independent woman - are timeless. The frank sexuality may also have lost its radical edge, but Molly Bolt remains a feisty, funny role model for anybody who is reluctant to live their life according to the predetermined script.
debavp on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I can't truly express how disappointed I was with this book. I'd read Southern Discomfort a few years ago and also the first few in the Sneaky Pie series and was impressed with Brown's writing, so I really was expecting maybe a cross between the two styles. They only reason this book would have been commercially successful in the early 80's would have been the pure shock value of it. But I have no doubt that if I had read it back then I would have thought the same as now.
litalex on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Picked it up purely because I just thought it was about d*mned time I read the lesbian classic. Turned out that it's a wonderful book, and I totally fell in love with the protagonist, Molly, who's by turns defiant, hilarious, brave, determined and inspirational. The book ended on a uncertain note, but we all know how the life of the author herself turned out to be, so I guess it's a happy ending after all.
sumariotter on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is one of the first lesbian novels I ever read and as such was very exciting to me though I've forgotten the details.
CorvusOrru on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Had this one confiscated by my English teacher once upon a time; she was under the impression at the time that it was a trashy sappy breeder romance novel.Rubyfruit is certainly no piece of sap or trash, and while it is, admittedly, a "coming-out" story, it was one of the first in the genre and focuses more on the world's reaction to our protagonist rather than her own mixed-up feelings and confusion (the latter of which rarely makes for a good read). A novel that is true to life and I daresay genuinely inspiring to women when it was first released. A good piece of work from Ms Brown before the downward spiral heralded by Venus Envy.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
An in your face, take no prisoners sort of novel that touches the parts of you that still dares to be your own person.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
At first I was scared that this book would scare me off, as I hate reading books where plots take place in the 50s-60s. All I can imagine are bad hair do's, ancient clothes, and just plain boredom. It didn't help either that this book was published 15 years before I was born. But as I read the first few pages, I found myself laughing out loud at my local B&N. Even though some of the years were mentioned, with the aid of the hilarious sarcastic humor Rita Mae Brown expresses through her characters, it did not phase my interests, and it was easy to imagine everything took place in recent years. I read earlier reviews, and I disagree with some. I'm only 20 and I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It is NOT one for only 35+. Also, those who are looking for a book about beautiful feminine lesbians together that actually has humor and laughs, and not the sterotypical butch and femme love stories that are serious and always end up sad or all about sex, this is the one for you. I've spent forever to find one! This was my first time FINISHING a lesbian fiction, and my first time reading a Rita Mae Brown novel She definitely did not disappoint!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
I brought this book, because it was part of a reading assignment for my class. I really enjoyed this book, it made me laugh and cry. Very good and powerful story.
Guest More than 1 year ago
i bought this book because it is always talked about as one of the best lesbian novels ever. i'm sorry to say i found it to be boring and average. for me, it did not stand out as a great book at all. maybe i have a short attention span. all i know is that i would not recommend this book to anyone under 35.