Rococo

Rococo

by Adriana Trigiani

Paperback(Reprint)

$17.00 View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, October 21

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Rococo 3.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 40 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Boring,drawn out,, no substance
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Adranina Trigiani brings her characters to life in a way that makes you care deeply about what happens to them. Her books incorporate the laughter and joy we all find in life. So far I have loved every book she has written.
riofriotex on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The main character, B (short for Bartolomeo) is a decorator, and Trigiani has used first person to provide detailed descriptions of interiors and furnishings. Further, she uses marvelous metaphors and similes to do it. This book has some things (especially from page 220 on) to say about friends, family, and faith; rebirth and renewal; love and money; and is an enjoyable read to boot. Finally, it weaves in some great recipes in the story, such as ¿Our Lady of (Drown Your) Sorrows Cake with Heavenly Frosting,¿ and a crab and multiple-cheese spread that, toasted with tomato on English muffins, is to die for. Recommended!
flame8 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Fun to read, but not as wonderful as all of her other novels. I thought the narrator was a woman for several pages. Still worth reading since she is such a fun author.
rainbowdarling on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
When reading a book, I generally expect that within 100 pages, I'll have a plot or at least a general idea of where a plot might be. Rococo never seemed to acquire a plot. Mostly it was the story of a petulant bachelor who happened to try to decorate everything in his particular town in New Jersey. The bulk of this book was description - of food, of decor, of clothing, and I was left overwhelmed with description that felt unnecessary and underwhelmed by story that never seemed relevant or even linear.The characters were interesting, but the secondary characters were far more interesting than "B" who, as the main character, seems that he should be therefore the most interesting.The story fell short of my expectations after reading Lucia, Lucia.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Again, another heartwarming story!
BibliophileHS More than 1 year ago
This was a thoroughly enjoyable book about a family, their foibles, and a church renovation that became more than anyone thought possible or expected--with a few miracles sprinkled in the drama of family members, an arranged marriage, and how love can change everything. This was a page turner, and another great book by Adriana Trigiani. I'm hooked on this writer and her variety of books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
MathGalRI More than 1 year ago
I love all books by Adriana Trigiani. I do have a problem with the reader. I am a native of the Jersey shore and was shocked to hear the reader mispronounce the names of towns such as Belmar and Interlaken. Also, New Jersey residents who live in the area where this book takes place DO NOT speak with a "Joisey" accent. It was very annoying--actually quite unbearable. I had to go back to the library and borrow the regular book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The plot is simple and a bit transparent. I don't think it is one of Adriana Trigiani's best.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I thoroughly enjoyed reading Rococco. The way Adriana writes, hits so close to home. She used words in the story that I use in my everday language when communicating with my family. I felt like I was part of the story. I've enjoyed Lucia, Lucia and Queen of the Big Time, just as much. Thank you for writing stories that I can relate to.
Guest More than 1 year ago
thoroughly enjoyable, especially if you are an Italian. So many of the little idiosyncrasies of the characters really hit home. I could not wait to get back to the book to continue reading about OLOF's renovation.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read and enjoyed Lucia,Lucia, Big Stone Gap, Big Cherry Holler and Queen of the Big Time but am really bored with Rococo. I read the first three chapters and will not read the rest. Too much about interior decorating and not enough plot for me.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have listened to this book on DVD and loved it! The Italian-American characters are funny, warm, and down to earth. The story line is very unique but believable. Perhaps what makes this book come to life is the narrator and his New Jersey accent. I found it highly entertaining and it made me wish I had some Italian ancestry!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have loved all of her books, with Milk Glass Moon being at the bottom of that list, until now. Rococo did not touch me like the others. I cared so much for Lucia, I loved all the characters of Big Stone Gap. I wished the Big Time never ended. But, I couldn't wait to get away from 'B.' Was he gay? Who cares. Was he straight? Who cares? Where was all that emotion and life and passion in a Trigiani character? Major let down.