Robert B. Parker's Little White Lies

Robert B. Parker's Little White Lies

by Ace Atkins

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback - Reprint)

$9.99 View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, November 19

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Robert B. Parker's Little White Lies (Spenser Series #46) 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 14 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Will never read a Spenser by Ace again
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
About halfway through this book something happened. Spencer and Hawk disappeared and were replaced by poor imposters playing roles in a limp and unimaginative story. Atkins missed something here. Avoid this installment
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A decent attempt, but compared to originals, storyline too simplistic, too short, and very predictable, not a good try.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Always liked to know how Hawk did and knew things, this is a glimpse¿ of that. The charm of Spencer is there. Out if the newer books this is one of the better ones
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ace Atkins did a great job following in the foot steps of the late Robert B. Parker. The characters of Spenser and Hawk were true to form. Great read. Thanks for a good book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I kmow the author is dead but i think the current stand in needs to read the old books, enough said.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Thank you Ace Atkins for continuing Robert Parker's "Spenser" series! It's wonderful!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ace Atkins did not disappoint me; was a good as Robert B. Clay
gloriafeit More than 1 year ago
For some reason I had not read this entry in the Spenser series created by Robert B. Parker, but have finally caught up to it, I’m delighted to say. From the publisher: Connie Kelly thought she’d found her perfect man on an online dating site. He was silver-haired and handsome, with a mysterious background working for the CIA. She fell so hard for M. Brooks Welles that she wrote him a check for almost three hundred thousand dollars, hoping for a big return on her investment. But within weeks, both Wells and her money are gone. Her therapist, Dr. Susan Silverman, hands her Spenser’s card. A self-proclaimed military hotshot, Welles had been a frequent guest on national news shows, speaking with authority about politics and world events. But when he disappears, he leaves not only a jilted lover but a growing list of angry investors, duped cops, and a team of paramilitary contractors looking for revenge. Enter Spenser, who quickly discovers that everything about Welles is phony. His name, his resume, and his roster of associates are nothing but an elaborate fraud. But uncovering the truth won’t be easy, as he’ll have to keep his client from falling back into the mystery man’s tangled web, all while staying a step ahead of trained killers. As the trail winds from Boston to the back roads of Georgia, Spenser will need help from trusted allies Hawk and Tedy Sapp to make sure Welles’s next con is his last. The author has captured many of the expected patterns of Robert B. Parker’s writing. (Mr. Parker died in January 2010.) But Mr. Atkins, besides giving us a very absorbing tale, has retained some of the most typical Parker patterns, e.g., nearly every character’s choice of clothing and headgear is noted, particularly caps declaring the owner’s love for a particular local sports team, whether Braves or Red Sox. Connie Kelly’s early appearance notes that she “was dressed in a white sleeveless silk top with a black pencil skirt adorned with chrysanthemums and a pair of black open-toe heels that highlighted her shapely calves. Her toes had been painted a festive red.” In her next appearance “she wore a very short red floral dress and black tights with black suede booties,” with a purple cardigan. She explains what attracted her to Mr. Welles thusly: “I wanted a tall, successful, and interesting man. Someone who liked to travel and took time to enjoy sunsets.” Well, she got all of that and a lot more that she could have done without. Spenser is now living in the area of the Charlestown Navy Yard, where Pearl the Wonder Dog keeps him delightful company. This is another exciting entry in the series, thoroughly entertaining, and highly recommended. Next up for this reviewer is the next in the series by Mr. Atkins, another Spenser novel, Old Black Magic.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A good Spenser story, worthy of the franchise
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Decent story but ... Mr. Atkins needs to reread some of the real Spencer stories and try to capture the essance of the characters. I don't remember as many word proofing errors in any of the previous Parker novels.
Deb-Krenzer More than 1 year ago
I have over a dozen Robert B. Parker books, yet this is the first one in his series that I've read. I have read Ace Atkins books before that he has written not as Robert B. Parker. I loved the Ace Atkins books and yes, I loved the Robert B. Parker book. I can tell there is a different style of writing. I really like this Spenser character. What a smarta$$ he is. I like that, reminds me of myself. In this particular book, his client has met a man online and she has given him $360,000. Now that man has left and she wants her $$ back. Spenser soon finds out, she really doesn't care about the $$, she wants the man back. Spenser is determined though, his client is paying for the $$, she's getting the $$. There are several shady characters involved in this mystery and I certainly would not turn my back on them. Getting through the muck of all this and discovering just who this online man really is made for great reading. I enjoyed this book immensely and was thoroughly entertained. I will certainly be looking forward to reading more in this series. Now, I am going to have to get out my own Robert B. Parker books and see how the real man holds up to his replacement. HA!! Huge thanks to Penguin Group Putnam for approving my request and to Net Galley for providing me with a free e-galley in exchange for an honest unbiased review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
All the regulars, good villains and enough action to satisfy. Ace Atkins has Robert Parker's style perfectly. An excellent job of channeling Parker. Good book!! Always a pleasure to read a well done Spencer.