Rescue

Rescue

Audio CD(Unabridged)

$51.32 $69.99 Save 27% Current price is $51.32, Original price is $69.99. You Save 27%. View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Rescue 3.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 407 reviews.
harstan More than 1 year ago
In Hartstone, Vermont, paramedic Peter Webster stops at the scene of an apparent one car crash. Peter pulls out the unconscious driver Sheila Arsenalt who obviously was driving under the influence. He treats her injury. Afterward he is drawn to her like a bear to honey. They have an affair and eventually marry. Soon they have a daughter Rowan. However, parenthood does not abate Sheila's drinking. Instead she hits the bottle much more until she is in another car accident with Rowan as a passenger. To keep his wife out of jail, a desperate Webster sends Sheila away. Years later, a high school senior Rowan has begun drinking; hoping for A Change in Attitude, Webster begs for Sheila to come home to help their daughter. Rescue is an entertaining family drama starring three intriguing characters that seem to prove love is not enough to cement strong relationships. Neither Peter (as heroic first responder - even meets a teen he brought into the world years ago in an emergency), Sheila (as a woman unable to stop from hurting those she loves or herself) or Rowan (teen in peril) are fully developed beyond their dysfunctional roles. Yet in spite of the characterization, readers will enjoy Anita Shreve's enjoyable relationship tale. Harriet Klausner
-TESSA- More than 1 year ago
RESCUE Anita Shreve RESCUE is about a man whose work is to save lives in spite of his self-destructive family. This one is about coping with what is dealt, dealing with life and making the best of it. There are unpredictable choices to be made, alcoholism to deal with, search for hope, a man desperate to protect his daughter, vulnerable people, and lots of problems to solve, such is life as most of us know it. It is a poignant story about a good man who makes a mistake, but takes full responsibility for his actions. Peter Webster, the main protagonist, is a conscientious and loving parent and a hard-working man who accepts the fact that he must make the best of a bad situation. He is a person we can admire and rally around. The Sheila character, however, is a tortured soul who lacks the ability to comprehend that no one can help her deal with herself but herself. Shreve is a wonderful story teller who delivers reality with feeling and generosity. I enjoy all of her books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a spot for us to give our "view" on the book NOT to tell what happens from the first page to the last..............please people, stop spoiling the books for everyone. You're supposed to just say whether you liked it or not.
Listeningartist More than 1 year ago
I listened to this audiobook. The production was acceptable, not outstanding. Ms. Shreve tells a good story here, but her dialogue seems awkward and forced. She could have done much more with this story. I have read most of her work, and this is not her best.
The_Reading_Reviewer More than 1 year ago
Peter Webster was 21 when he literally saved Sheila Arsenault's life. His EMT team was responding to the call for medical assistance and they met. While these were less than ideal circumstances a relationship was formed and Sheila grabbed on with both hands to Webster's lifeline. Webster had the one and only thing Sheila craved - normalcy. Sheila comes with excessive baggage to the relationship but Webster ignores it all and falls in love despite the huge problems. They have a daughter, Rowan and Webster prays that this will bring Sheila to her senses and have her stop the spiral of destruction she keeps putting herself into. But with all hopes and dreams this one for Webster is short-lived and he takes the matter of caring for his daughter in his own hands. Sheila cannot be a mother and a drunk and when he made her choose it left Webster alone to raise Rowan. Life seemed ideal until Rowan hit 17 and beyond the regular adolescent angst Rowan turns angry toward him and Webster is powerless to figure out why. He reaches out to Sheila who has been gone for 15 years and the timing could not have been better as Rowan has found herself in a situation even an EMT can't save her from. Will Sheila being back help or hurt the life Webster has made he doesn't know but for Rowan any risk is worth taking.
donnareads911 More than 1 year ago
Shreve just nails it again. A story of a small family, torn apart by alcohol and the subtle turnings of life. It could grow sappy and overdone, but no - deftly worked and all told, the ending is like a soft turn of the page with that whisper of air that makes the reader breathe out more of the story.
Dollycas More than 1 year ago
Little Brown Publishing Release Date: November 30, 2010 Paul Webster is working as an Emergency Medical Technician. On one of his first calls he pulls a beautiful woman from the wreckage, she never should have survived but Sheila Arsenault pulls through and is released from the hospital. Webster just can't get her out of his mind and breaking all the rules of his job tracks her down and they become involved in a torrid love affair. She becomes pregnant and the relationship that probably would have fizzled if allowed to run it's course is now moving full speed ahead. When she does something unforgivable, Webster is forced to give her some money and send her away, both for her own good and his. It is now eighteen years later, Webster has raised his daughter on his own, but lately she seems to be on a course headed for destruction. Maybe she needs her mom to help her get back on tracks but does he really want to invite her back into their lives? Is he ready to forgive her? Is he ready to answer all the questions his daughter will have? I couldn't put this book down it was so good. I read almost the whole thing in one sitting. I love this author and the way she writes. You are just drawn right in from page one. Her characters are easy to identify with, the story is current and real, you feel you are almost right there with them with their story unfolds right before your eyes. This is sure to land on the bestseller's list and remain there a while. It is one you will truly want to read and maybe more than once. It is definitely one for the keeper shelf. Disclosure of Material Connection: I received these books free from Little Brown, a Division of Hachette Publishing. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
yowen2010 More than 1 year ago
Quite honestly, this book didn't hold me so much. The style of writing was confusing and unclear...the plot was mediocre and the ending was abrupt. Disappointing.
sara32878 More than 1 year ago
I've read most of Anita Shreve books, and this one did not disappoint. I am writing my review because I saw others were disappointed. I read this book in 1.5 days, the story was touching. She makes you feel for the characters and the transitioning from the past to the present was seamless. I highly recommend this book, especially if you are a parent.
BookLoaner More than 1 year ago
As soon as I started this book, I literally could not put it down. I'd highly recommend this title as well as an earlier book by the same author, "Sea Glass."
katz27 More than 1 year ago
I did not enjoy this book. I am a huge fan of Anita Shreve and was surprised at her lack of originality and weak storyline. Surprised to see others enjoyed it.
jessie2 More than 1 year ago
The first thing I "caught" in this book was the piece of land that Webster longs for, the house he dreams of building there, and I really thought that somewhere in the end this dream would come true. Enter Sheila and nothing is the same. I ask myself how someone so straight and narrow as Webster could fall in love with someone as "trashy and troubled" as Sheila. You can see right from the start that she is bad news and want to tell Webster to run the other way. The ending was too simplistic SPOILER ALERT Rowan is no longer troubled, Sheila is back in the picture and maybe back with Webster. I liked the book, it held my attention, easy read, would have ended it differently.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
sleahey on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
With an EMT as the main character, the emergency medical scenes provide a fascinating backdrop to the story of intense romance gone awry, the difficulties of single-fathering, and small town relationships.
debnance on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Peter Webster is an EMT. One night, he runs across a drunk driver who has smashed her car into a tree. Webster finds himself drawn to this woman and he begins to visit her and help her. Before he knows it, he has a child with her and marries her. The woman, Sheila, soon abandons her husband and young daughter.Fast forward to present day and we find Webster trying to deal with his teenage daughter, now deeply troubled. Webster reconnect with Sheila in an attempt to save his daughter.You know what you get with Anita Shreve. She will not let you down with this book.
irinka87 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Not as good as some of her others. The plot was not what I had expected it to be. Kept thinking that it would pick up, but it did not. Still a decent read, but not something I could not wait to read!
teeth on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This was a book about a family that lives through manycises nad comes through them. ir t is about a family whose mother is an alcoholic and nearly kills her daughter in a car accident. She is sent away by her husband who fraers for his young daughter. In the end the mother returns to help the daughter and dad through a rough time.
crazy4reading on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Rescue is a book about a man named Webster and his life as an EMT. The beginning is in the present with him and his 17 year old daughter. The second part is 18 year earlier. This is when you learn all about how Webster became a father.Webster is an EMT and him and his partner get a call. The call is for a single automobile accident. The woman involved in the accident is drunk and Webster is drawn to her. He thinks about her and follows up on how she is after the incident. The woman is named Sheila. She is an alcoholic but Webster is blinded by love.I found the story interesting but at the same time parts of it bothered me. After Webster and Sheila are married and their daughter Rowan is born, Sheila starts drinking again. Webster gets Sheila to go to AA and thinks things will be fine. One day Webster and his partner get a call and when they arrive the accident involves Sheila, drunk and with Rowan in the car. Sheila will go to jail because this is her second DUI. I didn't like the fact that the cops, and his friends let him know and that they let her leave before they are going to pick her up. I know that it was that way so that the story would be the way it was. I just felt that if that happened in real life the husband would be accused of letting the criminal escape and would be sent to jail too.That was the only thing I didn't like. I recommend reading the book and forming your own views of the story.
dalzan on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A rookie paramedic pulls a young woman alive from her totaled car, a first rescue that begins a lifelong tangle of love and wreckage. Sheila Arsenault is a gorgeous enigma--streetwise and tough-talking, with haunted eyes, fierce desires, and a never-look-back determination. Peter Webster, as straight an arrow as they come, falls for her instantly and entirely. Soon Sheila and Peter are embroiled in an intense love affair, married, and parents to a baby daughter. Like the crash that brought them together, it all happened so fast. Eighteen years later, Sheila is long gone and Peter is raising their daughter, Rowan, alone. But Rowan is veering dangerously off track, and for the first time in their ordered existence together, Webster fears for her future. His work shows him daily every danger the world contains, how wrong everything can go in a second. All the love a father can give a daughter is suddenly not enough. Sheila's sudden return may be a godsend--or it may be exactly the wrong moment for a lifetime of questions and anger and longing to surface anew. What tore a young family apart? Is there even worse damage ahead?
GsLibrary on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is a simple book; it definitely shows a father's concern and love for his daughter no matter what she does. I found it odd, though, that the author uses the father's last name throughout most of the book, using it as his first name.The language was undesirable at times.Also, it seemed that the author 'forgot' in the story that Rowan, the 17 year old daughter, was "in danger of failing English and Calculus" And later in the book, after a swimming accident and apparent head injury, the author recalls that Rowan was failing two classes.... yet she graduates. So the author just 'sticks in the plot' that 'while in the hospital, Webster and Sheila' (his estranged wife) 'managed to get Rowan to complete two take-home finals'. "His daughter finished them with ease." Rowan is both Webster's AND Sheila's daughter, I don't believe that a person with a head injury would be able to finish the "two take-home finals" with ease. I was mildly disappointed with the simplicity of the book.
MEENIEREADS on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This was a good story for a summer read. Even if it did seem a bit LifeTimie movie to this old,jaded reader! The characters were well drawn even if I did dislike Sheila. I kept picturing the actress who plays the mother on current AMC series, The Killing as her!While reading the book this week I stood behind two very dapper young men who had rescue on golf shirts they were wearing from my town. Funny,I had never given these people a thought before. This book made me aware of the difficult and necessary job these people do.
mojomomma on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Alcoholic mom. EMT dad. Bad accident. Mom leaves, Single dad. Teen daughter. Bad accident. Close call. Reunited? Happy ending. Chick lit.
ktappe on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Easy reading, nothing awful or terrible happens, hopeful ending. Perhaps not her best for its lack of depth but a good read.
LivelyLady on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is the story of a small town medic who falls for a woman who is bad...irresponsible and has a drinking problem. He marries her and they do have Rowan, a little girl. When Rowan is three, Shiela is in an accident, having been drunk and not having secured the carseat in properly. That is all it takes for Webster to send his wife packing, leaving him to raise Rowan alone.All goes well until the last semester of high school. Rowan begins drinking and, like teenagers do, starts acting irresponsible. Webster does seek out Shiela before this begins, just to find out what she is doing and where she is. She is in Boston, and dry for ten years. She is an artist. He choses not to tell Rowan.The night of her senior dance, Rowan drinks and dives into a quarry. Webster is on call when this happens. His daughter is helicoptered out with a traumatic brain injury and is unconscious. I will leave the rest to the reader.But this book would get five stars for escapism. However, I found the references to the different emergency scenarios depressing and the writing simplistic. I don't know of anyone, except a Shreve fan like myself, to whom I would recommend this book.
t1bnotown on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I don't read a ton of non-fantasy, but this book definitely held me. I wanted to know what happened, and I wanted it to be all right. Finally, in the end, there was hope for it to be all right. It kept me excited and interested- I think I'll be looking for more of her books.