ISBN-10:
0872207366
ISBN-13:
9780872207363
Pub. Date:
09/01/2004
Publisher:
Hackett Publishing Company, Inc.
Republic / Edition 1

Republic / Edition 1

Current price is , Original price is $15.0. You

Temporarily Out of Stock Online

Please check back later for updated availability.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Republic 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 14 reviews.
TakeItOrLeaveIt on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
a classique. allegory allegory everybody's coming to get me. i got out of the cave back in the mid 00's.
Sourire on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I often wonder what I would have taken away from this book had I read it on my own, and not as the only subject of a semester-long seminar. I read and reread each chapter many times over, wrote papers on what I thought was meant, and then often had my eyes opened to an entirely different possibility when I heard others' views. I'd like to think I would have still gotten something out of it, but for me, I think that to really truly get the most out of this book, one should read it as part of a group, be it a class, a book club, a gathering of friends interested in politics/philosophy/history, etc. A work with so much depth, which can't/shouldn't be taken at face value, really benefits from discussion. Allan Bloom's translation/commentary is fascinating, and I would recommend picking up that version if you have the option. Though perhaps reading through it once first without the commentary, and then reconciling your own initial reactions with what others have said over time might prove to be more rewarding than having it spoon-fed upon initial read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It keeps locking me out from all the results
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Welcome to the &real epublic! I'm Connor, one of the camp co-leaders. The other leaders are Skylar, Nathan, Wayne and Jack. These are the rules for the camp: <p> 1) Make a bio!: Do this at the res named "The Republic Of Pirates". It moves, so I can't just give you a number. Include: Your name, age, godly parent, gender, looks, powers and weapons. No saying "Secret" or else you can't play War Games. <br> 2) No GodModding!: Everyone hates this. GodModding is when you unfairly do things like use weapons/powers that aren't in your bio, dodge/avoid every attack in a fight, kill in one post, have multiple godly parents, use powers that don't match your gp, or use powers too much without resting. Doing these things will result in being placed on the ban list at res three. <br> 3) No drama!: T.T ugh. Drama is a scourge to the camps. Some drama is nescessary and that is realized. Just don't take it to an extreme. <br> 4) Finally, have fun!: RP is one huge game. Don't be that guy who takes everything too seriously. <p> Any questions? Ask one of the above mentioned leaders! Thank you!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
&anaconda
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Lol bruh! @#fierce
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Every American University student should not be able to graduate until having read this book...twice. An excellent guide to living a just life.
Guest More than 1 year ago
In this book, Plato documents a discussion in which several philosophers create and describe their idea of the perfect society. Socrates contributes a lot of the information and makes most of the major points. I didnt agree with all of their ideas or conclusions, but much of what was presented was very thought provoking. I consider the highlight of this book to be the 'simile of the Cave.' I found this to be the most thought provokine part of the book and the part containing the most depth. This simile is the reason I gave this book a 4 star rating. This book is strictly philisophical discussion and analysis. I decided to read this book for the wisdom which was bound to be between the covers. I found a lot which I could relate to my every day life and many things which would be good topics for group discussion. I recomend this book to those who want to think. Negatives of this book include: Has no plot; only discussion. Parts are uninteresting. Some of the reason is difficults to understand. As always, remember that this is only my opinion and you may not feel as I do about this book.