The Rembrandt Affair (Gabriel Allon Series #10)

The Rembrandt Affair (Gabriel Allon Series #10)

by Daniel Silva

Paperback(Tall Rack Paperback)

$9.99 View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, December 11

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Rembrandt Affair (Gabriel Allon Series #10) 3.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 612 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A smart, funny page-turner Daniel Silva fans will love this. Art theft meets terrorism. A secret in a missing painting. Gabriel Allon takes on a Swiss banker who will do anything for money and to protect his reputation. We need a movie!
Reader_Liberty More than 1 year ago
The Rembrandt Affair is Daniel Silva's most engaging work yet. He manages to wrap one of the Great Masters, the horrors of the Holocaust, and modern day terrorism into a thrilling package. I've found all of Mr. Silva's books to be page turners, but this one grips you from the first chapter and won't let go. Silva has a true talent of storytelling that engages the reader and draws them into the book. Inevitably current events mirror the terrors that Silva describes in his books. I recommend reading the entire Allon series, but it's not necessary to read them in chronological order; Silva gives each book its own identity and its own crisis to conquer.
harstan More than 1 year ago
Art restorer and retired Mossad agent Gabriel Allon and his agent second wife Chiara retreat to Glastonbury, England for some R&R and a return to normalcy after the recent near fatal abduction of her (see The Defector). However, the respite ends when Allon learns a dear colleague was murdered and the Rembrandt painting the victim was restoring was stolen. Unable to hide on the sidelines, Allon investigates. Allon's inquiry into a theft turned ugly takes him into the underbelly of capitalism as European firms clandestinely and illegally are selling reactor centrifuges to Iran. He realizes all nuclear waste in this case leads to Switzerland. Knowing he cannot go it alone, Allon calls in his former crew mates. The latest Allon thriller is a terrific tale that has a different feel to the story line. The tale starts off as a mystery, but the clues turn the plot into an action-packed espionage thriller. Fast-paced regardless of genre, The Rembrandt Affair has the hero doing his usual quality job as he comes out of retirement to try to prevent the illegal sales to Iran. The escapades never stop until after the final confrontation; yet the key that refreshes this entry is Allon, who on the surface seems the same as in his previous appearances, but long time fans will notice subtle but fascinating differences. Harriet Klausner
Bill_E_60089 More than 1 year ago
I've been a fan of Daniel Silva and his Gabriel Allon series, so know that up front. Regardless, I could not put this down! I was anxiously awaiting its publication, and was not disappointed. BN does a great job with the details around plot, characters, etc... So I'll say this - I picked up one of his books, mid-series at an airport, and read through the flight and didnt stop reading in the ride home! Since then, I absolutley HAVE to read each Silva book as they come out. The story line is always so believable - the characters so developed (I have a great image in my mind as I read these).. and if you've traveled the world Daniel Silva brings places youve been to life again - even places you've never been. He draws you in quickly and keeps you hooked thorough the end... The story is detailed and involved, but as a reader, easy to follow. I read a lot .... A LOT... and have never posted up a review before... but I couldnt help myself. If you are looking and wondering if you'll enjoy this - wonder no more!
Lannie More than 1 year ago
Gabriel Allon has decided to retire on the peaceful coast in England, but his retirement is interrupted by an old acquaintance, art dealer Julian Isherwood, who owns a fashionable gallery in London. He's in big trouble as a newly discovered Rembrandt entrusted to him for restoration is missing leaving him holding the bag for forty five million dollars...and the fun begins.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Giving a book a negative rating due to availability on ebooks? - Ludicrous
Cyril More than 1 year ago
Once again Daniel Silva book delivers a brilliant thriller. His carefully constructed plot and well-developed characters make for an intriguing and thrilling reading experience.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Why are people hurting the ratings of this book b/c the ebook isn't available? That doesn't hurt Barnes & Noble - it just might make interested readers less likely to want to read... come on, don't take your frustration out on the author. PS: I know I rated it high when I haven't read it but that was only to balance out the unfair low ratings.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Once you pick up this book you will be unable to put it down. Gabriel comes out retirement to help a damaged soul and find a missing painting . Prepare for sleepless nights as you follow Gabriel in this great spy thriller.
angeleyesAS More than 1 year ago
This is a nail-biting thrill, philosophical thought, well-drawn, compelling characters, fabulous settings, holocaust history sensitively presented, and an extremely clever plot! The plot follows the search for a lost Rembrandt portrait, a masterpiece with a history of bloodshed. Former Israeli Secret Security Agent, Gabriel Allon, is now living with his wife in Cornwall and trying to enjoy retirement..but..on with the story. It is just so exciting! Others I will share, RETRIBUTION, CRACKED HEARTS, EXPLOSION IN PARIS, 7th VICTIM.
GiovanniG More than 1 year ago
I have had a nice run of finding really good novels to read and post on this summer. The Rembrandt Affair is like holding 480 pages of energy in your hand. It was an awesome read for many reasons. Daniel Silva has crafted another fine piece of work, but as many of his fans have commented on already, you were waiting impatiently for this novel and expected nothing less to be delivered. I was surprised by the size of the novel but he used every page and every word to the reader's advantage. The Rembrandt Affair starts out simply and then picks up the pace as we think we can see how the plotline is unfolding. Guess again. Silva shifts gears and directions in a way that makes it very hard to put this novel down. My best advice, don't have much to do when you crack this open. This is a piece from the jacket that will give you a little flav of what is contained in pages of the novel: " Before he is done, Gabriel will once again be drawn into a world he thought he had left behind forever, and will come face-to-face with a remarkable cast of characters: a glamorous London journalist who is determined to undo the worst mistake of her career, an elusive master art thief who is burdened by a conscience, and a powerful Swiss billionaire who is known for his good deeds but may just be behind one of the greatest threats facing the world. It is a timely reminder that there are men in the world who will do anything for money." I think women will do anything for money also, but that may be just my opinion, but I digress. Daniel Silva hits another home run with The Rembrandt Affair. The novel is heavy at 480 pages of fun, but don't take it lightly, this hits the mark and then some .Gabriel is back in the saddle doing what he does best. Silva presents us with another novel that has been crafted with all the right elements and does not feel that he just followed a recipe. Instead this read is fresh, unnerving, and original. Does anybody expect any less from a writer of this caliber? What is your favorite Daniel Silva Novel? What are you reading today? Check us out and become our friend on Facebook. Go to Goodreads and become our friend there and suggest books for us to read and post on. You can also follow us on Twitter, Book Blogs, and also look for our posts on Amazon, Barnes and Nobles, and the Bucks County Library System. Did you know you can shop directly on Amazon by clicking the Gelati's Store Tab on our blog? Thanks for stopping by today; we will see you tomorrow. Have a great day. http://www.gelatisscoop.blogspot.com
portiaLR More than 1 year ago
"Rembrandt" is reminescent of the earlier Gabriel Allon exploits, in that the plot never entirely leaves the world Allon seeks --the world of art -- and it is in Allon's abiity to function in that mileu as well as in the world of international intrigue that sets Allon apart from the heros of Silva's colleagues. While the plot eploits Allon's abilities to travel to far off destinations and hobnob with the rich and famous of the covert world, it never loses its tie to the basic conflict that connects Silva's more recent novels --the war between the avenging Israel angel and the art restorer who seeks a quiet life in the hills of Umbria or aat a cliffside Cornwall cottage. Another rewarded aspect of this latest endeavor is the appearance of the old standbys, Julian Unsherwood especially, and the young boy who had been befriended by Gabriel during his first retreat to Cornwall. But the new people are also there, notably Mikael who nearly died with Gabriel and Chiara in Silva's penultimate work. There is a touch of pathos that is not overdone in the characters of Lena and others who were victims of the Holocaust,including Allon himself. The addition of a female journalist who is recruited into the action is necessary to the plot, but the least innovative part of the work. We are perhaps getting bored with the insertion into every spy novel's plot of an astonishingly beautiful, innocent and heroic female amateur who gets highjacked into the action because she has shared a bed with a bad guy. There is a hint that this may be Allon's swansong, and if it is, the reader should unselfishly relinguish Gabriel and Chiara to the queit life they crave. But if Shamron is right and there is always a new threat emerging, then I will again purchase and read the newest adventure on its first day of availability, as I did this time.
KenCady More than 1 year ago
With so many of the submitted reviews here giving The Rembrandt Affair five stars,it is hard to understand how it only comes up with 3 stars after taking into consideration the reader ratings that do not provide reviews. How could the 2 groups be so far apart? I found myself in the middle, wanting at points to give it five stars, but finally deciding on three for the reason that the novel has no sophisticated writing- one can whip through almost 500 pages quite quickly. The way the story wraps up is nothing short of cheap, in my opinion. But, in that quick reading, I did enjoy the story, and the turns of events kept my interest. After 10 Gabriel Allon novels, something else is due.
armystopper More than 1 year ago
If you have read Silva's previous books you need to give this one a little time to develop. Once you get into the plot line, it takes off and doesnt stop. This is a great book and the facts and plot are woven very well! I give it two thumbs up with two big toes up!
grumpydan More than 1 year ago
I have not read Daniel Silva in the past and the The Rembrandt Affair has made me a follower. Maybe it is the combination of artwork, Nazi Germany or just the whole spy game, but this novel kept me interested right up to the last sentence. It begins with the murder of an art restorer and a long lost Rembrandt painting stolen once again. What is the secret behind this painting and why was the restorer killed? Gabriel Allon is brought in to investigate and soon learns that it more than just a stolen masterpiece with links to Nazi looting. Somehow involved are links to terrorism. Following Allon and he travels across the globe from one clue to another made it an intense read. Silva creates such colorful characters and interesting locales, that I must go back and read his other novels.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Once again Daniel Silva maintains the elegant balance of characters, plot, action and thought-provoking issues that we have come to expect and love. The Rembrandt Affair, like the rest of his books, pulls historical issues into the present as new generations of characters deal with the issues for good and for evil. As always, the book makes us ask questions of ourselves as well as of our times. If you're looking for riveting action and entertainment, you will find it here. If you're looking for more, you will find it in spades. Mr. Silva's books get better and better. I devoured The Rembrandt Affair in one sitting and am looking forward to hearing the audio version and to re-reading the book just in case I missed something. Get your cheese, crackers, grapes, and a pot of coffee ready. Settle into your favorite chair. You are in for a wonderful evening.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One can always count on a Daniel Silva book to deliver a provocative - and often emotional - thriller. His elegant voice, carefully constructed plot and well-developed characters make for an intriguing and often thrilling reading experience. This time, Silva throws readers for a loop with a story that combines looted Holocaust art, the painful story of a hidden child and the maddening complexities of looming terror threats. Instead of following a single plot thread from the start, he tosses several seemingly disconnected story lines our way, leaving the reader hungry to see how they will come together - at times it is almost impossible to figure out how the author might make this happen. But Silva does weave them together, with skill and subtlety, in a series of exciting events that eventually end the book on an emotional scene that leaves the reader wanting more.
Anonymous 9 months ago
another good one , I will read the next one soon
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A+thoroughly+absorbing+tale+of+art%2C+espionage+and+politics.
SharronA on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Excellent reader -- distinguished voices, accents, and genders without overdoing it. As exciting as any Gabriel Allon story, and incredibly timely for the current world situation. I don't usually like abridged audiobooks, but this one was almost 7 hours and didn't seem to leave out anything significant.
bohemiangirl35 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Daniel Silva does it again! I'm ready for the next one!
khiemstra631 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I listened to this book while driving on vacation, and I found it very suspenseful. In fact, I had to stop listening at times because I could not bear the level of tension. Gabriel, now retired from the Israeli intelligence service, is living in Cornwall with his wife. A mysterious Rembrandt painting goes missing, and a murder is part of the theft. Gabriel becomes involved in recovering the painting as do the intelligence services of Israel, Britain and the U.S. Although Gabriel is not directly involved in the action, he is the planning master-mind. So, it's not quite like the earlier novels when he gets knocked about a lot, but it's still a good read.
jmchshannon on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Thanks to Lisa from TLC Book Tours, I was able to read this fantastic thriller by Daniel Silva. Rather than follow my regular review format, the publisher presented me with a questionnaire to complete that will hopefully whet your appetite a bit for this wonderful novel. Without further ado...If you were to write a blurb in fewer than three sentences for THE REMBRANDT AFFAIR, what would it be?Gabriel Allon, master art restorer and infamous spy and assassin, is forced out of retirement to help a friend recover a stolen item, but what starts out as a simple robbery deepens into a mystery that will place Allon firmly back into the world of espionage and international politics. A sleek, sophisticated thriller for the 21st Century, THE REMBRANDT AFFAIR will leave you on the edge of your seat crying for justice, as Allon races around the world to right one of the largest evils of the twentieth century.Gabriel Allon is a talented spy and assassin, but also a master art restorer. If you could have two careers that seem to be complete opposites, what would they be?I already do: writer and accountant! To me, the two are nothing alike. One is very exact, very rule-based, logical and impartial. The other is emotional, creative, and free. They definitely require usage of two different portions of the brain.What three words would you use to describe the character of Gabriel Allon?Dedicated, compassionate, committed. THE REMBRANDT AFFAIR takes the reader all over the world. Of all the locations mentioned, which would be your ideal vacation spot?My ideal vacation spot would be Amsterdam. I have been there once before at least a decade ago and fell in love with the city. There is so much to do there and so much to see. I would love to go back and explore those areas of the city we did not get to see the first time I was there.Art theft plays a major role in the novel. If no crime were involved, what piece of art would you like to have in your home?As cheesy at it sounds, I would love to have either Van Gogh's Sunflowers or Starry Nights. Either one speaks to me in a way that no other art work has. Sunflowers are one of my favorite flowers, so looking at that piece of art automatically cheers me up, while Starry Nights calms me down and forces me to relax.Zoe Reed is a powerful female character in the novel. Tell us about an influential woman in your life.One of the most influential women in my life is my former mentor and manager. From the very first, she took me under her wing to help guide me around the intricacies of the business. More importantly, she taught me the importance of balance and priorities. When my children were sick, she all but kicked me out the door to go get them, never concerned about my work but more concerned that I was there for my children when they needed me. When I was searching for my next challenge and attempting to envision my future, she supported me, gave me advice on her experiences and never once prevented me from putting my resume in for different jobs. Her mantra was that it was my career, and that she would not hold me back from what I wanted to do. It was a lesson in management and leadership that I wish others would learn. I remain grateful for her influence and her lessons and strive hard to keep that balance and hope to pass it along to my future employees, if I ever decide to make the leap into management.Who was your favorite "good guy" in THE REMBRANDT AFFAIR and why?My favorite character was Zoe Reed. She was sensible and realistic. She was able to put aside her hurt feelings and raw emotions to do what she felt was right. She has a strong sense of ethics and does not let anything compromise that. Also, one cannot help but feel a bit sorry for her that she was thrust into certain situations when all she was doing was trying to live her life in accordance with her own morals and dreams.All of the technology discussed in the novel is real. Does any of it surprise you?There
wrensong on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is the finest Daniel Silva novel to date. The characters are fully fleshed out with people you get to know and care about. Gabriel Allon matures in each phase of his adventure...Love the speed at which the story advances, but never to fast or twisting to lose track of the story line..
readafew on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A man is killed. A Rembrandt is stolen. Again. Gabriel Allon is asked by a friend to try to recover it. Gabriel finds a lot more than he bargained for, the history of this painting is soaked in blood and it's future is not looking to clean either. It¿s a story of international intrigue, and a history lesson on the Dutch participation in the Holocaust.I¿ve read 2 of the previous Gabriel Allon books and while I enjoyed them they didn¿t come close to The Rembrandt Affair, this one just grabbed me and I didn¿t like having to set it down. Each of the books I¿ve read has a little history lesson on the Holocaust and some party or countries participation. The history here was some I¿d never heard before and really appreciated the information. Overall, a great story, an intense read and educational as well as enjoyable. The best one I¿ve read in the series so far.