Redemption Road: A Novel

Redemption Road: A Novel

by John Hart

NOOK Book(eBook)

$9.99 View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Redemption Road 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 31 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Read this fantastic book in one day, good thing I'm retired or I would have had to call in sick because I could not stop reading!! This author hits a home run with every book he writes. I just wish he would write more often!! Highly recommend to all!!!! Buy it, read it love it!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of the best I've read in a longe time and I read a lot. Plot was spellbinding; i was hooked from page one! And characters were believable enough that you'll either love them or hate them. Elizabeth is a believabke protaganist with human strengths and weaknesses! Can't say enough great things about this book or the author. Read it!! (Plot is on description page of B&N Nook, so I didn't go into it with this review; just want to say it's a great novel with intertwining characters & plot)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read and reread all of Mr. Hart's books and loved each.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I've read all of John Hart's books and this is his best one yet. At times very heart breaking. Loved main characters with all their faults. This book will keep you up late and unable to put it down. This is definitely a five star book. Don't miss it,
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have 4 of john harts book.....I highly recommend...I can't wait to read redemption....
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
John Hart is a weaver. He grabs you from the first page and weaves you spellbound until the very last page. Unlike some authors, he finishes the tale and doesn't leave you wondering what happened. I could not put it down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is slow in the beginning. The author is setting you up for some very intense reading. A lot of lives intertwined and of course it leads you to redemption road.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A good read, actioned- pacted
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I just hope I don't have to wait another 5 years for another book from chart. I couldn't put this book down!!!!!!!! Buy it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Was so glad to see this new release from one of my favorite authors! Did not disappoint, great story and characters.
Brenda Merritt 3 months ago
intriguing story
Anonymous 4 months ago
Book began a little slowly but really picked up to the point I couldn't put it down. I love a good twist at the end.
JimJF 4 months ago
Rita Johnson 5 months ago
kept me guessing til the end
Tawanna Charney 5 months ago
Great story! Fantastic characters! Looking forward to reading more from this author!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is my second book of John Harts and I am so looking forward to reading my third. It amazes me that I have just discovered this author as I have read many many book during my lifetime--------
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A fantastic read by a great author. It kept me rivited.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Just when you are sure the most obvious suspect can’t possibly be the one, you are convinced it is the one and then you’re not so sure .........
GratefulGrandma More than 1 year ago
Wow! This is the first book I have read by John Hart, and actually I listened to this one. Between the words and the voice (Scott Shepherd narrated), I could feel the slow burn of the south. The atmosphere of this story came across so well, that I could almost picture what was happening as if I was watching a movie. It unraveled at a steady pace until bam! it took off and had me sitting on the edge of my seat to find out what was going to happen next. The book opens with us meeting ex-con and former cop Adrian Wall who is to be released from prison after thirteen years for a murder he may or may not have committed. On the same day, we meet Gideon Strange, the victim's young son, who travels to a bar near the prison, determined to kill Wall in retribution for murdering his mother. He does not succeed and ends up being shot by the bartender and is rushed to the hospital. This is when we meet the main character of this novel, Elizabeth Black. She has been a surrogate mother to Gideon, protecting him from his alcoholic father. Elizabeth is a 13 year veteran cop, who has a complicated relationship with Adrian Wall. She is also being investigated for killing 2 rapists. This part of the story unfolds in flashbacks from Liz as well as Channing Shore, the victim. There are also a couple of other threads going on with a crooked prison warden and some guards as well as a serial killer. As the story unravels, Wall, Black, Strange, and Shore all become interconnected. Hart does an amazing job of creating his characters. They are realistic and evoked real emotions in me as I read this book. One of the secondary characters that I loved was elderly attorney Faircloth "Crybaby" Jones. He stood up for what he believed in and what was right. When the opportunity to extricate himself came, he would not leave his home. Liz as the main character was a great choice. She was a flawed character who had some great values and character traits. The way she took care of the "kids" in the story shows what a great mother she would make. There seems to be a possible romance between Liz and Adrian, so I was constantly waiting to see where this story line would go. Everyone in this North Carolina town knew everyone else's business, at least what they thought was accurate information. The last third of the book had me reading quickly to find out if the bad guys were going to get what they deserved and if the good ones, would be safe. Just when we think someone is going to get injured or even murdered, something happens to send us in another direction. This mystery/thriller tugged at raw emotions and left me thinking about the story and characters after I finished. I definitely recommend this book to lovers of mystery and thrillers. I will be looking for more by John Hart in the future.
Wepper More than 1 year ago
Loved it. John Hart is a great story teller. I was introduced to his books by a neighbor and I'm reading all of them. I'm on Hush now and it is a fun story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I've enjoyed all of his books, including this one. If you haven't read any of his writings... do it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read all of John Hart's books including this one. He is an excellent writer who does not pull any punches in either subject matter or plot. All of his main characters go through hell and this book is no exception. And while some parts of this book were brutal it is a testament to the author that I could not put it down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you like improbable plots, undeveloped characters who behave contrary to human experience and twists that are far less believable than a bad episode of Scooby Doo, then this book is for you.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Grat book!