Red Planet

Red Planet

by Robert A. Heinlein

Audio Other(Other)

$59.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
MARKETPLACE
1 New & Used Starting at $59.95

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Red Planet 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 54 reviews.
Sioux7 More than 1 year ago
One of Heinlein's juvenile stories, I read it as an adult and was completely captivated. Great story telling. We need more Heinlein eBooks!!!
Feldercarb More than 1 year ago
I read this story in junior high school and loved it. It has been over fifty years since I read it and I must say I enjoyed it even more this time! I liked the cover of the first edition because it showed the two main characters and "Willis" seeking shelter inside a large martian plant! That image stayed with me. This new cover is confusing and cluttered! Red PLanet is early work by Heilein and his writing style is crisp and clear and the conversations down to earth. His descriptions of mars and the various earther colonies are brillant, and by using the imaginary canals on the planet, he solved the transportation problem quite easily. This is pure fantasy, based on great scienctific facts known in the 1940's and 1950's, and is a most enjoyable read. I would encourage young people to read it and to lose themselves in the joys of pure imagination! A great book!!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
It was a wonderfully written book. It was very good and I read it within two days, reason being I couldn't put it down. It was a very exciting book with a great plot. If you like science fiction novels you'll love this book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
General Heinlein: Tom Clancy, David Webber, and Stephen King all credit Heinlein as thier mentor. More need not be said about the three decade all time Sci-Fi Grand Master, but this. If you haven't read Heinlein, you haven't yet lived. First Sci-Fi to Movie, perennial Best Seller (30 Million in print ten years ago!) Never off the shelves in even the poorestly sci-fi stocked book store, you can't go wrong! This adventure is about a youth being raised on Mars (As best Science knew it then -- RAH's science and engineering is ALWAYS right!) and is a rollickin good adventure tale of a few school mates discover a plot that threaten the colonist's welfare and face multiple dangers heading it off. Then again there are the Martians. Enjoy -- I haven't re-read in years, but I envy you the first experience!
Guest More than 1 year ago
A real adventure book. Great for boys. There are the frozen canals, Willis, Jim-Boy, the Colonial Government, and the Martians appear! As someone said, Robert A. Heinlein is always right.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Join Jim on the first Colony of Mars. When Jim finds a strange alien lifeform and decides to keep it his life goes haywire. He finds out information that puts his family in danger and must trek across the Planet surface. definatley keeps your intrest and intruges your imagination.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I started reading RAH at age 7. What a wonderful influence for young minds. RAH’s stories taught me to think “out of the box” and solve problems. Much like Wiley Coyote, (who never gives up), I have enjoyed an indomitable spirit because all of the RAH protagonists demonstrate this trait. I attribute my success of enjoying life to science fiction stories such as RED PLANET. Thank you Mr. Heinlein. bingaux
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Teenage-level story where RAH explores and preliminarily develops many of the concepts of what the native Martian society will look like.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Don’t buy this. It consists only of chapter heading. Most disappointing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One+of+Heilein%27s+teenager+stories%2C+but+great+reading+for+adults+as+well.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great fun book
endersreads on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Ohh, Willis! How little we know about you and your fellow Martians! I read this story through in one sitting. It's that good. The only hint at Heinlein's future explosive perversity in the book are the two clergymen that share a house. His readers will find the allusion entertaining. The characters are beautifully and simply woven. The antiquarians will find the boys manner of speaking quite retronique. Doc MacRae is my favorite character; and I believe Heinlein has shown the most of himself in this character. Solipsism is a beautiful philosophy. You will find Doc's hatred of "progression" to be most eloquently stated. The story is about 2 boys who hail from a Martian colony--the head of which is one of them's father. Bureaucratic Earth is struggling for control over these untamed revolutionaries who have taken a "manifest destiny" approach to Mars. Think of them as the blaster wielding Libertarians of the future. They share the mostly unexplored-as-of-yet Mars with various native creatures--the most interesting being the mysterious giant tripodal Martians who dwell deep within their ancient and emptied cities, and strange fluff-ball creatures called "bouncers". By the end of the book Heinlein has shown us an extrordinary alien civilization, an emancipated Human-Martian colony, and the fall of the corrupt incestual elite powers of Earth. Inbetween is a grand adventure.
jimmaclachlan on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
One of Heinlein's early YA books, it's about 2 young boys who wind up on an adventure on Mars. This is a Mars with water (frozen) in its canals, oxygen, but not enough for a human to breath unassisted. So if you like your SF with the latest science in place, this isn't for you. Heinlien's young heroes are boy scouts, good kids with good intentions who buck the odds to do the right thing. They make discoveries beyond what the adults have done & face danger. They tough it out & make good, though. Happy ending! I'd recommend it for any adult, but also for any young boy, maybe 3d grade reading level & up. (I'm probably wrong about 3d grade, get another opinion.) The language & ideas are pretty simple, but equally engaging for young & old. There is a moral to the story; be brave, resourceful and - damn the consequences - do the RIGHT thing. I've seen worse messages in books, this one is pretty typical of all his YA books.
RBeffa on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
short review: A really fun Heinlein "juvenile" first published in 1949. I would call this a "boy's adventure story" of it's time. Jim Marlowe is a young martian colonist who has developed a close relationship with a native martian creature that he calls "Willis". Willis is a kick and is more than a pet. Willis and Jim have a close bond that proves to be especially important as the novel progresses and finishes. I really enjoyed this golden oldie and can recommend it without hesitation. The story does show it's age in quite a few ways, esp the tech, but it didn't detract from what to me was a fun adventure and a good story about colonists and society, power and rebellion. The martian society was good in an old fashioned way.
Meggo on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is another typical early Heinlein - full of plucky youngsters fighting against the odds and making unlikely friends. In this case, the bad guys are evil Company henchmen who want to steal the plucky lad's friend, a Martian "bouncer" and prevent colonists from migrating with the seasons to avoid the bitter Martian winter. This book would have read a lot better before we received detailed footage from the Mars rover that conclusively proved there were no 'canals' or free standing water on Mars. Still, it was an enjoyable read for a Heinlein fan, gross factual impossibilities notwithstanding. After all, science fiction is not about truth, is it?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This edition is much better than the first one. Enjoy!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I remember reading this in Middle School, and have found that I've enjoyed this more than I did bck then.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Just great, concepts entirely unique, especially considering the state of sci-fi at the time period.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago