Quentins

Quentins

by Maeve Binchy

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback - Reissue)

$9.99 View All Available Formats & Editions
Usually ships within 6 days

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Quentins 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 64 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read this book, and at least ten other of Maeve Bincy's books over the year I spent deployed to Iraq. I discovered 'Evening Class' by chance and gave it a read, and have since read almost all of her other books. My favorites by Maeve Binchy: 'Evening Class', Scarlet Feather', 'Light a Penny Candle', 'Tara Road', 'Echoes', 'Circle of Fiends', 'The Glass Lake', 'Firefly Summer', 'London Transports', 'The Lilac Bus', 'The Copper Beach' - I have not read a book by her that I did not enjoy, and only a couple did not move to tears. Advice: If you are a Maeve Binchy reader (you will be after you read this book) I would read 'Scarlet Feather' and 'Evening Class' before reading 'Quentins'. You will enjoy it more. Like all of her books, Quentins takes you into the minds and hearts of her characters and really touches your soul. This book took me away from Iraq for a day, and made me feel good. She can set scenes and create drama that will suck you in like nothing else. BUY THIS BOOK, and buy one for every person you know - they will thank you.
SunnySJ More than 1 year ago
Easy, relaxed stories. When you are finished you are anxious to begin her next book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Quentins is endearing, heartwarming, dramatic, a story within story, and reads like you are watching a movie. It kept my attention. I've read Circle of Friends, Tara Road, and Evening Class already and will continue to read more of Maeve Binchy's books. I love her writing style!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved it. It brought back characters from other favorite Binchy books and gave me the urge to go back through my library and read a few old favorites again. One of my favorite authors and will definitely miss the fact that there will not be any more in the future.
MariaKathleen More than 1 year ago
Quintessential Maeve Binchy! My one regret is that this one, as well as all others, ends too soon.
TRAILSANDTALES More than 1 year ago
AS USUAL A VERY GOOD BOOK AND I ENJOYED IT VERY MUCH. ALL THESE BOOKS ARE VERY GOOD READING. I AM LOOKING FORWARD TO THE NEXT ONE>
Guest More than 1 year ago
I did not like Ella and as she is the main character unfortunately this is one of the books Binchy has written that I would not pick up again. I don't like stupid heroines. I did like the part about Quentin the restaurant owner so if you can stomach Ella's annoying personality of course Binchy's writing is magnificent as usual. The supporting parts of this novel are interesting using characters we all know (if we've read her stuff before) so that part is satisfying.
GratefulGrandma More than 1 year ago
I have had this book on my shelf for many years, but with Reading Ireland in March and my Alphabet Challenge needing a "Q" book, this seemed to fit the bill. Many readers were very disillusioned with this story due to Ella, one of the main characters. She was a woman in love, blind to the clues and information about the man she loved. I thought she was a nitwit. She seemed to be a smart woman in some areas, but in her personal life, she gave women a bad name. Having said that, the story about Quentins was delightful. Quentins has a thousand stories to tell: tales of love, of betrayal, of revenge, of times when it looked ready for success and of times when it seemed as if it must close in failure. I loved meeting all the characters that had stories to tell. We learn about the founding of the restaurant, which has a story behind it, the development and changes that take place and the possible making of a documentary about how it played a part in the changing culture and lives of the people. It isn’t the main characters that make this story work, but the side characters (there are many) and the setting of contemporary Dublin, that allows the reader to enjoy this book without worrying about the Ella Brady love story and debacle. I would recommend this book to readers who are looking for a good story without a lot of heavy elements. It is beautifully written as Maeve Binchy does a wonderful job with prose, some wit and a lot of angst. I am going to read more by this talented author.
moonshineandrosefire on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Quentins is a Dublin restaurant that has a thousand stories to tell. Ella Brady thinks that a documentary about Quentins is just the thing to interest people, but as she researches these stories she discovers that not all stories should be told. I really liked this story but the plot was a bit too contrived. I give it an A!
LynnB on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I see Maeve Binchy novels everywhere, it seems. Never having read one, I managed to borrow Quentins. It's easy to see why she is such a popular author: she creates characters you can't help but feel for and keeps her story moving along at a good clip. This makes for a highly enjoyable read. But, there isn't a lot of depth beyond what is printed; this isn't the kind of book that a book club could have a meaty discussion about. Kind of light for my taste, but not bad.
blondestranger on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A charming little beach read romance with twists and turns that will keep you turning the pages. You can't help but admire the perseverance of the main character, Ella, as she overcomes her disappointments while always finding love along the way. The author seamlessly intertwines all of the characters and their personal stories together to make a fun and light-hearted read.
drebbles on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Ella Brady has a nice, if quiet, life as a schoolteacher when she meets Don Richardson. She knows he is married, but falls hard for him and is soon having an affair with him. She completely trusts him, believing everything he tells her, and is shocked when he flees Ireland after having conned several people out of their money, including many of Ella's friends and her own father. Shamed, Ella quits teaching and takes on several part time jobs to help her family financially. One job she takes on involves filming a documentary about Quentins, a beloved restaurant in Dublin, which has served many people with quite interesting stories. Ella flies to New York to convince businessman Derry King to invest in the documentary. As she is trying to get the documentary off the ground, she is also struggling with her conscience as to whether or not she should return Don's laptop to him or turn it over to the police who are looking for him. Not an easy decision as she is convinced that Don still loves her. "Quentins" is a mixed bag. Interspersed with Ella's story are short stories about the patrons of Quentins, a technique that threw me off at first because I had no idea who the characters were that showed up halfway through the book and thought I had missed something. Ultimately, however, the short stories prove more interesting than Ella's story, as she is the type of character that readers will feel like shaking (how she can believe Don still loves her until almost the end of the book is beyond me). I would have liked to know more about some of the minor characters that are in the short stories, especially Quentin himself, who appears far too briefly in the novel. Several of Binchy's beloved characters appear throughout the book. We learn more about Patrick and Brenda Brennan, who run Quentins, and meet Patrick's brother Blouse. Ria and Colm from "Tara Road" show up, albeit briefly, and Tom and Cathy from "Scarlet Feather" appear as do Simon and Maude, who may be my all time favorite Binchy characters. Aidan and Signora from "Evening Class" show up and Quentins nicely wraps up their love story. These touches are what ultimately make "Quentins" worth reading.
Carmenere on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Quentins is obviously the third in a series of novels written by Maeve Binchy. Although the other stories are referenced in this book it is not necessary to have read them in order to understand the connections. In this respect Ms. Binchy does an admirable job. However, there is little else to her writing style that makes me enthusiastic to read the other books, of which I own three.The pace of the story flows so quickly, as if watching a movie in fast forward mode. Ella meets Don at a party ¿ poof, they¿re in bed ¿ poof, they¿re in love ¿ poof, there are problems ¿ poof, Ella finds a diversion ¿ poof, Ella and her friends will make a documentary of Quentins, the go to restaurant which will suit any occasion ¿ poof¿..no wait ¿ the flow of the story comes to a screeching halt as the reader reads the stories of several life changing events which took place at Quentins and made it such a special place. That done, poof, Ella¿s story continues in the same fast paced fashion till all is happily rectified at the novels conclusion. No sweetener required in my coffee this morning, I have already had way too much sugar.
MrsLee on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Please understand, the two stars are not for the quality of the writing. The writing is fine. They are about my enjoyment of the story. I spent most of the story very fed up with the wishy-washiness of the main character and her lack of backbone. I also thought the end very strange and unrealistic, having given birth to three children myself.So, this mostly takes place in Dublin and the concept of the many lives touched by the restaurant is a lovely concept. I enjoyed many of those tales. I can see how other people like Maeve Binchy's novels because she is very good at creating characters and getting the reader involved in the story. I however, will never be able to enjoy those stories because I am impatient with her characters and their very real weaknesses.
Bookmarque on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I can¿t believe I read another one of these. They are silly and predictable and transparent and like a soap opera, but I like them. When you read one, you always know that the good folks will triumph over the bad and the bad will get their just desserts.Her stories these days are vastly simpler than previously. Loch Glass was fairly complex, as was Circle of Friends. Now, she has so many characters and so many connections, that just those are enough to keep straight without the addition of a major plot or theme.
eargent on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Loved it. The restaurant and all the characters involved was a great setting.
silva_44 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Once again, Ireland comes magically alive at the hand of Maeve Binchy. In this novel, set in Dublin, the reader is introduced to characters from other Binchy novels, such as Ria Lynch, the twins, and Signora. I cried at the end, as usual!
nfoskett521 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Bringing in several characters from her other books was a treat for someone like me who reads every novel she puts out. The story itself was a little weak, but was easily forgiven as I fell in love with her characters (again) and found myself caught up in their lives.
cindyloumn on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Not one of my favorite Maeve books. She referred alot to prev. characters in her other books, and that was confusing. if you hadn't read her other books, it would be even more confusing. It was a good story line. the female character was a bit dense about having an affair with a married man, and believing him all the time.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is one of those books that you wish would never end. Filled with characters you want to be friends with, and enough villains to make it interesting. Possibly my favorite Maeve Binchey story yet!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Beautifully written. So much more than the story of a restaurant. The vibrant, multi faceted cast of characters will intrigue you, page by page.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I thought I had read everything she ever wrote, so finding this book was a surprise and I enjoyed it very much.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anything Maeve Binchey wrote takes me to my happy place. In this book we become reacquainted with some beloved people and places, something that makes her books seem to be true chronicles of real friends from far away. In Ms. Binchey's world , nobody is too common to be important or too important to be common. Read it. It's wonderful .
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved this book and many other's that she has written! Any time you have a chance to get her books - jump on it! Her books suck you in and you really care about the character's. Many of her books are differing perspectives of minor characters she weaves from other books. I highly recommend her and this book.