The Queen of the Big Time

The Queen of the Big Time

by Adriana Trigiani

Paperback(Reprint)

$15.30 $17.00 Save 10% Current price is $15.3, Original price is $17. You Save 10%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, September 23

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Queen of the Big Time 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 61 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book captured my heart .... especially if your Italian you will fall in love! The characters come to life in this story about love and family!
JDON More than 1 year ago
a Lovely story.
Caroline_Reads More than 1 year ago
Trigiani takes us through many generations in this lovely though sometimes maudlin story. There are myriad happenings in this Italian-American family, and there's lots of heart. I could easily relate to the character of Nella Castelluca -- her secret fears, her dreams, and her love of studying and burning desire to become a teacher. I felt her emotions and I shed a tear for her. The author did a wonderful job of developing all the characters. Plus, I enjoyed the depiction of a Pennsylvania small town at its best, and worst. The writing style was fluid and gentle. And even though some of the plot was a little predictable, that did not in any way detract from my enjoyment of the story. I plan to read Trigiani's latest book Very Valentine soon.
Marney More than 1 year ago
I recently read this book while on a trip and it was wonderful to be able to read just a few pages at a time and when I was interrupted, I could put it away and get right back into the story each time. I love reading Adriana Trigiani.
adrianna More than 1 year ago
I am hooked on this Authors writing style..very easy to get swept away in her stories. Very likable characters, interesting plots, etc... I intend to read all her books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a great book, it's about Nella(the main Character) wanting to forget about some guy but she never forgets about him for one because she doesn't want to let go, and secondly because it was her first love. The story is really nice, but what i don't like is that she gives her whole heart to someone who doesn't deserve it and only threw it in her face, while that hurt her she still loved him. It's about letting go, even when you love the person so much.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I went to grade school in Roseto, and was very excited to read a novel set in a small town I recognized. Even though much of the story takes place long before my time, it was really fun to read the names of people and streets I remembered. What I wasn't expecting was that this book would be such an engaging story. The author's style is light and easy to read, kind of romanc-ey, but the sex scenes were not drawn out and the characters are totally believeable. She presents the best and worst of Roseto as well as the highs and lows of the human soul. I look forward to reading her other works.
carka on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Like Big Stone Gap trilogy, chronicles the experiences of an Italian family in Pennsylvania...what you want on the surface may not be what's best for you.
alanna1122 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I liked this. much better than Lucia Lucia. Typical Trigiani story arch. Sweet and interesting.
whitebalcony on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Easy to read.. but I was left a little short with the whole unrequited love bit.. it just never really rang true for me.
birdsam0610 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I just want to state that I do more in life than just trawl the sale piles in Borders. Queen of the Big Time was another one of these finds, although I had read good reviews about this author before.Queen of the Big Time follows the life of Nella Castelluca, an Italian-American girl in small town America. I like books that cover all about the character- Nella is charming, thought provoking and witty. However, what I didn¿t like was that the book covered small sections of her life and then jumped several years without warning.I think the title is also a bit of a misnomer- the Big Time is a festival held in Nella¿s hometown, but it¿s only described a couple of times and I felt that Nella didn¿t play that big a role in the Big Time (no pun intended).The characters are what makes this book- they are interesting with many quirks (some revealed, some hidden). There is also soap-worthy drama here aplenty- what happens to Nella in the first hundred or so pages will make you wonder what made her fate so awful! But of course she raises about it all to become a respected community member.This is a good light read, suitable for a beach or holiday or just when you don¿t want something too taxing. The language is easy and descriptive. Plus I¿ve also found another book by the same author on the discount pile at Target¿
CatieN on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Roseto, Pennsylvania, is a town created by Italian immigrants and is almost an exact replica of the towns they left in Italy. The main character of the book is Nella Casteluca. (I apologizeto the author for any misspellings. I listened to the audio-book so never saw the Italian names in print.) It is around the time of the Great Depression. Nella is a smart, down-to-earth girl who desperately wants to continue her education and become a teacher. Circumstances with her family and her family's farm conspire against that dream, and Nella ends up on a much different career path. Likewise, the dreams of a future she wants with one man are shattered, and Nella embarks on a completely different path in her personal life. This isn't a deep story, and the reader doesn't have to give a lot of thought to the motivation of the characters, but it is a lovely story, and I enjoyed it much more than I thought I would. Just as an aside, the "reader" in the audio-book was excellent.
Trinity on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I loved this story but was disappointed that they book itself wasnt longer. I felt like it skipped over a large portion of Nella's life when the story could have been further developed. That said, reading this book was like a walk down memory lane for me, I grew up very near to the town's mentioned in this book. My grandmother also worked in a garment factory and it brought back memories of her stories. I almost felt like this story could have been true since so much of the details were accurate. I cant wait to share this book with my mother who also grew up in the area. This book is an easy, good read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read all of her bookss, but this is the only book I've ever read three times. I absolutely love it.
Luv2Read00 More than 1 year ago
I thought at first this was a Young Adult book, and not a very good one at that...but..I kept reading, and FELL into the book, completely. I never wanted it to end. I loved it. I have loved all of her books
DoranneLongPTMS More than 1 year ago
It was fascinating to drop back into time, early 1920's, and into the lives of recent Italian immigrants. Delightful story and great history. I enjoy dropping in the worlds of Adriana Trigiani.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The author keeps you wanting to know what happens next. This book is especially great for close knit family members. We have read several of her books and enjoyed all of them.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Omg I was not able to stop reading! About to purchase her next book Rococo
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago