Quarantine

Quarantine

by Jim Crace

Paperback(First Edition)

$19.00
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, August 22

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Quarantine 3.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 11 reviews.
VictoriaNH on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I was just not able to get into this book. It was stiff, hard to follow and boring.
ktp50 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
More than meets the idea. Simple story at first but it stays with you. Talented writer.
AramisSciant on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
An imagined take of what happened during those 40 days and nights that J.C. spent in the desert and how the 20-something Galilean strange boy became the man (?) with the spiritual strength to start his ministry and preach it throughout the land. That being said, Jesus is only a minor character in this novel about the vulnerabilities of humankind. While not an amazing novel it's an interesting read nevertheless.
EscapeBookClub on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Read in November 2000. This is almost like Christ's journey into the desert and it is well written, making you feel the frustration of the whole situation, the harsh location, the elements ..... everything.
Bellettres on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I know I didn't really "get" this novel. I read it based on an enthusiastic review, but was disappointed. The writing style was somewhat cryptic, and I had difficulty understanding what was motivating most of the characters. Musa (Satan, right?) is the one to spread the "good news". Why? "Quarantine" was an interesting title, evoking both the 40 days and the isolation of Jesus, with undertones of illness, but again, I'm not sure I completely understood all the implications.
angella.beshara on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Not sure why I have been drawn to "Jesus as a character" lately but I really thought a book about the 40 days in the desert would be wildly interesting. Fasting, suffering, tempting the son of god's faith all sounded like great fodder for a meditative and imaginative book. I thought. I really wanted to like this book but it just didn't move and it didn't make comtemplate faith or suffering all that much. If you are going to have a supporting cast that is intended to essentially over shadow Jesus' role than those characters have to be engaging. Overall a huge disappointment.
rodrichards on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
An interesting take on the forty days that Jesus spent fasting in the desert, with a cast of not-quite-storybook characters that you don't want to miss. Provocatively heretical and reverent all at once...my kind of Bible story.
mikewomack on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
After the disappointment that was The Pesthouse, I was pleasantly surprised by Quarantine. Each character had defining qualities that made the novel move forward. I thought it was interesting that Jesus was featured in the story but not really the main character. See, normally the Son of God gets first billing. But the novel wasn¿t about Him or His work. Very interesting. The story had a definite starting point and a definite ending, something that The Pesthouse didn¿t have. Overall, it¿s a pretty good read.
miketroll on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Set among religious quarantiners in the Judean desert in the time of Christ (he is one of them), this little story will hold the interest of readers curious about ascetic pursuits. But like a meal of cactus spines and pebbles, it is ultimately unsatisfying.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Goes against all learned and preconcieved ideas of how Christ could have touched the lives of people other than those told of in bibles. Excellent descriptive writing talent.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago