The Prize

The Prize

by Brenda Joyce

NOOK BookOriginal (eBook - Original)

$5.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Prize (de Warenne Dynasty Series) 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 76 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I am usually not into romance novels, but a friend of mine suggested that I read this one and I enjoyed it very much. I actually went out and bought the book for my library. And just for the record, it would be better if you allowed people to read the book for themselves instead of summarizing the entire book. It takes away the mystery and the desire to read the book for yourself.
Guest More than 1 year ago
As some of the other reviewers said, I literally finished this book in a day. But in the end I came away with such mixed feelings. Yes, I kept reading because I definitely wanted to see what happened next but at the same time I felt as though it was like watching a train wreck, it's-awful but-you-just-can't-look-away sort of thing. Through the whole thing I couldn't decide if I liked Devlin at all. Especially when he started using Virginia the way he did and yet the idiot still loved him? Yes, there were times I felt like he was a heroic, tortured soul but it took soooo long for Virginia to crack through that shell that by the end of the book, I found myself skimming paragraphs so I could just find out how it ended. I wouldn't say I hated this book but I don't know if I would ever re-read it. Which to me is the sign of an excellent book, that every few months or so you break it out and read it again because you fell so in love with the characters. I guess I just had a hard time understanding the chemistry. I do give it three stars though because it did have alot of depth in the plot and in the end it was hard to put down because after all that time invested in reading the first 500 pages, I just had to find out how it ended.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A must read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is my favorite book Brenda Joyce has written! I feel in love with the characters and could not put this down. Since owning it I have read it a few times now and have recommended it to others to read. I highly recommend this book!
Avid_ReaderLL More than 1 year ago
I'm glad I've read other books by Brenda Joyce before reading this one because I know she can write better stories than this! Devlin is a harsh, cruel man and I'm not sure the author gave him enough time to really redeem himself. It's hard to believe in this love story and if this is your first Brenda Joyce novel, please go read The Masquerade, The Perfect Bride, or Impossible Attraction as they are so much better! Overall, I'm very disappointed in this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I agree with one of the other reviewers....this would be a great movie. I would love to see Devlin taking a sword to that mans neck when he tries to accost Virginia.
fairfield More than 1 year ago
What can you say, A stong beautiful headstrong woman who has never know passion and a strong, drop dead gorgeous, masculine, very virle man who abducts her for revenge against her uncle. Well, you put those two together and you know fire works will go off and boy does it! Brenda Joyce writes so good that you know but can't wait until the two main characters realize that love will conquer all...even revenge!! Loved it!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I absolutely LOVED this book and would love to see it as a movie some day. Devlin and Virginia are both made for each other characters.
Guest More than 1 year ago
It was very hard to put this book down for even a second. I stayed up until the crack of dawn reading this book. The Prize comes alive. I felt as if I was actually there. Brenda developed very strong characters. So much passion and great love scenes. I read a part from a love scene to my husband and he was blown away. This is a great read. It just felt so real. An Emoitonal Rollercoaster!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have been reading historical romances for over 20 years (since high school). I stopped reading a few years ago as many books started to sound the same and I just couldn't find good new authors. I started reading again this year and followed up with Brenda Joyce. Some of her earliest works are ok (Captive, The Game, The Rose, The Conqueror, Dark Fires & Darkest Heart). You can tell she develops well as an author as her middle works are just the best - Captive, Secrets, After Innocence, Splendor, Beyond Scandal and Finer Things. These last books were all great - you will enjoy them if you want solid characters, interesting plot lines and vivid hero & heroine passion. After Innocence was the best - I still think about the characters in that one - Sophie and Edward - their love was that intense. Brenda Joyce has a real knack for making her characters come alive and you will miss the stories when they come to an end. Ms. Joyce notes in this book she deviated from historical romances for a few years and came back again with The Prize. She missed writing this type of book and developing this type of plot line. I for one am glad she returned - she does it very, very well. The Prize was the first book I had picked up again in about 5 years. I was very glad to see she hadn't lost her touch. This story jumped off the pages. Virginia and Devlin were meant to be from the first time they spotted one another. The story keeps going and doesn't loose steam as the novel goes on. It is witty, charming and passionate. I like when an author gives you a strong female lead - one that doesn't buckle and become wimpy (you'll love when Virginia shoots at Devlin the first time they meet and challenges him at every turn - take that you wicked pirate!). In turn, I like when the leading man is a bit naughty and wrong at times (taking her captive and refusing to let her go out of revenge even though he knows it's wrong) but, has the conscience to reform once he finds the right love of his life. Some of the side characters are also developed well and quite likeable (such as Devlin's brother Sean, his parents and some other characters). Alot of authors can't develop anyone else or the book looses steam - Ms. Joyce is able to do this well so, everything works in her plot lines. You won't want to miss adding this one to your library. Buy it, read it and you'll agree. Enjoy!
Guest More than 1 year ago
First time I read one of Brenda Joyce's books and I am totally hooked! I can't wait to read another one - - - can't imagine it could be better than 'The Prize'. Loved the history behind the storyline.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I love this book! If you are into historical romances like I am, you will love it. I couldn't put the book down. I read it in one week. This is a really good book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book captured my attention and kept it throughout the book! I read it three times just because it wouldn't leave my mind alone. It was soo good! The plot was fantastic! My new favorite stories are now historical. I love it when a pirate or naval officer captures and girl and takes her with them to another country aganist their will!
mbosvyle on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Yuk! It starts out promising enough, though the heroine seems a little inconsistent, but then disaster! He hurts her and emotionally abuses her, repeatedly, yet she stupidly swears she still loves him. The worst kind of heroine, and a hero with few redeeming qualities, in a "romance" with the worst kind of plot twists.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I agree with all the positive reviews. Well written and interesting to the end. Will read again one day! LORRAINE
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was mesmerizing. I read it all in one sitting
avidreader78WA More than 1 year ago
Full of anachronisms and angst. Jury still out as to whether or not I finish this hot mess.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago