Pretty Little Liars (Pretty Little Liars Series #1)

Pretty Little Liars (Pretty Little Liars Series #1)

by Sara Shepard

Paperback(Reprint)

$10.29 $10.99 Save 6% Current price is $10.29, Original price is $10.99. You Save 6%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, March 3
MARKETPLACE
143 New & Used Starting at $1.99

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Pretty Little Liars 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3620 reviews.
AJourneyOfBooks More than 1 year ago
Often described as a mix between I Know What You Did Last Summer and Desperate Housewives PRETTY LITTLE LIARS by Sara Shepard promised to be an exciting and suspenseful read. Sure enough, it met and exceeded all of my expectations. The first thing that I will say about this book is that I was really expecting something a little more superficial and juvenile. I had never read anything by Ms. Shepard before, so I didn't know what to expect. What I received was a book that would be great for any teen and most adults I know. Ms. Shepard's writing is far from juvenile and made for a story that had me hooked from the first few lines. Sounds good right? Girl goes missing and eventually her friends get on with their lives. Well, if this were the end of the story, the book would be about seven pages long. No, Ms. Shepard isn't going to let you off that easily. Tossed into the chaos right from the beginning of the book, the girls each separately start to receive mysterious text messages signed by "A". As they attempt to figure out who "A" is, the messages get more and more disturbing, some hinting at secrets that only the missing Allison knew. Cue the suspenseful music! So really though, if I could have had a suspense soundtrack playing while I read this book, I'm fairly certain that I would have jumped out of my seat in shock a few times. This was a beautifully crafted book with a well thought out plot line that easily hooks readers and then draws them in. The complexity of the story was what really made this a great read and I can't imagine the amount of time and planning that went into crafting the various plot twists and turns that pop up throughout the pages. Think you know something about someone? I can pretty much guarantee that by the next page you'll be proven wrong. When everyone is suspect, who can you trust? Ms. Shepard answers that one for us - nobody. One part of PRETTY LITTLE LIARS that may trip a few people up are the varying points of view throughout the story. Each chapter is really told from a different girl's point of view although they all aren't necessarily labeled by girl. Still, I found it fairly easy to figure out who's chapter we were in and didn't really notice too much of a disconnect between the four stories when reading. Ms. Shepard does an amazing job with her consistency; although each girl's chapter takes place in different places and settings, they tie together well and occasionally we even see just a little bit of overlap. The last part of the book that I briefly need to discuss is the character development. In a book like this, especially for the first in a series, character development is vital to a successful story. Ms. Shepard did this wonderfully. My proof is in the way that the characters, Spencer especially, still roam through my mind, picking at my brain when I have little else to do. I highly recommend PRETTY LITTLE LIARS to any fans of drama or YA fiction out there. Looking for a good thriller? I would definitely point to this book. Although filled with topics that young adults can relate to, I don't see much here that would turn an adult off from the book. Indeed, I think adults too will very much appreciate the adrenaline rush this book provides.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Holy cow! These book covers are so misleading. When I first saw this book I thought it was some sort of rich-girl-i-wear-prada-and-get-my-nails-done-everyday kind of book. But like I said the covers are so misleading. The phrase "don't judge a book by it's cover" totally applies here. If you haven't read this book you need to. It is such a page turner. I finished this particular book in one night because i couldnt put it down. Well I can't make you read the book but i can make you want to so hopefully that convinced you. If not you are really missing out. Well anyways, I could NEVER put these books down while i was reading them so YOU SHOULD TOTALLY READ THIS!!!!!!!!!!!!
theReader278 More than 1 year ago
I loved reading the series! They keep you entertained for hours. This book is one of my favourites!
Awesomeness1 More than 1 year ago
Okay, I'm hooked. I started watching the TV show when it first came out, and likes it well enough. So I decided to see how the book series would compare. This book follows a former group of friends three years after their leader, Alison, went missing. Now they are getting mysterious text messages from a person known only as "A". "A" knows secrets only Alison knew and trust me, these girls have plenty of them. Despite being only 16, these girls have more skeletons in their than the cast of "Desperate Housewives". The girls have to comfront secrets from their past while dealing with their issues of the present. I liked this book perhaps more than I'm willing to admit. Its a guilty pleasure read for sure. The girls are each different and have their own personalities. Aria is the "free spirit" who holds the secret of her dads affair, while trying to hide a tryst of her own. Emily is the chaste jock who is questioning her sexuality and overall personality. Hanna is the new queen bee desperate to stay ahead. And Spencer is the competive over-achiever who is fruitlessly trying to please her parents. I liked all of the girls, despite their faults. But I did remain unattached from them through out the book. The plot is full of twists and turns and I have absolutely no idea what will happen next. I'm not sure whether or not I like the TV show or book series more. While they obviously have similarities, they have their fair share of differences, and I think they might be going in different directions. So as of now, I like them both. Next installment please!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you ask me, I would reccommend Pretty Little Liars to ANYONE, as long as you're at LEAST 12 or 13. I'm 11, (and I'm already book 4) so, yes, some of the....material....WAS a tad bit too mature for me. But Pretty Little Liars is a series so engaging, and it'll have you HOOKED.....Pretty Litttle Liars grabs you by the throat and makes you want nothing but MORE. How A takes such advantage of these four girls is horrible, yet amazing, how she can scare them out of telling anyone at all about her (or him....who knows?) and threatens to reveal their deepest, darkest secrets to the world. Sara Shepard has definitely mastered the idea of cliffhangers, and on-your-toes suspense that will keep you begging for more. And so, I present, and highly reccommend, to you, the Pretty Little Liars series, the most hooking, engaging book series since Stephenie Meyer's Twilight. Yes. It's THAT good. So maybe you should read it....the consequinces might be a DEADLY boring summer if you don't. So take my word for it, and read. After all—I'm the expert. -A (Lol)
_Asheli_ More than 1 year ago
I love love love this book. You should be a tad over 13 or 14 to read but I was rather young when I started the series and still am. I love this book the had me really falling off my sit and screaming in class while sneaking a read. I didn't even let my friends touch it till I was done.
JessIsDaBomb23 More than 1 year ago
This book is an amazing series because it is exciting and thrilling. I honestly love this book and this author. This is my favorite series, show, book, and Sara Shepard is my FAVORITE author none demand. I recommend this book to ANYONE!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Buy this book, or else. I am watching. Buy it ~A
Kenzie93 More than 1 year ago
I would recommend this book to anyone who is interested in mysterious and suspenseful books that keep you on your toes. When reading this book, you will NOT want to put the novel down. After every page it makes you wonder what will happen next. If you watch the series on television, it's definitely not the same as the book. Sometimes books can be very misleading to their movie, so I would highly suggest to read the books first. Another flaw is that it is not a book for all ages. It involves drugs, alcohol, dating, and cursing. So if you are looking for a good teen, adult book that you will enjoy and want to keep reading the other books to the series, go out and buy Pretty Little Liars.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book! It was a little boring at the beginning, but the drama began to build and finished this in a couple hours. The stories were so interesting and I loved them! My favorite character is Spencer though I connected the most with Aria. I was a little creeped out by Ezra (esp. the scene of his Lays-covered bed. Gross!). The only negative of this book was that the ages were all wrong. The characters were smoking in the seventh grade. And do serious drugs quite often (since like, 6th grade). It just shows that this book is kinda out-of-date because really, no one does that stuff anymore. Overall, I will finish this series (hopefully before May 8th) so I can watch the TV show.
ilovebearrs07 More than 1 year ago
Holy smokes, this is one AMAZING series! I was hooked from the immediate beginning! I had been asking for Barnes & Noble giftcards for years for my birthday, and I burned my whole stash of them buying all of these books, lol! Aria, Spencer, Hanna, and Emily are all different (VERY DIFFERENT) people, their personalities change throughout the book, but I find that I am probably closer to Aria or Spencer (not like Hanna, and soo not like Emily) Although the girls frequently drink, smoke, and many other things, it's actually an accurate depiction of people...Many teenagers do this, but alot of people are ignorant and don't pay attention...It's pretty amazing that Sara Shepard included designer brands such as Marc Jacobs, Diane von Furstenburg and other designers in her books! And iPhones, and ah everything! I'm just so happy to see that a series is FINALLY modern enough for me! They use cell phones, text people, IM people, and get TYPED notes from the mysterious -A!!! You will LOVE this book if you PAY ATTENTION! If not, the whole series will just be a jumble of confusing words, so seriously pay attention - read the paragraphs twice if you have to. READ THIS THOUGH! This series is so good, I am thinking about re-reading it, although I just finished Wanted probably an hour ago!
Emily3 More than 1 year ago
This book is 5 out of 5 stars!!! It is incredible!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book, and series. It is scary, but funny also, with a little bit of romance.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It's a good drama book for children in middle school, but the t.v. show should probably not be watched until 8th grade. it's a good book. a quick read. :)
AddictedTeenReader More than 1 year ago
Pretty Little Liars opens with a flashback to the four girl's Aria, Emily, Hannah, and Spencer seventh grade end of the year sleepover at their best friend Allison's house. Allison was the girl that everyone wanted to be popular, beautiful, and rich. Even her best friends wanted to be just like her if they had the chance. But that same night that was supposed to be full of fun and partying was soon replaced with the mysterious death of Allison after Spencer and Allison had got in a fight. The four girls who have split up since Allison's death really hadn't talked to each other since Allison had died. The old chubby and ugly Hannah has turned into the beautiful and skinny popular girl who was best friends with another old loser Monna but she has to make some scrafices to keep her dream life. Emily is still her slightly awkward swimming self with some strange feelings for the new girl Maya. Aria has just came back after spending a few years in Iceland only to find that the past that she had tried to escape has come right back to her. And Spencer is still her overachiving self batteling constantly with herself and her sister. But the four girls are forced to begin to talk when they begin to get strange text messages from a stalker that goes by the name "A". When the text messages begin to get a bit more personal and even revealing some of their darkest secrets that only their dead friend Allison knew the girls begin to question if maybe A is Allison. Could she still be alive? I was a bit skeptic before reading this book but the thing that immeaditly caught my eye was the cover of the book. I thought that it was clever and a cute idea so I began to read the back of the book and eventually purchased it. This honestly has to be one of the best series that I have gotten into. Sara Shepard brings you down into a world of mystery and suspision in the small town of Rosewood, Philadelphia with all of her characters bring their own new and individual story. I would highly recomend this book to anyone who enjoys a mix of mystery and Gossip Girl like books. The rest of the series is equally intriguing and you will almost run to the nearest book store to pick up the next novel in the series. Enjoy :)
XXXOOOBookwormOOOXXX More than 1 year ago
There are several aspects of the books I enjoyed, primarily that the chapters are short (usually less than ten pages) and the POV shifts between the four girls à la the TV show. It's also worth noting that the television show and books' storylines aren't completely identical. For someone who began to follow the series on TV first, I appreciated the plot curveballs in the books instead of always knowing what was coming next - one character's death in the second book completely threw me off guard. These books are just so interesting! They have me craving for more and more of it! It likes food to my soul! I definitely recommend this to anyone who loves to read! I was only interested in The Fault in our stars and romance books like that but this is the first time I'm interested in mystery! I so love these books and I need to order the next box set ASAP! It took me one day to read one of these books, so that just shows how interesting it is! 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I must say, Mrs Shepard, you have done a fine job creaating a suspense thriller that could make the strongest, most unfearing man shiver and fear like a five- year old girl. I loved the books twists and turns, and all of the romances. And even though it isnt age aproppriate for 12 year olds, it is still a satisfying book, and marvelous series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was kind of slow at first but it explains a lot. I think that everyone can relate to one of the girls in a way. Its a good book, series, and tv show. I love it
PrettyLittleLiarsLoverKM More than 1 year ago
I bought the book after the series started and I began to read the book and noticed it was different when compared to the show but I still loved reading every page of the book. I love the series and the book and this is my new favorite book. This book has all types of drama in it that makes you wanna keep reading until you are done with all 9 books. These books are amazing and i think every teenage girl should read it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I usually don't read books or series like this one.Even though I am a teen.I discovered the series almost 2 years ago.The title and cover made me have doubts about whether or not it would be good.)I thought it looked and sounded shallow.)The beginning was a little boring but after you get past that it will suck you in! I read the last book in the series almost 2 months ago.It was fabulous.I don't watch the TV series.I tried to but it got a little annoying.I liked how it was played out in my head better.(Don't we all...?)Anyways,great read. If you are looking for something new and exciting to read,I highly recommend this. :)
jessica97 More than 1 year ago
this book is amazing!!! it had my eyes practically glued to the pages!!! once u start reading i guarantee you, you wont be able to put it down! I thought i knew who hurt alison...but i was wrong...then i thought i knew again...but i was wrong...again!!! The point is......THIS BOOK IS AMAZING AND U SHOULD TOTALLY READ IT AND I THANK SARA SHEPHARD FOR WRITING IT!!! I LOVE PRETTY LITTLE LIARS!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have never been obsessed with anything in my life. Rewind. Pretty little liars is my obsession. Duh! Anyway, these books are so incredible that you will have to pry my cold dead hands off of them if you want me to stop reading. Honestly, if youre in the mood for a mystery, a teen drama, or just a fun serious that will leave you on the edge of your seat through it all, then read this serious by the most talented author i know. She is my inspiration. I hope one day my writing will be as captivating and amazing as hers is. Now, onto the books themselves. This series is about four teenage girls living in Rosewood, Pennsylvania. Their best friend,or leader, died mysteriously. The girls grieve, but they eventually get iver their loss. But, they start receiving strange messages from someone who calls themselves A. A knows all their secrets, and at first the girls think it is their dead friend, Ali. But, thats impossible. Ali is dead, isnt she? Youll find out if you read this series sent from heaven. You wont regret it. Signing off, Hannah.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love the show on abc family. THIS IS BETTER!!! Its an amazing book with tons if drama all my friends love it 2!
Madamoiselle More than 1 year ago
Since all my friends were reading this book, I figured I might as well read it too. There must be something good about it, right? Judging by it's cover and title, I expected it to be your typical gossipy teen book, except maybe a little bit worse. And when I started reading I was seriously discouraged, the girls were so young! I was positive that these books were going to be horrible and I was going to seriously regret my purchase, but I forced myself to keep reading. What I did not except when I bought this book was a page-turning murder mystery with some serious plot twists and surprise endings. I loved it! I won't say anymore, since giving away parts of a mystery novel pretty much defeats the purpose of the book, but I highly recommend that you read the Pretty Little Liars series (I've read them all now). Oh, and this book was just a tad bit scary for me, but I'm a total wimp, so what do I know?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I first heard of pretty little liars from my friend and she watched the tv show and was trying out the books My mom showed me a sample of the first book and i loved it. so i started reading it and i could not put it down. I also started the tv series which was great because it didnt ruin the books like some movies or tv shows do So if you are reading this review right now please i am telling you to buy the book --A