Praise Jerusalem!

Praise Jerusalem!

by Augusta Trobaugh

Hardcover

$19.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Praise Jerusalem 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 15 reviews.
madforbooks on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is a strange and compelling story. It raises questions that are not completely answered by the novel's end.However, like the characters in the book are taking a journey, so is the reader. At journeys end, both the characters and readers lives have been enriched. A trip well worth taking.
WeeziesBooks on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Praise Jerusalem by Augusta TrobaughThis book tells the story of three unlikely southern women who find themselves brought together by their life circumstances. For some people, as they age and their income doesn¿t keep up with the costs of maintaining their previous lifestyle, and they are forced to make decisions which profoundly change their lives. Amelia¿s story is like other stories of southern women from past times who were brought up to maintain proper appearances and not ever ask for help. It seems it was more appropriate to disappear from a community rather than bring shame upon oneself and one¿s family name by having to change their outward life style to one of poverty and need.Amelia found herself in that situation and rather than modify her life and be humbled in front of her neighbors and in her own community, she chose to make a move to Jerusalem, Georgia. The main characters Maybelline, Mamie and Amelia are an interesting blend of characters and their unlikely friendship and love shows how very different people can come together and provide friendship and support for one another and become a new type of family. Trobaugh¿s telling is humorous and serious in turns. The pictures she paints of tent revivals, and praise singing rings true from `Shall We Gather by the River¿ to `Jesus Loves Me.¿ This is a story of time gone by and the truths of friendship and respect are a lesson for us all yet today. It is a story not only of past childhood, but also of new beginnings.Thank you to Bell Bridge Books and Library Thing for the Early Review copy of this book.
EllenH on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Thank you to Librarything & Bell Bridges Books for getting me this copy of Augusta Trobaugh's initial book. Though released in 1997, it was available again in this new multi-format ebook edition ( not fond of this size!), and there were hints of a movie. I would love to see this story in movie release. Great writing, I could see her descriptions, and loved her combination of words. The story of three unlikely women, who in their elder years are looking for new life in Jerusalem, Georgia. The faith and strngth, or desperation of these women to actually pack up & go to a place they've only heard about thru Maybelline's (named after the mascara) memories. The back of the book talks about the poignant kinship, struggling redemption, southern, salty, lyrical wise, words is all true. This is a definite recommended read!
susiesharp on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is the story of three women from very different backgrounds, Miss Amelia was a well to do white woman who is down on her luck after her husband dies, Maybelline who has had some bad luck with men but Praises Jesus and sings hymns and decides that Jesus has told her to take care of Miss Amelia much to Miss Amelia¿s chagrin, the two eventually meet Mamie or as she prefers to be called Mrs. Johnson a young black woman who helps the ladies out then decides to go with them on their journey to Jerusalem (Georgia) to get away from her abusive man. These three woman set off on a journey of self-discovery and new beginnings.While on their journey Miss Amelia has all these memories of when she was a child being taken care of by Aunt Valley a black maid. These memories become very real to Miss Amelia like she is reliving them. So this book goes back and forth in time from when Miss Amelia was a little girl to the present time with her new companions.Maybelline is quite a character and it¿s cute the way Miss Amelia gets so frustrated with her, Miss Johnson¿s character I didn¿t feel was fully fleshed out and I think could have been much more.This was a good book if a bit slow for me; I would consider it Christian/Southern fiction. Southern fiction I love, Christian fiction not so much.I received this book from Librarything Early Reviewer program.3 ½ Stars
sjurban on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I have read other books by Augusta Trobaugh and enjoyed them quite a bit. This book was originally published in 1997 but I hadn't heard of it before. I'll get the only negative out of the way right now, this reviewer's copy was a strange size and very hard to handle. The story though, was fantastic. The characters were were colorful and believable. The writing was so descriptive that I could picture every scene and every person in my mind as I read. In fact, I think this story would make a great movie. Miss Amelia, Maybelline and Mrs. Johnson are an unlikely trio, thrown together by fate (or, as Maybelline would say, by God). I don't think they like each other very much, but they are old southern ladies who play the hand that they were dealt and make the best of it. I enjoyed the flashbacks to Miss Amelia's childhood and the portrayal of racism as seen by a child. I recommend this book highly.
WKinsey on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I received a copy from Library Thing and Bell Bridge Book I am grateful for the opportunity to read this book. I did find the size a little awkward to to try and read.In the book Amelia the main character switches from the present to the past to reveal her past in a segregated south . The story is of friendship faith and choices in Jerusalem Ga.
ladybug74 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The size of the review copy made it difficult to handle and read, but I do appreciate the chance to review this book. I could picture this as a women's movie. The description on the back didn't really match up with the actual book. It was actually the story of Amelia as she remembered her past and made decisions about her future. Maybelline and Mamie were characters in the book, but it was Amelia's story and not so much the story of these 3 women. I liked it, but didn't love it. I probably would not read any more books of this type or by this author, but I did manage to finish this one.
nyiper on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Unfortunately, the worst thing about this review format copy was its size!!! The 8 x 10 inches of this book made it very difficult, at least for me, to comfortably read. As for the story--although the forward/backward time sequences held together well I wasn't sure where we were going. The descriptions were wonderful in terms of making you feel as though you were right there with these three women and especially with Amelia. Although you could see the ending coming, all of a sudden we were on into the future. It seemed as though rather a lot was overcome in too short a period of time right at the end after having gone through hour by hour with the threesome.
Abi516 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Like others, I received an Early Reviewers copy of this book and had a little difficulty with the size of the reviewers copy- which felt all together too much like a textbook to me.Fortunately, the content of the book was much more interesting than any textbook I've read! The way this book was written, blending the past and present, while throwing in some magical realism and a touch of southern history and culture made this book quite unique. I'll admit that I had a little trouble getting into it at first and struggled with with the back-and-forth timeline, but as I read on, I got more invested in the characters and the landscape created by the author. This book centers around 3 women, essentially starting over later in life in presumably pre- civil rights era Georgia. Interesting take on race, relationships, aging, and religion. While this book may not be for you if you are looking for something straightforward/predictable, if you're looking for something that makes you dig a little deeper, Praise Jerusalem is to be recommended.
tanya2009 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is a story about three women who meet and become friends despite their many differences. I won this on Librarything and really appreciate the opportunity to read and review it.
khiemstra631 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Praise Jerusalem was originally published in 1997 by Baker Books and has now been re-released by Bell Bridge Books. The copy I received as part of the Early Reviewer program was a special edition for early reviews. Imagine that! I found its format very annoying as it was 8.5 x 11 and difficult to read. That aside, it is the delightful story of three women who find themselves thrown together as unlikely housemates in Jerusalem, AL. Miss Melia is an elderly southern woman who easily slips back into her childhood, which is a fascinating story in its own rite. Maybelline is a white woman, possibly in early middle-age. And Mamie, who becomes known as Mrs. Johnson, is a black woman of indeterminate age who has been abused by her man. Beginning with To Kill A Mockingbird and continuing on through The Help, these stories of relationships between southern blacks and whites are possibly forming a new genre. They make for interesting reading and hopefully make their readers think about what's really important in life. This book is definitely to be recommended.
Quiltinfun06 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Praise Jerusalem is a fantastic Praise Jerusalem is a fantastic novel about three elderly southern women, two white, one black who through circumstances bind their lives together. Amelia, a classic southern woman, lives the way she was raised. She honors southern traditions and maintains the appearance of a prim and proper Southern matron. The reality is that she is quickly becoming destitute after the death of her husband. To the rescue comes Maybeline a colorful character while tacky in appearance she embraces the Lord loud and proud. She believes He talks to her and directs her every action. That includes taking care of Miss Amelia and inviting her to move to her grandfather¿s home in Jerusalem, GA.This gesture allows Amelia to resolve her financial issues. She leaves her family home to the town for their new library and no one is the wiser regarding her financial distress. While they journey to Georgia, Maybeline mistaken for a black woman is beaten to near death. It is a black woman, Mamie who finds her and rescues both she and Amelia, restoring Maybeline to good health. Mamie who is abused often and badly by ¿her man¿ has chosen to go with Maybeline and Amelia on their way to Georgia.The story unfolds beautifully. It takes the reader on the journey to Georgia and the journey that Amelia takes in her mind to retrace her life and settle her mind about people and places and events. These mental visits to her younger life are worrisome to her companions who fear she is having some physical breakdown.Praise Jerusalem is a story of love. The love Amelia embraces for her old Negro maid, Aunt Valley and the love and gratitude she comes to recognize for Maybeline and even Mamie. The Great Mystery that Amelia seeks to understand is that love has no color or tradition about it. It is there for everyone and as Aunt Valley points out ¿it cannot be thrown away¿.I recommend this book for the pure enjoyment it brings to the reader. As well as for the journey it takes not only the characters on but the reader too.
harstan More than 1 year ago
In Georgia elderly widow Miss Amelia feels trapped with her position as a local Brahmin and her age as her family and peers are dead; and her home is a fund draining mausoleum of the better financial times. She knows she must give up her home, but the only place she can move to is the abandoned home of the grandma of her current housemate Maybelline and Mamie in Jerusalem, Georgia. Maybelline is a bit off her rocker though a good person who has direct communication with god. On the other hand, Amelia is an agnostic cynic who fears she is suffering from early dementia as she increasingly goes back to the summer when she found her heart and the Lord while living with a black family who worked for her mom. This reprint of an engaging Southern drama provides the audience with an insightful look at segregated society in which a white minor is entitled to more legal and social protection and rights than black women. Although the allusions to the "Great Mystery" is overdone, the glimpse to Georgia's past makes for a fine Steel Magnolia tale as Miss Amelia realizes how much that year was the greatest summer of her life. Harriet Klausner
angelalovesbooks More than 1 year ago
Amelia, the main character, switches back and forth between the present and one summer of her childhood. That particular summer, Amelia stays with a Negro family, attends their church and is 'saved'. During that short time, Amelia finds her purpose in life. This story is about southern woman, friendship, faith, and the bonds we form thru out life.
sneps More than 1 year ago
When I was reading this book, I could imagine Amelia sitting on her rocker telling a story. Sometimes, she reminisces of her childhood past and other times, she takes you along her journey to Jerusalem, Georgia. This story is based on Amelia's internal struggles as she re-experiences her childhood and reconciles her past in order to move forward. Augusta's writing is very descriptive and she truly captures the spirit of young "Melia" and her older self.