Pierce

Pierce

by Dale Mayer

Paperback

$12.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, October 28

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Pierce 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 22 reviews.
Anonymous 11 months ago
Good story, but too expensive for so few pages!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good story but $4.99 for 143 pages is way too much.
Anonymous 10 months ago
it+was+so+good+and+I+couldn%27t+put+it+down
JCAPPS More than 1 year ago
With each book I read, I'm eager for the next to see how. the K9's are recovered.
tsinclr More than 1 year ago
Pierce is given the task of find a War Dog that was discharged with his handler but has fallen on hard times when Pete, the veteran, is no longer able to look after her. He was not expecting to find the mess that awaited him. With Pierce's help and Hedi, a deputy determined to fulfill her duty and other good friends, Pete and his dog are reunited but not before Pierce and Hedi have to face some dangerous situations.
Dimac1 More than 1 year ago
Another great instalment in the K9 series with another veteran, Pierce getting his story and meeting the one, Heidi. Pierce is on the hunt for Salem, a K9 who is being used and abused by his current owners and the dog happened to escape, brining chaos to a small town and the people in it fearing him. Pierce is on a mission to find the dog and reunite him with his owner from the military, Pete. Along the way he runs into a deputy, Heidi, who has her own struggles in the Sheriff’s department and it seems that Pierce is the only one who respects her abilities and treats her with respect. She also has a soft spot for Salem and it’s owner...can the two of them thwart the men who want to bring down Salem and keep Pete away. A great read with the perfect ending with a bit steam. I loved Heidi’s strength and how she faced everything and everyone against her, holding her head high and not fighting her feelings when it came to Pierce. I also loved Pierce, his determination and what he does for Pete as well as the town that needed a strong leader and also how he too doesn’t fight his feelings towards the deputy. *I voluntarily read an advanced copy and expressed my honest opinion*
Cheryl-S More than 1 year ago
This is book 2 in the K-9 Files series and it features Pierce and Hedi. Pierce is a man of honor. These two hit it off as friends pretty quickly. In a town full of corruption, the good guys tend to gravitate towards each other. The story really tugged at my heart strings. Helping a rehabilitating veteran and his canine veteran war dog stay together, makes for a fabulous read! The action and suspense were great. Even though the story line was amazing, the romance was little on the slow side. Characters, good and bad, were fantastic. The flow of the story was constant and was full of action. I’m looking forward to more!
Nicolerko More than 1 year ago
This is the second book in the series and it was a good as the first one. I got sucked right into this story and I couldn't put it down. There were many times this book has me on the edge of my seat. There are some nasty people living in the town and when Pierce comes he really shakes things up. You got to love an alpha male that has a heart of gold. Watching Pierce in action is really something to read. Also don't under estimate Heidi. She's got a lot of heart, but she has the backbone to back it up. I really loved how this one ended. It left me with a smile on my face. I like the set up for the next book because it sounds like it's going to be interesting.
Jutzie More than 1 year ago
Pierce by Dale Mayer K9 Files Series Book Two Pierce Carlton was at loose ends, so when Titanium Corp had a job for some of the guys who worked the K9 unit, he accepted. A War Dog, Salem, had fallen through the cracks when her owner ended up not being able to take care of her. She needed to be checked up on. Sounded simple enough, but nothing is ever simple. Hedi liked being a deputy, sadly she was the only one on their small force who took her job seriously. And the sheriff...she had no respect for the man who was her boss. And the more she found out about him while helping the stranger in town...the more she disliked him. Badger's men (SEALs of Steel Series) have started Titanium Corp. After being asked to follow up on War Dogs, they look for fellow military brothers to take up the baton and help them search. Really good series and this book was really good. A real page-turner and heartstrings puller. **Sexual content and language
Linda Richter More than 1 year ago
Salem is a war dog a hero and now assigned to Pete. Pete is ill and in a nursing home to help him heal and Salem is suppose to be being taken care of by Petes brother. Pierce is a veteran that was asked to check on the War Dogs who had come home and been assigned to familys. Some were missing and or not being treated with the respect they had earned. Pierce heads to Colorado to find Salem and finds a lot more. This story is heart breaking and full of love and trust. I cannot say much more without doing a spoiler and I hate to do those. If you love dogs and veterans you will love this book and the whole series. Each book is so different and full of surprise twist and turns you do not expect. Dale Mayer has done it again. Her books are amazing and touch on so many subjects. They will make you laugh, cry and keep turning the pages to see what happens next. I received a free copy of this book via Booksprout and am voluntarily leaving a review.
D-BookNerd1 More than 1 year ago
Pierce is sent to check on Salem, the war dog that was owned by Pete. Pete has been in a vet rehab facility, and Salem had to be rehomed. Now she's missing, and Pierce is hoping to find her and reunite her with Pete, if he can get the modifications done to Pete's home. Hedi is a deputy, and constantly running into trouble with her boss, a pretty pathetic excuse for a sheriff. An exciting, page turner that will have you on the edge of your seat! You'll fall in love with the characters in this book, and cheer them on throughout the story. I received a free copy of this book via Booksprout and am voluntarily leaving a review.
Linda Carlson More than 1 year ago
WOW! This series is really gearing up! This is a fantastic story about a group of military trained dogs retired/discharged from the military who lost track of them along the way through budget cuts and the like. Pierce is a war veteran himself and has his own scars to prove it. He is on a mission as a favor to a Commander to help find a particular war dog. He finds the K9 he is looking for, but Salem has been abused and neglected. Pierce is going to do everything in his power to save this dog, he deserves it. Heidi is a Deputy Sheriff that is dealing with a boss that is drunk on his own power, lazy and looks the other way when the town bullies cause trouble. He has no respect for women and even less for women in the police force. This is a story that has multiple levels and has several underlying issues all going on. The corrupt Sheriff and his cronies are more than happy to send a lone, female Deputy into nasty situations and handle them without any backup while they sit at their desks and do nothing. This story deals with town bullies, domestic situations and unemployed men who drink to solve their problems. I love the camaraderie between Pierce and Heidi as they deal with the town problems and also help gain the trust of the K9 Pierce was sent to locate. They also help Salem’s previous K9 handler get his life back along with his home. Such a heartwarming story. There is a lot of satisfaction in the successes experienced here. There are good people in this world. There are many twist and turns that make this story so memorable. You discover that there are heroes on many levels. Excellent job! I loved it!
moonfox1234 More than 1 year ago
Dramatic, suspenseful and filled with action, this book held my attention very easily. The story itself is engaging and often heartbreaking. I liked Pierce and Heidi and felt emotionally invested in the outcome of this book. The main focus of this entertaining series does not really seem to be romance. So I will say if that is the expectation you go into these books with, I think you will feel shortchanged.
CherylLoverofPugs More than 1 year ago
I loved this book, the 2nd in the new K9 Files series. The book is about K9 military dogs and how they are released/discharged from the military due to PTSD, illness and/or injury. The book grabs you from the very start and doesn't let go. It keeps you turning the pages as the story unfolds and becomes very intense. It talks about how these members of our military need to be treated with respect and should be taken care of after serving our country. I absolutely love how Dale writes about this topic! Love the story line and love the characters! What an awesome book and subject! I received a free copy of this book via Booksprout and am voluntarily leaving a review.
cherlym More than 1 year ago
(4.5) One I started, I read this straight through, well done! We continue the new series K9 Files with Pierce. He is a member of the Titanium Corporation and searching for Salem. Salem came home with his wounded handler,Pete. Circumstances puts Pete in rehab and his dog Salem is missing. Book 2 is a little shorter than book 1, but still packs a wallop. As Pierce searches for Salem, with the help of Deputy Heidi he realizes that most of the Sheriff office is corrupt, Pete has been done wrong (not intending to rip off a country song) and Salem has been misused and abused. This takes place in a small town that is in the throes of poverty due to the mill shutting down. We meet people who step up to the challenge and those who buckle and wallow. Through it out Pierce stands true and with the help of Heidi, and a few others, he endeavors to turn Pete and Salems life around. We have our former seal, our smart intelligent heroine, our deployed two leg (or legless) and 4 legged heroes wrapped in suspense with a dose of the required sex (that appeared to be just that - required, which is the reason for the 4.5) Thank you Book Sprout, thank you Dale Mayer. All thoughts and opinions are my own an were unsolicited.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Also+I++love+books+about+hero+dogs+and+military+personnel.+++Heartbreaking+storyline%2C+that+humans+can+be+so+cruel+to+both+man+and+animals.+++Even+worst+how+badly+family++treated+other+family++members.++So+glad+there+was+HEA+.+I+can%27t+wait+to+read+the+next+book+in+the+series.+++I+highly+recommend+this+author.++mjw
ViperSpaulding More than 1 year ago
Pierce saves both the dog and his handler. Pierce is the next K9 handler in book 2 of this new series. Salem has gone missing after her handler, Pete, went to rehab and Pete's brother selfishly takes advantage of his absence. Pierce finds he's not just up against the brother, but all his lazy, good-for-nothing friends, including the local sheriff. One deputy, Hedi, is determined to do her best despite the opposition, and in Pierce she finds not only a kindred spirit but also a fierce defender. Together Hedi and Pierce stand up for law and order, rescue and protect Salem, and help Pete get back to the life he's earned. Along the way romance blossoms, and Pierce and Hedi find answers for their own futures as well. The action is pretty intense in this story, not leaving much time for the love story, instead showcasing the power local law enforcement can have, especially when it's in the wrong hands. There is a triumphant good-vs-evil HEA at the end, making this a wonderful romantic suspense story with terrific heroes and genuine respect for the sacrifices our veterans have made for their country. I voluntarily reviewed an ARC of this book.
Maggs More than 1 year ago
Pierce is off to Colorado to find Salem, a missing K9 who is a former military dog. He (Pierce) finds much more on this endeavor. Pete, Salem's partner, is now back in rehab and his brother, Ross, has volunteered to take care of Salem at Pete's home. This is much worse than it sounds as Ross is actually not caring for the dog, the property or the home but rather taking Pete's retirement money and planning to leave. Along the way we meet a lazy sheriff, his equally lazy deputies and some icky residents who are pretty sure they can prevent Pete from ever returning home. Thank goodness we also meet Heidi, the good deputy, her dad the ex-sheriff and people who are willing to fight for what they believe. We learn some lessons about persevering, love, honor and standing by the ones who need us. Excellent book!
hud270 More than 1 year ago
The story will grab you and make it hard to put down, the characters are fantastic. The second book in the K-9 files Sends Pierce to Colorado to check on Salem a retired War Dog and to help if he can. He finds that there is a lot of things wrong. I love Pierce’s attitude and how he reacts to the situation that Pete (Salem’s handler) is in. Hedi a deputy that wants to help has to deal with an all male Sheriff’s Department and a very prejudice Sheriff who thinks women should be at home cooking. When Pierce decides to help Pete he start a War with the more unsavory characters in town but doesn’t care, Hedi is willing to help him for Pete and Salem sake. I received a free copy of this book via Booksprout and am voluntarily leaving a review.
Paula-H More than 1 year ago
This is book 2 in The K-9 Files series . This is a fantastic story . I really enjoyed reading it . Pierce is searching for K-9 Salem . He arrives in Arrowhead to find a corrupt sheriff with some terrible friends . He also meets Heidi the only good deputy , with her beside him they work together to stop trouble and find Salem and unite her and Pete her handler . This story is full of danger and suspense . It is definitely action packed and intriguing . I got pulled in from the beginning and read straight thru .It is outstanding . Through all the fight for justice Heidi and Pierce grow closer and a relationship may bloom . I highly recommend taking the time to read . A 5 read .
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wow action packed from start to finish, lots of suspense and some violence. Exciting and non stop threats, a dog who has lost all trust in men and a woman with no trust of her colleagues. These two females come to realise there are still.people out there willing to stand up and fight for what's right and for those unable to fight for themselves. With that also comes others willing to stand with them. Fantastic plot, a flow that had me reading till I finished it, great new series and dogs to break your heart for what they have suffered. Human characters who are also finding their way back to recovery and taking up life again with a little love to.ease the load.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Pierce is the second book of the K9 series. He volunteers to search for the missing K9 Salem in Colorado and finds more than he expected. He meets Hedi, daughter of the former sheriff and a current deputy in a department that does not defend or protect. She is one of the few who is protective of the missing dog and her community. Together, Pierce and Hedi piece together what happened to Salem, her master and the going ons of the neighboring property. Respect, mutual support, community. Another wonderful book in the K9 series and I look forward to more books to come. Bravo! I received a free copy of this book via Booksprout and am voluntarily leaving a review.