The Phoenix Unchained (Enduring Flame Series #1)

The Phoenix Unchained (Enduring Flame Series #1)

by Mercedes Lackey, James Mallory

Paperback(Reprint)

$19.99 View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, October 28

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Phoenix Unchained (Enduring Flame Series #1) 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 77 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I luv it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book had a ready different feel than the first series which is one thing that made it just as original as the last ones. I just hatred the end of this book. Kind of a "screw it, I have a deadline to meet, lets cram in an ending". Other than that, it's a really amazing book and i can't wait to get the next one.
kelron More than 1 year ago
Very good book, thoroughly enjoyed it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I thoroughly enjoyed the Obsidian Trilogy. The story line was epic in proportion. The main characters grew from "normal" to "heroic" with each succeeding chapter. I savored every page of the final book because I did not want the adventure to end. I eagerly awaited the release of the Enduring Flame series so that the wonderful adventure could continue... THE PHOENIX UNCHAINED was a terrible disappointment. There was no Life or Death struggle. There was no believable threat of imminent doom. The story line was almost mundane. The characters were somewhat likable and boring. The villain was non-threatening. I was saddened that the authors chose to bridge the two series with the deaths of some favorite characters from the first series. I would gladly have waited for the release of this book to give the authors and editors more time to refine this sequel. This new series could be recommended for very young adult readers who would be too frightened by a more intense story line. However, I believe that the younger readers would loose interest very quickly.
Tiffmeister on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Well, I did like this one in the end. It took awhile to get into it though. The story takes place 1,000 years after the Obsidian Trilogy. Many of the characters of the first book have become legendary. It also brings a bit of a smile to your face when some might pop up later in the novel. Tiercel would have a life as a city magistrate of the great city of Armethalieh. His best friend, Harrier, would be eventually harbor master, or at least apprenticed to learn the ropes. What happens is a huge change of fate, and the book tells of how that happens. It all starts with Tiercel reading a book that Harrier gets for his birthday. As a result, the old ways of High Magic start to be revealed to him. This leads to a grand journey to find answers. It was refreshing to return to the world of the Obsidian Trilogy. I've ordered the next two books of this trilogy through Amazon for my Kindle. Looking forward to reading them.
NightHawk on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A good read. Not much for action. Look forward to part two.
Gryphor on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book and read! It was fun, adventurous, enjoyable. I have the audio book for it so I listened to it while driving to and from work. It was a great way to adventure while in the car. If you enjoy fantasy books this is a must read in my opinion. You need to have this one under your belt.
SunnySD on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The Light and the Balance, maintained by Wild Mages, has held sway in the world for centuries, but when one Wild Mage becomes convinced that the true Balance will not be restored until Darkness is allowed to seep back, evil begins to stir.Tiercel, oldest son of minor nobility, knows something is wrong. Some ill-advised dabbling with ancient spells leaves him nightmare-wracked, with no recourse but to seek a cure from a Wild Mage. If he can find one. Harrier, Tiercel's best friend and looker-afterer, knows his friend will only go wandering off and get himself into trouble so he reluctantly tags along. Little do the boys know that the success of failure of their quest will change the course of the world's future.A bit slow, a bit dry, and a tad stiff, but promising.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
When I read Mercedes Lackey, I usually really like her primary characters. In this book , not so much. One can only hope and keep reading.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Just like all of her books I found it difficult to put down as the story kept pulling me in
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago