Pay Dirt (Mrs. Murphy Series #4)

Pay Dirt (Mrs. Murphy Series #4)

by Rita Mae Brown

NOOK Book(eBook)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Pay Dirt (Mrs. Murphy Series #4) 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 27 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Rita Mae Brown, with the help of her feline friend, Mrs. Murphy never fails to entertain the reader. The central human characters are well rounded as well as well grounded --- something every lover of mysteries will appreciate.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
if+only+we+could+communicate.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
very++good++
debavp on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
My goodness I¿d forgotten how much fun this series is. Brown is obviously quite partial to the area and it¿s history and does a wonderful job of evoking that environment without overdoing it. And yes, the little town of Crozet would be on the network news if it actually had that many murders over the years but the readers tend to overlook that factoid. As for this particular installment, the whodunit takes a bit to unfold, the story flows nicely and doesn¿t get bogged down but you still get a sense of live evolving as you read. The ¿wrinkle music¿ anecdote made me laugh out loud and is now a new term in my vocabulary .
miyurose on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book was an improvement over the last Mrs. Murphy novel. The danger and the crimes got personal again, as the lives of more than one Crozet resident are affected. There was also less of the animals waxing rhapsodic about human nature. The true identity of the missing Malibu wasn¿t that much of a secret to me, but I enjoyed watching everyone else try to figure out what was going on. We get a little more about Harry¿s personal life here, as Blair and Fair (a name combo that drives me insane) are both actively vying for her affections, but I¿d like to see that storyline move a little faster. I¿m curious to see Harry in a real relationship. This series was on life support, but this one has redeemed itself enough for me to continue reading.
victorianrose869 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
August 11, 1999Pay DirtRita Mae BrownI love these books. It seems utterly ridiculous to have 3 animals act as the main characters, and a part of me keeps expecting to tire of the preposterous-ness of it all. Never happens, though. I love the threesome: Mrs. Murphy, the striped tiger cat, Tee Tucker, the Welsh Corgi, and Pewter, the fat gray cat who inevitably makes me think of George. Someone named Wendy Wray does illustrations for the book, so every so often you¿re treated to a charming charcoal (I guess) sketch of the animals doing various things: Mrs. Murphy riding in the truck with her paws up on the dash; or Pewter curled up in the canvas mail bin in the post office. Really nice renderings. Postmistress Harry is sometimes an almost marginal voice, more often viewed through the eyes of her animals who so desperately want to keep her out of danger. In this book, a Hell¿s Angel biker guy comes roaring into Crozet looking for some girl named Malibu, and winds up dead. Of course the animals have it figured out long before anyone else, and as usual, they¿re continually frustrated by their inability to communicate their knowledge. ¿Malibu¿s¿ real identity becomes clear later, and there¿s a swindle and some missing bank money thrown in¿.Harry finally figures it out, much to the animals¿ relief.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
"Nice job! Try to aim better though. Try again."
d__m More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed the story line and the animal characters very much. It gives the story a very happy attitude. I have read quite a few of Ms. Brown's and Sneaky Pie Brown's stories and love them.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a great book and a fast read. I love all the books so far
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Jade_cat_mom More than 1 year ago
I have to admit I like reading the Mrs Murphy books, but they are a guilty pleasure. There isn't much substance or socially redeeming value, but they are great for relaxation and stress relief, and there is a place in this world for this type of reading. These are a great weekend read after a stress filled week.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
(Grr my last post did post. Basicly, I went to my den, and wrapped u in my bearskin nest then carried Ripplepaw to camp. Look at my post there in the nersery.) Luna returned, walking very slowly. Her legs gave way and she lay there by Rockshard for a long time. Finally, with her last strenth, Luna stood picked up Rockshardamd the blanket, almost falling over from his weight, and marched herself back to Horseclan through the long tunnel with determination. She took him to the nersery to be with Ripplepaw. `~,
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
"Thanks," he coughed, realizing how much trouble he caused the fox.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Slides into her....oh gtg
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
"Perfect! You passed!" ~Praising Whitestar