Part Time Cowboy (Copper Ridge: The Garretts Series #1)

Part Time Cowboy (Copper Ridge: The Garretts Series #1)

by Maisey Yates

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback - Original)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, February 27
MARKETPLACE
36 New & Used Starting at $1.99

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Part Time Cowboy 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 33 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good book. I have a bone to pick though...in the overview description to buy this book....it was suppose to include 2 books: A Creed in Stone Creek by Linda Lael Miller & Part Time Cowboy by Maisey Yates.....when I purchased the nook book I found out only Maisey Yates book was there. So beware buyers you will not get A creed in stone creek by linda lael miller when you purchase this "duo".
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great humor. Story sounded really good, but went downhill worth all the immature obsession with sex. In a patrol car? Really? Kinda killed it for me. Sadly, that was the last straw. I didn't finish reading it after that.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Eli+%26+Sadie+are+great+characters+in+this+book.++Sexy+%26+fighting+the+attraction+to+each+other.
AAndrade More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed it. I can't wait to read the rest of the series!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The characters were unsatisfying. Never really liked the 2 main characters.
AboutThatStory More than 1 year ago
This story was so sweet, I loved it! It left me feeling all warm and happy inside. :-) Eli and Sadie were great characters. Loved their animosity and bickering, it was highly entertaining. There was a really good build to their relationship, a lot of push and pull, fighting of feelings, and a serious amount of sexual tension happening. There's a nice slow burn going on as well and it's totally worth the wait. Not overly graphic, just sweet and hot. Loved all the details learned about Eli and Sadie’s histories and how their relationship developed. I really liked those little moments where you could see them truly connecting even though they were in total denial about it, it made my heart melt. I feel like this was a lighter read even though they were both dealing with some emotional things from their past, I found myself getting choked up several times. There was really good detail, but it wasn't super heavy. I think it was laid out well. Not a lot of drama but enough that I felt my heart in my throat at the end. There were a few spots that felt drawn out but overall it was just a really nice story, with endearing characters with real problems and issues and I liked how it all came together. Really good writing, this is my first time reading anything from Maisey Yates and I really enjoyed it. I'll definitely read more from her. Solid story, interesting characters. Can't wait to read Conner's story, he's a man I want to fix. I was pulled into all of it for sure. Great start to the series! Super entertaining and full of feeling. I'm glad there are more books already released and waiting for me. :-)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really loved this book. It gets steamy, but it adds to the story instead of taking it over. It also has fully-developed characters, with hints of whats to come in future books in the series. I can't wait to read more.
Foreveryoung12 More than 1 year ago
Aidan and Sadie are my favorite characters in the first Cooper Ridge trilogy. They are smart and witty and lovely complex characters that I always wanted to know more about. Maisey did a phenomenal job developing their stories. I think you should read this one first!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really enjoyed
DebsIN More than 1 year ago
What a fun story to read! Who couldn't love Sadie's spunk? Although she didn't have an easy life and was running from her past, Sadie had a lot of grit in this story when she finally comes home and faces it. Then there is Eli, the hot hunky sexy cowboy-cob that spins the story of a great couple, full of fun and facing past hurts. When the H and the h can be read as having both weak and strong moments without diminishing each other, I really enjoy this kind of romance story best. Just a heads up, there are some sex scenes in the story, but hey, we are talking about grown men and women here. I actually read "Brokedown Cowboy" first but didn't feel as if I missed anything in this story. For me, this is what makes a great series when they can be read independently, but still have the continuity of a great series. I look forward to reading many more books by Maisey Yates. Recommended reading. 4.5 Stars!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I thought the story was great
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Again from one oregonian to another..love this country lots....will look for your next one..Jerry
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As usual maisey does not disappoint!!! Love the family dynamics & the passion that is shared amoung the group ! Cannot express how much ioved this book! Cheers to you maisey!! Traci FL,,,
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was such a cute story
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
allromancereader More than 1 year ago
What a wonderful introduction to Copper Ridge, Oregon we find with Part-Time Cowboy from Maisey Yates. The author creates a quaint little town that is holding its own as a new generation of folks are coming of age. Eli and Sadie are two of those - both having grown up in Copper Ridge but taking different paths to where they find themselves. Sadie has spent her life running - the author wonderfully depicts her as someone afraid to make connections, and ultimately to love, because for her love means pain. She has become a therapist but never found herself rooted, choosing to continue to move around and create an isolated existence for herself. "This was why she always left. Because if she left first, if she never let anyone close, if she never asked anyone to know her and accept her anyway, she couldn't get hurt." Sadie is a wonderful character who seem to be able to do whatever she sets her mind to - and she has decided to come home and open a Bed and Breakfast. Nothing deters her as she makes her plans and moves forward with steps to open her B&B - expect Eli. In Eli, the author nails "strong, silent type" to a tee. Eli grew up feeling out of control so now he needs to control everything in his life, he needs things neat and orderly, so he never has to feel the way he did growing up with his parents. Being a deputy sheriff is a perfect role for him - its a job driven by rules. As long as Eli knows the rules and can follow the rules, and punish others that don't, he's happy. There are so many other things out of control in his life, including his brother Connor who is in a state of perpetual mourning. We get to know Connor in this book but Connor's book, Brokedown Cowboy, really digs into what's going on with Connor. Eli feels the need to take care of everything - Connor, his sister Kate, Sadie's B&B, Sadie's barbeque, and ultimately the entire town. But as much as he tries, Sadie turns his well-ordered life on its ear. I loved how the author turns Eli's overall frustration with his inability to control what is going on around him into sexual frustration, directed at Sadie. I'm not sure how much of the beginning of their relationship was more than anger and frustration - strong emotions - that erupt into sexual need. But what started out at sexual need for both of them ends up being so much more.  "She didn't know why anger and lust were all tied into one thing with this man.  She didn't know why she couldn't control her emotions or her body around him" I'm not sure I've read a book recently where two people are both so determined not to want to feel the way they feel.  Both Sadie and Eli fight their feelings as soon as they meet, and as soon as they act on those feelings, they BOTH constantly fight what they were feeling.  Until the very end, neither is willing to admit what they have is more than casual sex, because neither one can give up the control that they have needed to protect themselves.  "But I realized something today, when I was ready to leave this place, to lave you. I realized it's not enough to have a life. You have to have all of life. And I haven't let myself do that." Sadie's realization above epitomizes both Said and Eli. It's why they are so perfect for each other. Eli provides Sadie with the comfort and reassurance that she is safe, and Sadie shows Eli that being out of control isn't always a bad thing! In Part-time Cowboy, the author welcomes us to Copper Ridge and the Garrets, introduces us to two wonderfully-complex characters in Eli and Sadie who are so perfectly suited for each other, and makes us crave another visit to Copper Ridge where we can get to know Connor, Kate, and others in Copper Ridge.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Jumps up scared not realising its andrew.
TheSassyBookster More than 1 year ago
Sadie Miller is not big on commitments or putting down roots and as soon as things get tough, she picks up stakes and moves on. She started running ten years earlier when she left Copper Ridge and has not stopped since then.  A thought-provoking statement from one of her patients has her reassessing her life and deciding to go back to where it all began- Copper Ridge - where she plans to open a B&B. He first encounter in Copper Ridge brings the past back very quickly. Sheriff's deputy Eli Garrett is a hot and sexy man and she'd had a huge crush on him when she was seventeen, until he arrested her. Avoiding him now would be difficult because her B&B was going to be situated on Garrett land. Sadie is sassy, spunky, outspoken and brave. Right from the beginning, I liked her and she made me laugh with the things she thought and said. She’d sort of hoped that he’d gone on to law enforcement in another town. Or that maybe he’d given up wearing a uniform altogether and discovered a passion for pottery... maybe in the south of France.   "Never apologize for being a connoisseur of the male form, Kate. And never blush about it".    Eli on the other hand was wound really tight and initially struck me as a stick in the mud. He has a compulsive need for order and to control everything round him, very much the opposite of Sadie who is like a whirlwind, causing upheaval wherever she goes. Their differences lead to some explosive exchanges between them, culminating in a mutually agreed upon sex-only relationship. Sadie and Eli's conversations were always hilarious, snarky and laced with tons of sexual innuendo. Quite unusually, I loved the heroine more than the hero. But it's not just fun and games for these two. Sadie grew up in an abusive home, watching her her father take out his frustrations on her mother all the time and she was a troubled teen hanging out with the wrong crowd until the arrest and her subsequent departure from Copper Ridge. Eli also had a difficult childhood. At thirteen years old, he was forced to take responsibility for his younger sister and the household when his father checked out on them after their mother abandoned them. The uncertainty of his growing up years led to his love for order, control and a leaning towards perfectionism. With the campaign for the Sheriff's elections coming up, he does not need the disruption that Sadie is sure to bring into his life but he can't resist the attraction between them. I expected a fun and cute romance when I started reading this book and it was fun to read, but it was also emotional and I have to say that I like Ms. Yates's writing style. She excels at creating small towns that you just want to visit and balances the weighty issues with humor, giving us an entertaining story with laugh-out-loud dialogue and a varied cast of unforgettable characters. I found myself torn between getting to the end quickly and wishing that I could keep from getting to the end of the story. PART TIME COWBOY is a great start to the series and I look forward to reading the rest of the series. *I received this book for free from the Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.*
ravenwolf_EPTX More than 1 year ago
They had to let go of the past to have a future together. Publisher: HQN 400 pages, approximately Romance: Contemporary, Western ** Provided by Netgalley in Exchange for an Honest Review. **  -- MY THOUGHTS -- As a teen from the wrong side of town and a troublesome upbringing, Sadie was a hellcat. She was also Eli's first... arrest, that is, and he'd never forgot his first. Even ten years later, when Sadie returns to town to attempt putting down some roots by opening a B & B out of a house on Garrett land. She's smart and sassy, he's stern and sexy. Together... watch out! The characters are a joy to get to know and watch interact as the story unfolds; the more they fight their attraction, the more entertaining they become. Although there are times that I wonder why Sadie would put up with the crap-tastic attitude Eli directs at her... it, occasionally borders emotionally abusive! Both of them need to get their heads out of the past; what's done is done... don't re-hash it at every face-to-face!  The secondary characters are supportive to the story without trying to seize the plot. The plot progressed smoothly, but was lacking in any major dynamics - most of it was rather even level. It wasn't until about 80 percent into the story did things really pick up in pace, but in no way did the prior portion drag. I had a bit of an issue with the way some of the conflicts were resolved with avoidance and denial, but in the end most of it was resolved maturely. The predictability was pretty low and the conclusion was mostly solid. There were no noticeable cliffhangers.  I look forward to reading Connor's story next, he's such a tragic character.  ------------------------ Heat Level: 4 ------------------------ Score: 4.0 Stars: 4 ----------------------- Tina J / Happily Ever Chapter Reviewing for: Tangled Hearts and Smut Book Junkie
PureJonel More than 1 year ago
Life can be of your own making or thrust upon you by circumstance, but it is still the life you have to live.  Yates contrasts different versions of a difficult life with one another, showing both the best and worst of what humanity has to offer.  She develops the plot of her story with emotion and imagination to create a whole that pairs romance with coming to grips with the past in an unforgettable way.  The unforgettable way that Yates brings her characters to life makes everything very real for the reader.  At the same time, she also shows the humour in life.  I definitely laughed more than once while reading this.  Everything is balanced, the good with the bad, in this romantically explosive novel. The vast array of complex characters that we meet in this novel was great.  Eli was a complexly contradictory character.  All gruff and hard on the outside, caring and worried on the inside, to the extent that he couldn’t fit together the pieces of his life if they didn’t turn out how he’d expected them to.  Sadie’s past is something that she must come to grips with in order to move forward and have a meaningful relationship.  I found myself both wanting to be these characters, and experience the explosive chemistry that they had along with the unforgettable romance that they found, while also thanking my lucky stars that I didn’t have to live through the heart wrenching grief that they’d experienced.  Many of the secondary characters in this novel were just as compelling.  I enjoyed getting to know them, and definitely can’t wait to revisit with them later in the series. This one was definitely in-damned-possible to put down.  The characters and plot meshed in the perfect way, creating an unforgettable novel that contrasts the joys of romance with the harsh realities of life that we don’t always want to think about.  At the same time, Yates made me laugh, repeatedly throughout.  This is a fantastic novel, and one that every romance lover should read. Please note that I received a complimentary copy of this work in exchange for an honest review.
WhatsBeyondForks More than 1 year ago
Part Time Cowboy is the first book in the Copper Rigde series by Maisey Yates. There were so many emotions flying around between Eli and Sadie. Some were good, some were bad, but there was no denying their chemistry. Holy Moly! There was enough tension and anticipation to put a girl in a tizzy.  Part Time Cowboy by Maisey Yates was kindly provided to me by author for review. The opinions are my own.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I absolutely laughed out loud! I felt the character's emotions! & I cried a little. The story line was fantastic & well developed. The characters were amazing & relatable. The quality of writing was superb. And the steaminess?! Ahhh! This book had it all! Sadie was sweet, well-adjusted post a treacherous upbringing, and searching for stability as the new owner of a B&B.  Eli was unyielding, dependable, and balancing life as a deputy sheriff and part time cowboy while keeping his adult brother & sister cared for when Sadie comes crashing into town. The banter between the two is in full-force as they constantly have differing opinions! It's cute & hillarious. Their desire slowly seeping though turns combustable! And still the hot sceens are explosive! Overall, it was a fantasic read. I fell right into the story and just couldn't put it down. The writting style, language & word choices were refreshing & impressive. The story line itself had depth and meaning, as well as each character being well rounded and having layers of personality.