A Painted House

A Painted House

by John Grisham

Paperback(Tall Rack Paperback)

$9.99 View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, November 27

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

A Painted House 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 580 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I personally loved this book and thought that it was very well written. I couldn't put it down and I felt that it was exciting to the last page. I hope that John Grisham makes a sequal because I am very anxious to read the continuation of this story.
Guest More than 1 year ago
When I borrowed this book during a free period in sixth grade from a friend, I never thought it would soon become one of my favorite books. It held my eleven year old attention through to the end, and now a junior, I reread it regularly.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not as good as his legal mysteries. The story was well told, but I could not get into this book as much as I did his others. I look forward to his legal mysteries.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I always enjoy a Grifsham book. This was a great book to get away from the lawyer like stuff he normally writes. I wasnt able to put this one down!
Guest More than 1 year ago
i had to read this for required reading but it turned out to be a good book! I enjoyed it alot and i found it hard to put down.
Guest More than 1 year ago
i've read all of john grisham's books and loved them all. a painted house was a total waste of time, money, paper and ink. ok, so it was not the usual grisham book but the story was just too boring with too many loose ends. i should've believed those 1- and 2-star reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
U wont like it. It not like what u expect from him if u have read his books. Dont spend ur money on this one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really good
sanders6 More than 1 year ago
At first I didn't think that I wanted to read this, but Luke is a great charater. One favorite parts is where his cousins new wife Stacy in the outhouse...and another is where Luke, his parents and the secret baby are running (driving) through town ducking Mrs. Pearl...I litterallly laughed out loud at these and a lot of other parts. This is a great story of a little boy tryin' to be good. If you have sons,, grandsons, nephews, you will love this little seven year old boy! I do and will recommend it to all.
Richard-Cory More than 1 year ago
good book... it was left a little open though at the end.... there wasn't much closure... oh and the back of the book is REALLY off topic...
Guest More than 1 year ago
I did like a Painted House. It had a good storyline to it that always kept you interested. Taking place in the 1950's it told a lot about rural life in Arkansas and how people lived. Also the use of hired workers was very interesting. They used migrant workers either from Mexico or the 'Hills' and tried treating them as good as possible. I would recommend the book for others to read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The book was amazing. The book really gives you a good look on what people went through during those time. The book made me think about how good I have it compared to the migrant worker and the kids at the time. The kid didn¿t have a choice but to have farm work before school. I recommend this book for all ages because people really should take the time stop and think about how good the have it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
love john grisham but could not handle this book was always waiting for the story to pick up but never did.....
Guest More than 1 year ago
Have you been looking for a good book to read, and have has the time. But not sure what to read? Check out ¿A Painted House¿ by John Grisham. This book takes place in the early 1950¿s, where farming cotton and picking cotton was popular. It starts out really slow with Pap and Father looking for workers to pick the cotton. Once they get their workers, and start to work suspicious things start to happen. No one knows who is doing it but it is happening and they want to get to the bottom of it. They start out Saturday going to the gin in town to get there cotton weighed, so they can get paid. Everyone who wants to go to town has the choice. In town they do there shopping for the upcoming week. They get all the food and personal items that they need. Then they get to go to a matinee, which if the only way out of the house until the following Saturday. During the week all they do is pick cotton, but not Luke Chandler. He is the main character, the grandson of the owner of the cotton farm. He sometimes has the job of helping his mother in the garden, picking and canning vegetables for the winter. When he is out in the cotton field he likes to try and work as far away from everyone else as possible. That way he does not have to do as much work. He tries to avoid trouble as much as he can. Luke knows things that no one else would know. He finds things out, that he is not supposed to know and does things that he is not suppose to. He knows everything from the suspicious baby, to who murdered Hank. His life is in danger in parts of the book, and he gets threatened for what he does know. But in the end it turns out to be an American dream life, a good one for the 1950¿s. This book was awesome, it does go slow in the beginning and you may not want to finish it once you start it. That is the way that it was for me. But I had to read it for a class and a lot of my classmates that had read it recommended it. I do not regret taking the time at all. It was well worth it. I think that if you like books that when something bad is happening or about to happen and you do not want to put the book down because it is getting so good. So you just want to keep reading. Well after about the first four chapters that is how it is. Starts out slow then speeds up. I would recommend this book to anyone that like a little mystery in his or her reading. But at the same time the book sticks to its main subject. Or another works to anyone. I loved this book and would read it again at any time.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I knew this book would be unlike Grisham's other works but I didn't expect it to be so boring, repetitive and elementary. Told through the eyes of a seven year old, it seemed more as if a child wrote it. Weather, baseball and puritan poverty continues page after page. With each chapter I continued to hope that some interesting would happen. What a true disappointment.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I too followed this in Oxford Magazine. Month by month I could hardly wait for the next issue to reveal the latest chapters. John Grisham once again drew from his excellent ability to draw a reader into the characters and story line. Toward the end I found myself understanding the characters enough to know how they would feel about unfolding events before the story moved there. Any complaint I have would be about the ending, it seemed to abrupt when there was much more fodder to be uncovered. My top four Grisham favs are now, 'A Time to Kill', 'The Firm', 'The Pelican Brief' and now 'A Painted House'.
Jua on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This was an audio book. I wanted to get in my car and ride around, just so I could hear the story.
Oogod on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This was the first book by Grisham that I have read. Not a bad story but a bit slow at times, the ending did not wrap things up in my opinion.
MsBeautiful on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
mystery, not his best, didn't finish
madamejeanie on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I'm a big fan of Grisham and have read almost all of his works, but Iwasn't too excited about the three that he's written (so far) that move awayfrom his established territory of the legal thriller. Last month I read"Bleachers." This week I finally got around to reading "A Painted House."I bought it in paperback, which is unusual for me and a Grisham book. Iusually buy them hot off the press. This one is a quiet tale, the story of a poor cotton farming family inArkansas in 1952. It is told from the perspective of a 7 year old boy, sonand grandson of the family. It's time to pick the cotton crop and everybodyworks like dogs. The family hires some "hill people," a scruffy familynamed Spruill, and manages to hire 10 Mexican illegals who came into town ona cattle truck. It's late summer and hotter than Hell itself. One of thehill people is a huge hulk of a man with a sour attitude and a chip the sizeof a cinder block on his shoulder, and one of the Mexicans carries aswitchblade and isn't afraid to use it. When the coming autumn bringsunseasonal torrential rain, the entire crop is threatened, and with it,their very way of life.There's tension and tenderness in this book, and Grisham tells the story sowell I felt like I was there. This certainly wasn't his usual work, but itwas a very satisfying read, nonetheless. I hated to see it end. I'd giveit a 4.
readingrat on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book is one of a handful where Grisham has departed from his usual courtroom drama genre. I was really impressed with his writing here. This is a richly detailed and enthralling character-driven period tale told from the point of view of a 7 year-old boy during his last cotton harvest on his grandparents' Arkansas farm.
librisissimo on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Substance: Faithful recreation of cotton-farming in Arkansas in the fifties. The narrator is maybe a little young for what he does, at age 7 (9 would be more believable).
cas_ar on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A book that proves John Grisham can write other than law stories. A very good story of living in southern cotton country of the early 1950's.
Carolfoasia on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is only my second Grisham. My husband says that it is different from the rest of his. He is a good story teller, and the first person narrative from a seven year old was really interesting. Good story. I listened to an audio version.
alisonb60 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
As someone else said, this book reminded me of To Kill a Mockingbird. I did enjoy the characters, and yes it is different from any other Grisham book, so it shows how versatile he is as a writer. It didn't finish properly though.