One Potato, Two Potato, Dead

One Potato, Two Potato, Dead

by Lynn Cahoon

NOOK Book(eBook)

$5.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

One Potato, Two Potato, Dead 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 21 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
good+mystery.++Enjoy+series.+
Dollycas 9 months ago
Dollycas’s Thoughts The County Seat, a farm to fork restaurant has been busy since it opened. Angie and her best friend Felica and their competent staff are thrilled they are now open more days and they continue to have new ideas to add to the staff’s hours. Felicia is dating the director of a Boise mission and she persuades the staff to serve a meal there. While there they meet one of Hope’s professors. She has been working as their chef-in-training/dishwasher and everyone agrees she has a bright future. It is obvious she a crush on the man. Angie’s boyfriend Ian, recognizes the man from his past in England and is confused because he is using a different name. After the meal is served the professor requests a ride home and Hope jumps at the chance. When the man is found dead the next day, Hope confesses she did have a glass of wine with him but he was very much alive when she left. The whole County Seat family rally together to help Hope. Angie is on a mission to find the real killer so Hope can get back to doing what she loves – cooking. What I love about this series is that the staff of The County Seat really gel, they are more like family than co-workers. This time Hope gets the benefit of that family. They get her a lawyer, they keep their eyes and ears open for any news/gossip that could help catch the killer, and when it is determined Hope may be in danger they come up with a plan to keep her safe. These well-developed characters are so genuine and easy to like I did miss Mrs. Potter as she and her granddaughter are away visiting family. But Angie’s little zoo with her goat Precious and her Mabel are visited at least once a day. Angie’s Saint Bernard Dom and Precious have come to a mutual agreement. Dom will stay away from the barn and Precious will stay away from the house, but they will share Angie Ms. Cahoon has cooked up quite a mystery. The victim had secrets and was kinda skeezy. Women seemed to fall all over him and he played that for all it was worth. These meant plenty of suspects but I did find one person in my sights early and as the story continued my thoughts were affirmed. The subplots blended well with the mystery. I was cheering one of the characters on all the way as she came to a great realization. I also enjoyed all the food discussed and the humor interspersed throughout the story. One Potato, Two Potato, Dead is an entertaining story filled with interesting and likable characters. The entire series is a must-read for culinary cozy lovers.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Left out a few details. I re read the section in question an didn't find the answer.
lghiggins More than 1 year ago
With an emphasis on choosing your family from the friends grouped around you, Lynn Cahoon’s One Potato, Two Potato, Dead is a fun cozy mystery featuring Angie Turner, chef and owner of the County Seat restaurant, her boyfriend Ian, her best friend and business partner Felicia, and a number of other staff members. Set in a little town in Idaho, the book introduces Taylor, who seems like a really nice guy dedicating himself to a homeless mission. In this book there are a number of people who are not what they profess or appear to be. A visiting professor from Canada is found murdered, and one of Angie’s staff is accused of the crime, leading to Angie’s involvement in the investigation. There are many complications and distractions to add to the enjoyment of solving this mystery. One Potato, Two Potato, Dead is an entertaining story with plenty of activity, a huge focus on food, and many conflicts of interest as Ian’s uncle is the local sheriff. A little romance is presented for various characters. All-in-all, a highly recommended mystery by one of my favorite cozy writers. I would like to extend my thanks to netgalley.com and to Lyrical Underground (Kensington Press) for giving me the opportunity to read this book in exchange for an honest review.
SewWrite More than 1 year ago
Angie Turner's entire restaurant team meet Hope's teacher at the local mission where they have volunteered to cook a meal. When he later is found murdered Angie must find the truth before Hope ends up behind bars. This series is fast becoming a favorite, I always have a hard time putting them down until I know who the killer is and why. Lynn Cahoon has a way for making the characters feel like you live in their community which gives the reader a stake in finding the truth.
JamminJenny More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book I got from Netgalley. It was the first book I have read of Lynn Cahoon's but it won't be my last. This cozy mystery is set in Idaho and the MCs are two friends that have opened a farm-to-fork restaurant. One of the friends, Angie Turner, also tends to like to snoop into local murders to help her friends out. In this one, she's helping to clear the name of her dishwasher Hope in the murder of a local visiting professor at the University - but things are not as they appear. Really fun characters and story line.
GratefulGrandma More than 1 year ago
4.5 Stars. After a couple of rather grisly crime novels, One Potato, Two Potato, Dead was a refreshing change. This cozy series is exactly what I expect from author Lynn Cahoon. Her characters are smart, tough yet charming, her murders are quick and not gory or grisly (this one is a poisoning) and her sleuthing and detecting is usually questioning, snooping and deducing, not heading into seedy areas where you put your life on the line. Of course, there is a recipe included at the end of the book, this one for Idaho Potato Pie, which is a bit like a quiche. This is the third installment in the Farm-to-Fork mystery series. Chef Angie Turner is busy with her successful farm-to-fork restaurant, County Seat In River Vista, Idaho.Her best friend and partner sets up a monthly volunteer experience at the Mission in Boise (she is dating Taylor, the director). As the crew, Felicia, Angie, Hope (dishwasher and chef hopeful), and Estebe (sous chef) are working the meal. Hope notices her new professor, Canadian Daniel Monet and he helps them out. When Hope drives him home and goes in for a glass of wine, she has made a big mistake. The next morning her is dead, poisoned, and her fingerprints are on the other wine glass. She immediately becomes a suspect in the murder. With Ian disappearing, Taylor and Felicia having a falling out and Hope getting arrested, Angie steps into the investigation. I really enjoy this cast of characters and the country setting of this novel. As stated in the book, the employees are like family and that is how they feel to me. I would love to share a meal and swap recipes with this crew. I think the mystery aspects were fantastic. Author Lynn Cahoon is a pro at dropping clues and red herrings throughout the story to keep readers guessing. I didn't figure out the killer until it was revealed. She had me fooled on this one. I was entertained in a relaxing way with this cozy mystery and recommend not only this book, but the whole series, to cozy mystery readers. The publisher generously provided me with a copy of this book via Netgalley. The rating, ideas and opinions shared are my own.
PrincessGlor More than 1 year ago
Another fun and enjoyable visit to The County Seat with Angie and her friends. I really wish the restaurant was real-I would love to eat there...if I could get a reservation! The mystery was solid and had plenty of moments that kept me wondering who the killer would turn out be. I enjoyed the banter in the book especially between the Sheriff and Angie when he comes to tell her of the murder. That scene made me laugh. A quick and easy read with lots of fun along the way. I easily devoured this in one day! Highly recommend for cozy mystery lovers everywhere! I received this book from NetGalley and was not required to post a positive review. All thoughts are my own.
CozyOnUp More than 1 year ago
Fall is descending on River Vista, Idaho and the team at the County Line restaurant is working on their upcoming menu changes to reflect the local harvest availability. Angie, her business partner and BFF Felicia and their restaurant family are seeing the hard work pay off as the business grows. As a means to give back, the team volunteers to cook dinner at a local men’s shelter run by Felicia’s boyfriend. College intern, Hope, is surprised when her hot professor joins them for the evening. Turns how the professor may not be who he says he is when Angie’s boyfriend, Ian, recognizes him and calls him by an entirely different name. In the morning the visiting professor is found murdered and Hope is on the suspect list after joining the professor at is home after dropping him off. But Angie and the team know that Hope would never hurt anyone and end up not only trying to clear her name, but having to protect her. I love this series and the characters. The restaurant theme is delicious and I enjoy how the author brings Angie’s creativity to life on the pages as she plans menus, tweaks recipes, and solves murders. Lynn Cahoon is one my must read authors and I enjoy all of her series! If you haven’t read any books by this author, what are you waiting for? You won’t regret any of her books!
annie2015 More than 1 year ago
This is the 3rd book in the Farm-to-Fork mysteries, and the first book I've read by this author. There were a few references to characters and events from previous books that I was unfamiliar with but I was still able to read the book without feeling too lost. I thought the first few chapters were a little slow moving but it did pick up about half-way through. The bad guy was pretty obvious but not the reasoning behind everything. All in all, I found this book to be fairly interesting and entertaining. I received a copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley. My thoughts and opinions are my own and without bias.
TarynLee More than 1 year ago
Angie is happy to help out her partners boyfriend and cook at his local mission, giving back to the community is something her business strives to do. While preparing the food she is introduced to Daniel Monet, a visiting culinary professor and her dishwasher Hopes favorite teacher. When sitting down to eat her boyfriend Ian thinks he recognizes the professor but he knows him as Arnie not Daniel. The man acts like Ian is mistaken and Angie tells him to let it go. After everything is cleaned up and all are ready to head home Daniel asks if he can catch a ride with someone and Hope jumps forward saying she would be happy to give him a lift. The next morning the sheriff shows up at Angie's door with the news that Daniel has been murdered and ask her for her take on the previous evening. It comes to light that Hope didn't just drop the man off but went inside and had a drink with him. Angie is worried that the cops will think Hope murdered the man but she knows that the young woman is innocent. Angie decides that even though the sheriff has told her to stay out of it she must find the answers that will keep Hope from jail. Things become odd when Ian up and leaves the country without telling Angie where he is going and what he is doing. She is quite upset but knows that she can't really deal with that situation until he returns. During one of her hikes she runs into a man who says he is a visiting professor, when he seems to pop up everywhere she goes Angie begins to wonder if he has a role to play in Daniels murder. Follow along as Angie juggles working her restaurant, looking for clues in Daniels murder, and keeping Hope safe from jail. This was the first book I've read in this series and will definitely be going back and reading the others. I enjoyed the characters, the plot line, and wonderful setting. I can't wait to see what has happened in the previous book and look forward to what happens next in future books.
BobbieLCLA More than 1 year ago
I received a free copy of ONE POTATO, TWO POTATO, DEAD (A Farm-to-Fork Mystery, Book 3) by Lynn Cahoon, through NetGalley, in exchange for an honest review. Angie Turner’s restaurant, The County Seat, is doing better than expected, so she, her boyfriend Ian, and her staff share some of their good fortune by cooking a meal at a local mission. There, they meet Daniel Monet, who is a new culinary professor at the college and who is also a shameless lothario romancing every married woman, female student, staff, and faculty member he encounters. Ian recognizes the man as “Arnie” from his childhood, but Daniel denies being Arnie. Things go awry when Daniel is murdered that very night, and The County Seat’s sous-chef Hope becomes a primary suspect. Ian mysteriously disappears without notice, but, strangely, law enforcement never considers Ian a suspect in the murder. Can Angie get Hope out of the hot seat? I enjoyed this book. I like Angie and crew. However, as hinted above, I did think that Ian’s bizarre and inconsiderate behavior was shrugged off a little too quickly. I enjoy Lynn Cahoon’s other series. I recommend this book to those who enjoyed the first two books in the Farm-to-Fork series, to fans of Lynn Cahoon’s books, and to those who like restaurant themed mysteries. #OnePotatoTwoPotatoDead #NetGalley
Marshathereader More than 1 year ago
One Potato, Two Potato, Dead by Lynn Cahoon is book 3 in the Farm to Fork Mystery series. This is a great series and just keeps getting better. It can be read as a stand alone but, you will want to read the series. There is a great story line with a couple mysteries through out the story. There are plenty of twists and turns that will have you wondering until the end with some humor, loyalty and friendship. It is a clean and easy to read cozy with a recipe included. I was given an ARC via Netgalley and Kensington Books.
4GranJan More than 1 year ago
Another Cozy Cooking Murder in Idaho This is the latest episode of the Farm to Fork Restaurant cozy mystery series. This series has some great cooking, rural living and murder: all told in a cozy manner. The plot is wonderfully done with great interpersonal relationships, college student drama, and pets needing attention. While this is the first of the series that I have read, this episode makes me want to read the others. The book stands alone well, but it makes the other stories sound neat. I received this book for free and this is my honest review.
bluegreen91 More than 1 year ago
Angie, co-owner and head chef at County Seat, is trying to grow and improve her business, but she gets distracted by a murdered professor, an AWOL boyfriend, and one of her kitchen staff getting stared down by the eyes of the law. This book is packed with activity, from the everyday duties of feeding farm animals and preparing meals for customers, to more unusual tasks like searching a dead man's office and home and planning cooking classes at the restaurant. I couldn't put it down! I like the main characters Angie, her dog Dom, her best friend and business partner Felicia, and Angie's boyfriend Ian. They're all realistic and dynamic and I care about what happens to them. The whodunit is a real head-scratcher and I didn't really piece it together until the very end. All in all, One Potato, Two Potato, Dead is a great addition to the Farm-to-Fork series, though it works as a stand-alone if you haven't read the other two books. Looking forward to many more books in this series! I received an advance copy of this book. This review contains my honest thoughts and opinions.
grandmareads102 More than 1 year ago
Angie Turner and her friend, Felicia, are partners in the County Seat restaurant. The kitchen staff is family. The look out for each other. When Professor Daniel Monet is murdered, Hope, her employee, is a suspect because she had driven him home after they volunteered at the homeless mission. Angie is determined to help. Investigating on her own shouldn't be a problem. Right? Except the Police don't appreciate her assistance. Angie is a dynamo. She's a creative chef, an animal lover and an involved friend. She tires me out. She wants to protect everyone. Dom, her St. Bernard, is a scene stealer. He's very protective. I enjoy having animals in a story. They add humor and love. Ian McNeal is Angie's boyfriend. He works hard for the good of the town. These two are a perfect match. They have so much in common. He cares for her and is happy to help with her animals. I fell for him then and there. Though his unexpected trip was a concern. The mystery is well written and suspenseful. The characters are easy to care about. I like a small town where the residents help solve the mystery. I found the dialogue believeable. It made me feel as if I was there in River Vista Idaho. I'm enjoying the Farm-To-Fork mystery series.
BookloverUT More than 1 year ago
Angie Turner’s chef-in-training, Hope, is enamored with her professor. But, when the professor is found dead, and Hope is a suspect, Angie will need all of her sleuthing skills to find the truth behind the dead man’s lies. This was a great installment to a wonderful series. I love the family atmosphere Angie created at her restaurant. People can depend and rely on each other. I wish that workplaces in the real world could be as supportive. The plot was a steady-paced guessing game that will delight any cozy mystery fan. I received an Advanced Reader Copy of this book from NetGalley and am voluntarily reviewing it.
Rockport_rocker More than 1 year ago
Lynn Cahoon's Farm-to-Fork Mystery series has been a winner from the first book. Its greatest strength is one that it shares with her awesome Tourist Trap books and that is an amazing community of characters. The staff at The County Seat are melding in to a loving family and that makes the book for me. I love that Ms. Cahoon gives us time in the restaurant with the gang and away from it with Angie. Those, what I call every-day scenes, are part of what makes the book feel real, so real that I am craving donuts! In One Potato, Two Potato, Dead, one of the staff becomes a person of interest in the murder of man to whom she had a connection, so Angie feels compelled to investigate and everyone steps up to help the accused. The search for the killer leads to an even more complex investigation into the victim which draws deadly attention. I suspect one of these days she will admit that she is intrigue by real life puzzles and can’t stay out of police business but some of her efforts pay off for the sheriff so that revelation may be a long time coming. I received an ARC of One Potato, Two Potato, Dead via NetGalley. I loved the book and will be sharing my pleasure with friends and followers. #NetGalley #OnePotatoTwoPotatoDead
Chatting-About-Cozies More than 1 year ago
Chef Angie Turner is busy with her successful farm-to-fork restaurant, County Seat In River Vista, Idaho. Her best friend, Felicia, runs the front, and sous chef, Estebe smoothly helps handle the kitchen. When her dishwasher/chef protégée, Hope Anderson is suspected of murdering a man who Ian (Angie’s boyfriend) knows from the past; red flags go up concerning the deceased and his reasons for moving to town. A fun and entertaining whodunit follows! I really enjoy this cast of characters and the country setting of this novel. Author Lynn Cahoon is a pro at casting lures to keep readers from guessing the true villain. She had me fooled on this one! I was entertained relaxing with this cozy and recommend it plus the 2 previous stories to cozy mystery readers. A delicious recipe is included for your enjoyment. I reviewed a digital arc provided by NetGalley and Kensington Lyrical Underground. Thank you.
ganderson523 More than 1 year ago
Lynn Cahoon has written another great addition to the Farm-to-Fork Mystery series set in River Vista, Idaho. Chef Angie Turner's restaurant, The County Seat, is running smoothly. The staff is really like a family that eats together before each meal that they serve and really care about each other. They even have a work day away from the restaurant when they go prepare a meal for a homeless mission center in nearby Boise. Angie's best friend and business partner, Felicia, gets them signed up to serve the meal because she is dating the mission director, Taylor. College student and chef in training Hope sees one of her culinary professors from the college at the dinner and it is obvious that she has a crush on him. Angie's boyfriend, Ian, recognizes him as someone he used to know back in England. When he needs a ride home, Hope gives the professor a ride but it was a mistake. The next day he is found dead in his house along with a wine glass with Hope's fingerprints on it. The whole County Seat family surround Hope with concern. Chef Estebe calls in his cousin who is an attorney to represent Hope and Angie sets out to find the real killer. Ian mysteriously disappears to England for a while but when he is back, his Aunt Maggie and Uncle Allen Brown (better known to Angie as Sheriff Brown) want Angie to attend the family Sunday dinner after church. Angie is afraid to "meet the family." Expect a warm welcome to the County Seat family and River Vista with lots of caring friends, great food, local gossip, adventure and danger along with a mystery for Angie to solve. I received a complimentary ARC from Lyrical Underground and Kensington Books through NetGalley. The thoughts and opinions expressed are mine only.
KrisAnderson_TAR More than 1 year ago
One Potato, Two Potato, Dead is light, relaxing story with a smidgen of mystery tossed in. If you have not read the previous A Farm-to-Fork Mystery novels, you will not be lost. The author provides the necessary information for new readers. Angie Turner is not herself in this story. She is moody, short-tempered and negative (it is off-putting). Angie has her farm with Mabel (the hen), Precious (the goat) and Dom (St. Bernard). I am particularly fond of Dom (though I could do without the endless walks Angie and Dom take). She co-owns The county Seat with her best friend, Felicia. While Angie is a whiz in the kitchen, she leaves the front of the house to Felicia. There are a variety of characters that include Estebe Blackstone (chef at the restaurant), Hope (dishwasher, college student training to be a chef), Bar Travis (owner/bartender of the Red Eye), Ian McNeal (the boyfriend) and Sheriff Allen Brown (who loves Angie’s baked goods). Felicia is dating Taylor Simpson who runs the local homeless mission and Angie wants to check him out to see if he is suitable for her friend. I will say that Taylor is dedicated to the mission. Hope is infatuated with Professor Daniel Monet, a visiting professor and chef from Canada. When Daniel turns up dead the morning after Hope gives him a ride home, she is at the top of Sheriff Brown’s suspect list. It does not help that her fingerprints are on a wine glass near the body. There is little investigation into the murder. When Angie tries to give Sheriff Brown information, he tells her to keep her nose out of the investigation (which she cannot do). It is not apparent that the sheriff is investigating (it is not mentioned). There needed to be proactive investigating by Angie and Sheriff Brown. Angie feels Hope is young, innocent and naïve and wants to protect her. There is a lack of suspects, and, when the killer is finally introduced, it is obvious that this person is the guilty party. Most of the novel comprises Angie doing day-to-day activities like feeding her animals (twice a day), walking Dom, cooking, working on her cookbook, chatting with friends, eating, driving, working at the restaurant, getting ready for the day, and wondering why Ian took off without talking to her (he left for England the day after the murder). There were a couple of mentions that Angie’s neighbors are out of town. I kept expecting that to play into the story (like the killer using their house as a hideout), but it never did (then why was it mentioned more than once). The books pacing is mild (it lacked action). This is not my favorite book by Lynn Cahoon. It needed more substance.