One Night for Love (Bedwyn Saga Series)

One Night for Love (Bedwyn Saga Series)

by Mary Balogh

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback - Reissue)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, December 12

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

One Night for Love 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 22 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a lovely story. It is definitely a romance for grown-ups: Two people in love, unashamed of expressing their feelings, staying true, no regrets. Both Lily and Neville are admirable and affecting characters, and the author doesn't put artificial barriers in their way for the sake of the drama. Truly enjoyed this book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was my very first romance book i ever read. and it always has been my favorite! i just love the chemistry between neville and lily. i'll never ever forget the story. if you liked that one you'll like the following book that follows Lauren, the girl he left at the alters story. then the bredwyn family stories following that!
CherryBlossom More than 1 year ago
I read this novel in one sitting. It is a easy read and full of love and promise. Lily is the main character along with Neville, the Earl of Kilbourne. They had met and fallen in love in another lifetime of war and fear. He was of the ton and she was merely a soldier's daughter. Her soldier father dies on the battleground and Neville, his superior officer, promises to care for his daughter Lily. He immediately marries her and protects her from being captured by the French. The French will treat her with care and will not harm her as long as they know she is married to an English officer and a gentleman. Lily is shot and left to be dead. Neville also receives a small graze on his forehead that leaves him unconscious. He returns to his life back in England and prepares to marry Lauren, a childhood friend. Suddenly, Lily appears at his wedding. Neville is stunned to see her and surprises his bride to be and his guests by telling them she is his wife. He had thought her to be dead and now she is before him dressed in beggars clothes. Lily tries to be the Countess she has become. She can not read or write. She has no talents. She does not know how to be an upper class lady. She only wants to be free and carefree. Lily learns to become a lady by a tutoring Elizabeth. She still is madly in love with Neville but leaves him because she has no self worth to be a Countess. She finds someone is trying to kill her and she does not know the reason. Neville tries to court her once again to make him his bride. The trials she must go through is worthwhile reading. Their love is as deep as can be and her past is resolved slowly but surely. I enjoyed the book and look forward to more of Mary Balogh's stories. Cherry Blossom
Ross79 More than 1 year ago
Wow i love this book it makes your imagination fly! it makes you wish u where lily all i have to say is WOW!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
An absolutely beautiful, romantic, love story. So refreshing. This is my first book by MB. It will not be my last. Her writing is so touching, drawing you so close to the characters. The relationships are very well developed. I cried in sadness and in joy. So many historical romance novels today are just lust/sex. This one has a love so strong. So refreshing to read a novel with depth. Thanks MB.
Anonymous 12 months ago
on+my+third+read+as+lovely+and+loving+as+ever
Anniik on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is an interesting book. It's the first book in the world of the Bedwyns - while they are not in this book at all, Lauren, the jilted bride in this book, continues on to marry Kit Butler in "A Summer to Remember." While perhaps not the best written of Balogh's book, this book has its own charms. Lily is an interesting character - ethereal, beautiful, but not quite real, while Neville is honorable and kind and wants only to do the right thing. Watching Lily come into herself is interesting as well. I enjoyed this book a great deal despite the strange aura it passes on to the reader.
Misfit on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A silly, trite and oh so predictable regency romance. The story opens as Neville Wyatt Earl of Killbourne is preparing to wed his childhood friend and in walks the bedraggled Lily - the wife he thought dead and no one knew existed. Back flash to a year ago when Neville served in the military and Lily's father died and Neville married her for protection - a bit of a stretch there as her father was a sergeant and Neville heir to an earldom and a major. Oh well. They have "one night of love" and then Lily is believed to have died after suffering from a gunshot wound. Now flash back to present and Neville's got a sticky wicket on his hands with an illiterate lower class wife, although he is still in love with her. The story continues as Neville's aunt Elizabeth takes Lily in hand to teach her to read, dress and act the part of a lady and of course she's a smash and all the _Ton_ think she's the greatest thing since sliced cheese. There's also a mystery about her true parentage and she has several mysterious accidents -- is someone trying to kill her? Did I make that sound exciting enough to make you run out and buy this? I hope not, as while reasonably entertaining as a regency romance it's certainly not the best out there either. One dimensional characters (with incredibly silly names at that) and a very very predictable plot (figured most of it out before page 100) all add up to a very average read IMO, although it does well enough for when one is in the mood for a mid-work week non brain taxing read. If you are dead set on reading this, get it from the library first and then buy it if you love it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read quite a few of Ms. Balogh's books. She has never disappointed. I equate this story even with Ms. Syeele's Zoya. A true live story and I greatly enjoyed it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A story of joy and pain. Read it and weep.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book started out quite contrived but got much better as it went on.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
silentkey More than 1 year ago
very well written and enjoyable.
Guest More than 1 year ago
this is one of the only books i have read by this author, book was ok, i agree w/the other post that plot of the book was stretched but then again that's why they call it fiction
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
He smiled and waited for her to turn da shower on then after a few minutes he sat on her bed and ate a few chocolate chip cookies. He qent downstairs and asked the maid for some vodka. He got the vodka and walked back to her room
Guest More than 1 year ago
THIS BOOK WAS HORRIBLE. I DID NOT LIKE ANY OF THE CHARACTERS, EXCEPT THE AUNT. THE DIALOGUE WAS CONTRIVED AND 'UNLIKELY'. SLOW MOVING AND BORING.