Once Gone (a Riley Paige Mystery--Book #1)

Once Gone (a Riley Paige Mystery--Book #1)

by Blake Pierce

NOOK Book(eBook)

FREE
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Once Gone (a Riley Paige Mystery--Book #1) 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 307 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is one of the books that are hard to put down. Read this in one sitting and instantly ordered every thing this author has written. Outstanding!!!!! Highly recommend!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved the plot and the interaction between all the characters. Excellent I would give it more than 5 stars if i could.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
An excellent debut novel. I look forward to the future novels.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book a lot. The character, Bill, was a bit too "dumb", but otherwise a great read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was unbelievable, in the worst way. Characters didn't have much depth or development. The female lead seemed to come to conclusions without any sort of reasoning behind them, as if she were psychic. She "gets into the criminals head" which seems more like a psychic vision since it's not based on any evidence or facts. For the most part of this book, she's clearly not fit for duty and her squad just lets her go off and work this case, without a psych evaluation? Being an "amazing" agent or not, no unit would let this happen. Bill is a puppy dog, only there to lead us back to the fact that he has a serious case of hero worship on the female lead and how wonderful she is. It lacked basic police work and understanding of the law and how the criminal justice system works. The relationship between her and the daughter was unnecessary and strained for the extra drama I suppose. No real descriptions of the people or the places unless it was a crime scene. I finished the book and didn't even know what color the heroine's hair was. I finished it, hoping there would be some redeeming quality but by the end, I was still just as puzzled as ever. Case solved by a disturbed, depressed, off her rocker agent and her magical deduction skills.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book had the potential to be great but instead I felt the ending lacking. I really enjoyed the story but it felt after making my way towards the end the story ended pretty abruptly I felt that there could have been more detail to solving the mystery at the end.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I couldn't put this book down. From the first page to the last,it grabbed me and wouldn't let go. Great thriller,can't wait for next book by this author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Story. Characters. Plot. All good. Editing lacked. Page 50, main character referred to by wrong name, page 56 death locations confused, and the bloopers just continue on throughout this read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The plot is unoriginal. The writing is amateurish & full of cliches. It reads as if the author did no research into police procedure or any other material related to this genre. There are both minor and major gaps in logic. The worst, to me, occurs near the end of the book. Throughout the whole story, a major plot point involves Agent Riley recovering from the trauma of being temporarily captured by a serial killer, because a victim needed rescuing, & there was no time to wait for back up. Fair enough, I give the author that point. But, at the end of this book, Riley, again without back up, goes in after vicious serial killer. Only this time, there was no urgency! He didn't know she was outside his home. He was home alone with no victim, & her partner, Bill, was not too far away. Also, either agent could have called the local law to back her up in case anything went wrong before Bill arrived. Stupid.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A little dark
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Riley is supposed to be this super-special talented FBI agent, but it's just not believable. She's all over the place. And if the reader can immediately recognize that the victims are meant to be dolls, how can the rest of the FBI not figure that out? Disappointing book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I liked the different POVs and it wasn't horribly written. It felt a lot like a Criminal Minds episode so it wasn't too original for me. I also didn't really care for the main character. She went through a horrible experience being captured by a serial killer 6 months prior yet we don't learn enough about that part of her life. Then she goes and jumps into this case and continues to make ridiculous mistakes that a veteran agent shouldn't make again.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Reads like a bad movie.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
No flow. Unrealistic. Author needs to study police work, psychology, and story telling to keep writing. Author also needs remedial grammar lessons.
WestSideReader More than 1 year ago
Gripping and well written. Unusually good debut novel.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Suspense, excitement and characters that seem real. What more could you ask for? Enjoyed this book, can't wait for the next one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A really good read, may not be realistic as far as true crime FBI goes but a good read
Anonymous 1 days ago
fast paced
Anonymous 4 months ago
Once started,hard to put down!
Anonymous 5 months ago
Ready for the next installment and to get into the making of Riley Page. Very good writing! Excellent story line and so far the main characters have been built up nicely for a first of a series.
Anonymous 6 months ago
A very captivating read! I cannot wait to start on next book.
Anonymous 7 months ago
This book will keep you on the edge of your seat from the moment you stop reading all the way through to even moments after you have finished the book. By far one of the best books I have ever read, and I'm quite ready to read the next one in this series. Amazing, thrilling book. Highly recommend it to any who likes thrilling crime stories.
Anonymous 11 months ago
another great book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I throughly enjoyed reading this book. I couldn't put it down. The character Riley Paige is a strong woman with many flaws. She follows her gut instinct to find the serial killer but there are so many twists that it keeps you guessing. Will definitely read more in the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Poorly written seems like author made an outline and filled in a few details but left me hanging why did she not learn that going into dangerous situations without backup was stupid was bll really as incapable as he seems why did she want him for a partner why had she never told her daughter about her job why did she decide to tell her everything