Nobody's Baby But Mine (Chicago Stars Series #3)

Nobody's Baby But Mine (Chicago Stars Series #3)

by Susan Elizabeth Phillips

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback - Reissue)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, November 21

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Nobody's Baby But Mine (Chicago Stars Series #3) 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 180 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved all the books in the Chicago Stars series, but this was my favorite. Jane and Cal were a terrific couple. I loved their personalitiies. I laughed so hard when Jane took all the marshmallows out of Cal's Lucky Charms. It was also funny when Cal sat outside the cottage with a shot gun so that Jane couldn't leave. The book is very sexy and romantic. I know I'll read it again.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Loved this book, the characters, the romance, you can see it playing in your head! I gave it to both of my sisters and a friend and they all loved it. Highly recommended.
katherineE More than 1 year ago
Great book! Strong headed man vs. a stubborn woman. I liked this book a lot! It got a little cheesy but I really got into it. Read it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have not read a book like this since First Date by Karen Kendall in early 2000. Icould not stop reading it. I tead it the whole night only because I read every word by word. No scipping boring scenese here. Loved it!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really liked the characters of this story, but it took a long time to really get to the heart of what was happening. It was nice to see old characters from previous books pop in, and the smaller support characters grow, and find their own love, always one of my favorite features of SEP books! Worth the read, but find out about & read iher books in order - makes it more interesting, even though they could stand alone.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love, love this book. First SEP book I read & still my favorite.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
LOVE this book.  I love all of her books, but this is my favorite!  It's funny....It's romantic....It's emotional.....It's simply the best.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. My mom recomended it to me when i was 17 and I have read it twice since. Im thinking about reading it again. Its one of those books that will have you laughing out loud. Must read!!
whick More than 1 year ago
was a greatly entertaining book to read and reread.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book. Had a wicked amount of humor. It is amazing how a woman so smart can be so clueless. I laugh so hard i cried about the cereal bit. It was so cute. I won't give it away, just read the book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I fell in love with this book. Between the humor and the ups and downs of the relationship between Jane and Cal this book is one of my favorites.
Anonymous 11 months ago
Loved+it+just+like+all+her+books.
mschweer432 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
In Nobody's Baby But Mine, Jane Darlington is a brilliant scientist who suddenly realizes that she wants a baby. The only problem is, in order to have a child of somewhat "normal" intelligence, she needs to find someone really dim to father the child. She decides on Cal Bonner, quaterback for the Chicago Stars. The only problem is, he's not nearly as stupid as Jane thinks he is. I thought this book was hilarious. There were several times I laughed out loud and I pretty much had a smile on my face throughout the entire thing. It took me a while to warm up to Cal (he really was such a jerk to Jane when he found out she was pregnant), but after that, I really fell in love with the characters.
whitreidtan on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Jane Darlington is a physics professor. She's single-mindedly focused on her work but when her ex-boyfriend dumped her and announced that he was having a baby with the new girlfriend, the tears kicked her biological clock into high. But Jane has a problem. She is a certifiable genius and she doesn't want her child to have the unhappy, freakish childhood she had so she purposely sets out to have her baby fathered by someone who is dumb as a post. (Obviously understanding genetics and the role it plays in intelligence is not her strong point though.) Her next door neighbor's ditzy daughter decides to set her up with the quarterback of the local pro team and Jane, seeing him play the rube on tv, agrees. She is to be Cal Bonner's birthday present from his teammates who think that releasing sexual tension might make ole Cal less of a bear to work with on the field. Somehow, despite Cal's aversion for prostitutes, he is willing to have at it with the vamped-up, anonymous, supposed high class call girl Jane. But she doesn't get pregnant. And so all on her own initiative, she accosts him for a repeat performance the following month, at which time she does fall pregnant. Now he's never supposed to know about the baby but finds out, leading him to strong arm her into an unpleasant marriage of convenience, at least until the baby is born. Even worse, they go back to his tiny home town and Jane has to deal with his family, including his wacky, backwoods grandmother, all while maintaining a frigid relationship with a man she's coming to love.There is much sexual tension, some laughable scenes, and the requisite misunderstandings in this contemporary romance. Cal is not nearly as stupid as Jane had hoped and she is not nearly as savvy as he assumed. There are mini plots galore amongst Cal's family as well. This is a generally likable book that doesn't require deep reading. It will be a hit with most romance fans.
debs4jc on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The basic premise is that this brianiac chick with limited social skills is so desperate to havea baby that she agrees to be a "birthday present" for a football player. She does get the result she is after, but when he finds out he forces her to get married to him. They then move to his hometown where they have to work out their differences--with a little help from his family and friends.A pretty predictable "marriage of convience" romance, way too unbelievable and focused on all the wrong things. Good for an escape from reality.
dianah2o on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I will never look at a box of Lucky Charms the same way again! This book is hilarity and emotion at their optimum. Jane Darlington wants a baby... a NORMAL baby. Because she's a genius and lived through a childhood of being called FREAK, she thinks that the way to get a normal baby is to breed with a stupid man. But she doesn't find out until too late that the stupid man she chose is nearly as smart as she is. A marriage of convenience is anything but in this wonderfully, character-driven story. Pick it up, and Susan Elizabeth Phillips will become one of your must read authors forever
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I laughed so hard when Jane pretends to be a high class hooker and was trying to suduced Calvin and him keep saying to her, "you don't seem to be very good at this. You might wanna open your eyes when trying to suduce me" lmao????? Live this book. Made me laughed, cried, and smile all in a few hours. I've only read a few of This author's book and so far I like it. Would recommend this book, it's worth the buy. -fire
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was a very good story. Funny, sad in some parts, a liitle nuts in other parts, but I couldn't wait to see what was going to happen next between Jane and Cal and Cal's family.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
lovetoread71 More than 1 year ago
I never write a review but i loved this book the back and forth and that she was no push over get this one and you will thank me.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
,
PeniA More than 1 year ago
One of my all time favorite stories. Very imaginative and funny, there are points that are extremely touching and insightful. This isn't just the story of Cal and Jane. It is also the story of Dr James & Susan Bonner, Cal's parents.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book. At times I laughed out loud. I can't wait to read the next book in this series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good chemistry between the characters and enough interest to not put the book down until I finished, made this an enjoyable read! I'm still not a fan of duel story lines but, this one wasn't just a dull filler, the secondary couples story was okay too. The plot could have been more but, there were some funny antics to keep up the interest. All in all I recommend this book. S.A.K.