Night Work (Kate Martinelli Series #4)

Night Work (Kate Martinelli Series #4)

Audio Other(Other - Unabridged)

$74.00
View All Available Formats & Editions
MARKETPLACE
3 New & Used Starting at $9.97

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Night Work: Kate Martinelli Series, Book 4 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 14 reviews.
pinkozcat on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I have managed to read about 20% of this book and am bored, bored and bored. I love King's Mary Russell books but this is the first Kate Martinelli book I have tackled and I am pretty sure that it is going to be the last.Perhaps it will improve further into the book but I will need to be desperate for something to read before I find out.
JeanneMarkert on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Loved this writer. Loved her style of writing & the characters. Kate Martinelli, the police dtective is someone I need to get to know better.
tjsjohanna on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This latest installment in the Kate Martinelli series has the flavor of a thriller. Ms. King manages to create a sense of sympathy with the criminal by virtue of the unsavoriness of the victims. In that sense, I think that makes the reader more aware of the emotional paradoxes that police deal with on a regular basis. Kate and Lee's relationship is more on the back burner this time around, and the myth of the goddess Kali is seriously scary in the hands of Ms. King.
acommonreader on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
#4 in Martinelli Series... Gripping beginning - indian goddess. Interesting twists. Kinda disturbing when you think how defenseless those women are...
jennyo on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I love King's Russell/Holmes books, but I hadn't read one of the Kate Martinelli series before. The Martinelli series is set in modern-day San Francisco, and she's a police homicide detective who also happens to be a lesbian in a committed relationship. Like Mary Russell, she's a very strong, very feminist character. King's pretty good with plot and setting too. But I think what I like most about her books is that she always brings in some religious or mythical aspect that makes me want to go off and learn more. In this one, there's quite a lot about Kali and goddess worship. Interesting stuff. I've got the newest Russell book here on the TBR pile, thank goodness, because this book whetted my appetite for more King.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Boring
JimJF More than 1 year ago
I gave this one four stars but I don't remember why since I had given Laurie King's other works A and A+. I keep records of my ratings so as to visit the authors with at least a B rating on prior readings.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I picked up the first of the series & couldn't put it down. I was raised in San Francisco & could relate to the areas mentioned in the book. So as soon as I finished the first book I had to get the next book then the next. Now that I have finished the series I have read the other books I bought. I guess I could start reading the other series. I hope there is going to be more with Kate Martinelli & Al & the gang.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
KrisPA More than 1 year ago
I enjoy the Kate Martinelli series as a whole, and enjoyed this book. I particulary enjoyed the book "To Play the Fool" (#2 in the series). It was very interesting and original. As with her other books, King likes to provide a good bit of intellectual stimulation for both her detective Kate and the reader. I enjoyed the discussion of the Fool and the background information on the warrior goddess (Kali, etc.). Sometimes, though, I think the intellectual background threatens to take over the fast-moving plot. I like her writing style--competent without being flashy, and I like her characters. The copy of this book that I borrowed from the library (sorry B&N but I spend enough money with you as it is) has a quote from the Boston Globe I think calling King the next P.D. James. Having read just about everything P.D. James has ever written, I would disagree with that comparison. King isn't nearly as good a writer as P.D. James. I re-read James's books and have purchased several of them. King, so far (at least in this series), isn't that good. One thing I seriously dislike about her novels is that she ends them abruptly. It's as if King has finished an unpleasant task and is now ready to do something else. It's very disconcerting to just have a novel stop the way hers do. I wish she would provide a short chapter just to wrap up the rest of the details. The book "With Child" desperately needed this type of wrapping up, and the reader does not get it, which left me irritated. All in all, though, if you like police procedurals and crime fiction, you'll enjoy the Kate Martinelli series.