My Beloved World

My Beloved World

by Sonia Sotomayor

NOOK Book(eBook)

$13.99 View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

My Beloved World 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 128 reviews.
cp10 More than 1 year ago
My Beloved World is a look into the life of a child born into a life of poverty,despair, violence and insecurities. Through it all her strength and determination to be the best moved her forward with conviction . She is very moving author She is indeed a role model for young women today. I recommend this book to females who want to be inspired and who want to make a difference in this world. Thank you Sonia- Muchas Gracia. Que Dios la bndiga!
BalkanMomma More than 1 year ago
Sonia Sotomayor has guts to tell her story. Her parents had difficulties that affected her. I thought, how did Sonia make it with an alcoholic dad and a depressed mom? I realized her grandma and extended family gave her enough love to make Sonia not question her own worth as a human being. So if you take away only one thing, please let it be that we should always be a source of inspiration for kids who may not have it easy. You just don't know where kindness toward a child can lead! What a beautiful story Sonia has given us.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great Book. I can say enough good things about this lady. Stories like hers are truly inspirational. Is very sad that a couple of reviews are not about the book and focus only in their personal politic preferences.
carlosmock More than 1 year ago
My beloved World by Sonia Sotomayor, Spanglish Edition Whenever I review a famous person biography - or “memoir” as the Justice has decided to call it - I try to think how the book would read if the person writing it would be an ordinary person. The book opens with the Justice’s diagnosis of juvenile diabetes at age 7 - “not yet 8” - and how Sonia learns how to give her insulin shots to stop her parents from fighting about it. We see a little girl who lives in the the projects of the Bronx, raised by an alcoholic father - Juan Luis or Juli - and a nurse - Celina - who are constantly fighting. Her father dies soon after the beginning of the book, and we see Sonia raised in an extended family which includes her grandmother - abuelita Mercedes - and lots of aunts, uncles, and cousins. Sonia’s best friends are her immediate family and her comfort and support are drawn from it. I found this part of the book to be quite endearing - a la Junot Díaz way - with multiple use of Spanish words and phrases to remind the reader of the Justice’s background and culture. However as we move past Cardinal Spellman High School and on to Princeton and Yale Law School, the book changes in tone. The Spanish words and phrases diminish in frequency, and the reader is presented with the more professional side of the Justice. This second half of the book I found tedious and boring. It becomes more of a who’s who in the Justice personal life. The Justice apologizes in her introduction: “If particular friends or family members find themselves not mentioned...I hope they will understand that the needs of a clear and focused telling must outweigh even an abundance of feeling.” It almost felt that if you were famous and she knew you, she would drop his or her name to add flare to the narrative. i didn’t like it - I felt it drew flare away from her.... I also wondered why the Justice found herself defending her admissions to Princeton and Yale Law School. Her constant defense and justification of minority quotas and her insecurities as to why she was admitted to both schools are not necessary; after all, she’s a Justice of the Supreme Court - case closed! Her work as assistant D. A. in New York, the cases she tried, and then her take at the Pavia and Hartcourt law firm, and finally her appointment to the District Court Judge for the South District of NY - where the book abruptly ends - are not as fun to read. And, yes, I was disappointed that the Justice did not include her story as to how she was appointed to the Supreme Court. As much as I admire and like the Judge, I think it would have made a much better read, given who she is, and why we’re reading her story. The book is very well edited; the narrative is from the first person universal point if view; which is what I would expect in any a biography. After all, we’re seeing the world through Sonia Sotomayor’s point of view. The Glossary is a nice feature. In all, I would recommend the book to anyone who. like me, admires the Judge.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is turly inspirational, and in so many ways I can relate. I give her props.
JJRand More than 1 year ago
I wished several times while reading this book I could relay my gratitude to Justice Sonia Sotomayor for  this moving, beautifully written memoir.  I felt I was walking that mile in her shoes in her ever-mindful  journey.  She talks about her life with astonishing candor.  Filled with pearls of wisdom, this book  captivated me from beginning to end.  It's a real treasure.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Amazing, interesting, and extremely inspirational!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It's quick read with numerous personal anecdotes that Her Honor has added. Understandably, she has conquered many demons, health related and otherwise. In today's world it is hard enough to find one's own way and she has accomplished a great deal. I would have liked a bit more warmth and more anecdotes, and I would love to know more about her mentors, too. All in all, a quick read and informative, I'd say.
BibliomaniacNumis More than 1 year ago
Sonia Sotomayor's story is an uplifting study in perseverance and strength. Losing herv father at a young age she raised herself literally by her bootstraps from a life of poverty and disadvantages in a crime-ridden neighborhood of New York to become a Justice on the Supreme Court of the United States. How does a poor girl with marginal English perfect her skills in a public high school to get a full ride scholarship to Princeton and then Yale? A brilliant, powerfully intelligent and a supportive family alone made it possible. Sonia is one person I'd most like my children to meet. Once you read her book you'll understand why.
KyBookFreak More than 1 year ago
Sonia Sotomayor's book captured me from the first page. I was inspired by this woman the challenges she faced in her life. Best of all, I was inspired by her knowledge that she had to take PERSONAL RESPONSIBILITY for her life, her choices and the paths she would pursue in life. She surely faced many events in her upbringing that could have been used as excuses; however, she did not of that and forged on. I admit the first half of the book, which focused on her young life and early times at college kept my interest; however, I started to fade as she delved into her career as an attorney and judge. This is still a very inspiring book and I was proud to be able have a glimpse into this woman's life. I am always up for reading about inspirational women!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved reading this book. I remembered crying on the day she was sworn in as a Supreme Court Justice. I'm so proud of her and loved reading about her resilient and self-determined nature. Her attitude about learning from others no matter how different is remarkable. It's an easy read, and pretty funny at times. Thank you for sharing your story Justice Sotomayor. Que dios tell bendiga (God bless you)?
MichaelWV More than 1 year ago
Even a Supreme Court justice has a personal life and Sotomayor's is richer than most. Her father was a talented man but became alcoholic and died when she was nine. Her mother struggled to become a practical nurse before Sonia was born, handicapped in school by her Puerto Rican Spanish language. They lived in subsidized housing in a high crime area of the Bronx. Little Sonia strove to make up for her quarrelling parents' deficiencies and apparently became very socially observant and compassionate. She learned to live with people's limitations and make the best of them. Sonia's mother encouraged her to do well in school, herself going through torment to complete her registered nursing degree. Sonia attended Catholic schools and did well indeed. She was daunted by the unexpected prospect of entering nearby Princeton University as part of an early wave of affirmative action. When her mother heard what a prestigious school it was, she wasn't even sure young Sonia should try. Sotomayor had juvenile diabetes. Before her father died his hands shook so much he was unable to give her insulin injections, so all her life she injected herself. She coped with that, she coped with occasional low blood sugar, she coped so well that she graduated Summa cum Laude, won the Byrne Award at Princeton and entered Yale Law School. Every new school, even high school, had its challenges for someone of Puerto Rican nationality but Sotomayor coped. She made a record for herself in varied legal practices until she was appointed to the Federal bench and the rest is history. This memoir is distinguished by Sotomayor's compassion and her understanding of people around her who let her down in various ways. She saw the good in people even as an assistant district attorney, striving for fairness even while accomplishing an enviable conviction rate. The book shows how a minority group background, even a second language, can be as much of an advantage as a handicap in pursuing social justice. I recommend this book for all readers.
socraticparenting More than 1 year ago
From stories of her humble childhood growing up in Puerto Rico, through her acceptance at Princeton and Yale Law School, and into her years of public service as a New York District Attorney and private practice in Manhattan, US Supreme Court Justice Sonia Sotomayor shares her insights and reflections with an unassuming grace and sense of purpose. Her journey is one of determination, tenacity, and perseverance. Avoiding all soapboxes and political agenda, Justice Sotomayor tells a truth known to many minorities but often unrecognized by those who have risen to such lofty positions in our justice system. Her experience with diabetes, loved ones dealing with alcoholism and addiction, education, and affirmative action are all enlightening and inspiring. I especially enjoyed the audiobook read by Rita Moreno, which included a Foreword and Prologue read by Justice Sotomayor. Hers is a story worth telling, and she tells it very well.
Sawbill More than 1 year ago
I highly recommend My Beloved World by Associate Justice of the United States Supreme Court Sonia Sotomayor. Her autobiography is warm, deeply personal and an excellent read.  Sotomayor felt called to be a judge at a young age. She had a family and community of beloved friends and mentors to support her throughout her journey to the highest court in the land. This book celebrates those ties. If Sotomayor had not chosen the law she would have been a great teacher. She finds the important lessons in life, and passes along wise truths. Her readers can cull many from the book. Among them are: The power of education: Sotomayor learned from her mother the power of education. The devoted nuns at her school drilled the essentials into their charges, and Sotomayor says her Catholic education lifted her above her friends in the low income housing. Building on her excellent education and determined scholarship, she was granted admission to Princeton and then on to Yale law school. The power of work: She seemed to have worked non stop from an early age. She worked at the hospital where her mother was employed. She worked on her studies far beyond her peers and taught herself proper English writing and grammar while a college student. As I read her story I was astounded by her determination--determination that spilled over into drivenness.  The power of people working together:  While a college student, Sotomayor joined a group of fellow students in the “Third World” club. Together they upheld one another at an elite, exclusive, and discriminatory institution and reached out to the disenfranchised patients at a local health care facility. Later in her career she served on boards and committees of organizations devoted to Puerto Rican and minority issues. In so doing she broadened her own world, helped others and met more fantastic mentors.  The power of mentors: Sotomayor sought out mentors throughout her entire life. Beginning with a smarter classmate in grade school, she was unafraid to admit her lack and ask others to teach her how to navigate new situations. Those mentors encouraged her all the way to the Supreme Court. The power of believing in your self: She chose to attend college at Princeton, rather than a local college. And as they say, the rest is history. Then she chose a career path following law school that other Yale grads would eschew. After a successful career as an assistant district attorney, she turned down a promotion and switched to a small private firm. Making her own choices allowed her to fast-track to the judgeship she wanted. The power of a vocation: Sotomayor feels that her position is a vocation, not a career. Since a small child she has felt called to help society at large. She derives great mental and emotional satisfaction in seeing the law used to help solve societal issues. The power of family: Sotomayor’s extended family is portrayed in all facets. She morns the loss of her cousin to drugs. She rejoices in her grandmother’s love and care that follows her even after her grandmother’s death. She is a proud sister of her physician brother. And she’s determined to be the “fun aunt” to her nieces and nephews. The love of--and for--her family surrounds her like a comforting quilt. It is a real privilege to read this book. Rarely does a person get to meet and talk with a great woman and see into a great mind. Sonia Sotomayor makes the visit with her a warm, interesting and rewarding time.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What a wonderful sharing of struggles and making it to the top. I loved the book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Well written book, provides an intimate view of family and personal challenges with earned perseverence.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very interesting to learn the background of a Supreme Court justice. It explains what shapes her opinions.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
ShawnSorensen43 More than 1 year ago
Sotomayor’s book becomes more relevant today than ever. She speaks eloquently about the love of one person - her grandmother - as making all the difference to her as a child, similar in message to J.D. Vance's "Hillbilly Elegy" memoir. Sotomayor's experiences in a Puerto Rican family point to the value of different cultures. Growing up, she saw Puerto Ricans in positions of management and prestige on the island, but rarely in mainland U.S. She points out the rudeness of a sales clerk towards her mother when she was buying a nice coat for Sotomayor, a rudeness that turned into sparkling customer service when the clerk found out Sonia was going to attend Princeton. One may argue against affirmative action as too arbitrary and unfair to persons more qualified, but Sotomayor speaks passionately about the disadvantages of growing up in a culture not focused or even aware of higher education, and that the poor and minorities are disproportionately victims (rather than perpetrators) of crime. What's also tough is new immigrants not being taught in both their native language and English when they arrive. This ensures more of them fall behind, furthering the negative stereotype of Puerto Ricans and other immigrants as less than smart and hard-working. Today, as much as half of the student bodies of elite universities come from the top 1%. It warps the objectivity of the law to have students get placed on higher tracks of income and power solely based on family lineage. You needn’t look any further than the Trump administration to know the dangers of a president and party so focused on advancing the agenda for rich whites at the expense of everyone else, this in a country already based on European law and customs. We have a Supreme Court ruling actually stating that money is free speech (oh, to be rich). Instead, we know that religious freedom helps Christians (it at least lowers the excuse of their feeling 'under attack' from other religions whose freedom would otherwise be arbitrarily limited), free and fair public education helps lower income whites, etc. We just need a broader view that the rule of law protects everyone. You can't say that immigrants come here illegally and support a president who actually believes he can pardon himself. If the immigrants are coming from countries full of extreme violence and oppression, their legality is lower on the list of important considerations anyway. Time and again, "My Beloved World" answers fear with generosity, privilege with community, favoritism with merit. The only complaint about the book is a common one - that Sotomayor doesn't write about her experiences on the Supreme Court. She says her core beliefs were formed before her nomination and govern everything she's done. But she writes so much about serving the greater good. Does it serve the greater good more to write about grain shipment arbitration while being in a small law firm, as she does, or Citizens United? Does it serve more people to explain in length about her struggles with diabetes, or use some of the same time and pages talking about the Affordable Care Act? Would a new forward or afterword during this election year help good causes? While the fight is very real, this book has a lot going for it. Namely, she wants to learn from everyone. She doesn't want to harden her positions and fall into the deep darkness of our current partisanship. This theme alone makes the book a winner.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was enjoyable as an insight into an amazing life and a leader that has done all of America proud. The book is DISsatisfying in that it definitely keeps the reader at arm's length. At times in her life when emotion had to be strong, she describes her feelings with detachment that diminishes the bond with the reader. Her reports are so cool and level-headed as to seem unreal. Early in the book, she states her determination not to compromise her objectivity and neutrality as a justice--both of which are laudable and appropriate; and her writing style was very "lawyerly". I enjoyed this book and getting to know her a little, but I missed the emotional resonance that her story surely could have had.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Uplifting
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Interesting picture of her young life and the obstacles she overcame. I loved learning about her family and Puerto Rican heritage. She is intelligent yet humble, an inspiring and brave woman. This memoir makes me really appreciate her more than ever.