Murder at Royale Court
Murder at Royale Court

Murder at Royale Court

by G.P. Gardner

$4.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Murder at Royale Court 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 12 reviews.
KrisAnderson_TAR 10 months ago
Murder at Royale Court is the second story in A Cleo Mack Mystery series. I recommend reading Murder at Harbor Village before picking up Murder at Royale Court. It will allow you to learn how Cleo came to be living in Fairhope and managing Harbor Village. Cleo Mack is enjoying her new life in Fairhope, Alabama. She has a close group of friends, an active social life and is busy learning her new job at Executive Director of Harbor Village. As part of their new lecture series, Reg Handleman will be giving automobile themed talks for three days which ties in with the upcoming automobile show to benefit the hospital. Cleo is surprised to learn that money can be made by investing in cars and that there are scam artists who take advantage of that fact. When Devon Wheatley, a local financial planner is murdered, Cleo finds herself searching for answers. The mystery is complex as Cleo plunges into the world of finance looking for suspects. One clue, though, gave away the identity of the culprit to me. I wish solving the crime had been more of a challenge. The resolution of the crime was supposition instead of facts. I would have preferred definitive answers. There are a numerous characters in Murder at Royale court, and I found it difficult to keep track of them (employees, residents, guests, shopkeepers at Royale Court). While I found some of the information on automobiles interesting, I could have done with less of it (though car lovers will relish it). I thought it bogged down the story. I like the developing romance between Cleo and Riley. They make a cute couple and seem compatible. There is humor sprinkled throughout the story and lovely descriptions of Fairhope. I liked the reference to Fannie Flagg and the movie Fried Green Tomatoes based on her book. Murder at Royale Court has charming characters, frisky felines, a complex crime, amazing automobiles, and vindictive villain.
Shelly9677 11 months ago
I really enjoyed this book. Murder at Royal Court is the second in the Cleo Mack Mystery series. Although it can stand on its own, I recommend reading the fist in the series because it is equally good. This cozy takes place n Fairhope, Alabama and centers around Harbor Village, a retirement home full of interesting and eclectic residents. Cleo is a college professor who took an early retirement and suddenly finds herself as the Harbor Village new director and local amateur sleuth. There is murder, mayhem and scams as well as red herrings, twists and turns. The plot unfolds masterfully and the characters come to life. I highly recommend this cozy mystery series.
GratefulGrandma 11 months ago
4.5 Stars: Murder at Royal Court is the second in the Cleo Mack Mystery series. Although it can be read as a standalone, I recommend reading the fist in the series to get a feel of the characters and circumstances surrounding Cleo's new life. This cozy takes place in Fairhope, Alabama, a small town on the coast, and centers around Harbor Village, a retirement community with many interesting residents. Cleo is a college professor who took an early retirement and suddenly found herself as the Director of Harbor Village. In this book, Cleo and her friend Nita have volunteered to work at Ann's knitting shop for the day, while she was busy setting up plans for a knitting retreat. What they were not counting on was finding a dead body in the shared washroom. Once it is determined that he was strangled, Cleo's friend Ann asks for her help as her brother, Usher seems to be the main suspect. There are many things I enjoy about this book. First it is the many and varied residents of Harbor Village. They are not all main characters but their individuality, quirks and eccentricities add so much to the story. This book was also about an antique automobile show that has come to Harbor Village, complete with a lecture series given by a car afficenado, scams about a long lost Bugatti to invest in, some romance for Cleo, family relationships, and life in Harbor Village in general. There is also murder and mayhem with several red herrings, and some twists and turns. The plot unfolds slowly and builds nicely until the reveal. I will say that I was pretty sure I knew who the murderer was just past halfway, but wasn't positive until the reveal. This did not diminish my enjoyment of the story in any way. If you enjoy a good well-paced and plotted cozy mystery you should enjoy this book. If you like cars, especially classic ones, you will probably enjoy this book. If you like a cozy with more mature characters, you will love this book. I recommend this one as well as the first in this series. The publisher generously provided me with a copy of this book upon request. The rating, ideas and opinions shared are my own.
casey710 11 months ago
This is the 2nd in the Cleo Mack series and this one really shines. I now want to move to Harbor Village and be a mystery-solving senior with Cleo and her gang. I hesitate to call this a true cosy because its a bit more complicated than your typical cozy mystery but it is not hard boiled either. Very well written and held my interest until the end. Thank you NetGalley for the advanced reader copy for review.
Nancy0708 11 months ago
Cleo Mack is the director of Harbor Village which is a vibrant retirement community on the gulf coast of Alabama. She lives on site and has become good friends with many of the residents. When accompanying one of those friends they stumble upon a dead body and now she finds herself involved in a murder investigation. The story has a nice flow with likeable characters and the author does a good job setting the scene. I have read both books in the Cleo Mack series and I feel I am beginning to know the main characters but I would like to continue to learn more about each of the main characters. This book could also be read as a stand alone. Thanks to Lyrical Underground and NetGalley for an ARC. The opinions expressed are my own.
4GranJan 11 months ago
Cozy Mystery and Classic Cars This is a nice addition to the series, I have read them all! The story moves quickly with lots of details, clues, suspects, and surprises. Part of the story revolves around a concourse of classic and sports cars. That in itself captured my interest. I have enjoyed this series and it seems that the stories just keep getting better. I received this ARC book for free from Net Galley and this is my honest review.
ArizonaJo 11 months ago
Murder at Royale Court by G.P. Gardner is the second book in the Cleo Mack series and did not disappoint. I thoroughly enjoyed the first in this series and was equally intrigued by this one. Cleo is finally beginning to feel at home in Harbor Village as she learns the ropes of becoming the Harbor Village director. She has made friends with several of the residents and enjoys spending time with them at the activities that are scheduled at this retirement community. The plot is well-crafted and quickly paced as Cleo doesn't set out to solve the mystery but becomes involved when a neighbor and friend asks for her help. The secondary characters of active seniors each add insights to this perplexing murder mystery. I look forward to more mystery adventures with Cleo and her friends. I voluntarily reviewed an Advance Reader Copy of this book from Lyrical Underground via NetGalley. All of the above opinions are my own.
chefdt 11 months ago
Murder At Royal Court is the second book in the Cleo Mack Mystery series. Cleo has taken early retirement and moved to Fairhope, Ala. She decided to take a part-time job at the Harbor Village retirement village, but when the executive director is found dead, Travis McKenzie(her ex-husband) appoints her as the new executive director. Cleo is making changes to the community and the residents are extremely happy with them. Cleo’s neighbor, Nita, has agreed to watch her friend Ann’s knitting shop for a few hours and asks Cleo if she would like to go with her and look over the shop. When they get there, Evie who has a dollhouse shop next door comes over and asks to use the bathroom that is shared by the two shops as somebody has locked the door on her side. Upon opening the bathroom door she sees a body on the floor. It’s quickly identified as Devon Wheat, a financial planner, who has an office at the back of the building. Ann, who remembers that Cleo recently helped solve a murder, asks if she will investigate this death, as she feels her brother will be the prime suspect. Cleo with the help of Nita and some other residents of Harbor Village begin to search for the killer. They soon find that Wheat’s financial planning may leave something to be desired and possibly one of his clients was out for revenge. The story is well-plotted and told. There is a wonderful cast of characters which are also interesting and well developed. I will be watching for the next book in this new series.
CozyOnUp 11 months ago
Cleo Mack had thought she was retiring when she moved to Fairhope, Alabama, but before she knew it she was managing Harbor Village, one of her ex husband’s retirement communities. When a car show comes to town, the residents of Harbor Village host a series of lectures on the topic and everyone is hot and heavy for classic cars. When a body is found in the Royale Court shopping center, Cleo finds even more has been added to her plate as she tries to help a Harbor Village’s resident who suspects her brother may have a hand in the murder. With a growing list of suspects, many who would have been up past their bed time at the time of the murder, Cleo has her hands full trying to manage it all. Quite a few red herrings to keep you in suspense until he end. While I did not read the first book in this series, I certainly did not feel like I was missing any information as this book solid as a standalone. Very enjoyable and a solid storyline and well developed characters. Will be reading the first in the series and look forward to future entires.
Anonymous 11 months ago
If you like cars you’ll love this book. Even though it was a little heavy on car information I mostly enjoyed the story. The characters were warm and multifaceted, however It wasn’t a page turner. There were multiple plot holes and the ending didn’t clear anything up. I enjoyed the pieces of the book but there were just too many unanswered questions for me at the end, I was provided an advanced reader copy in exchange for my honest review.
AMGiacomasso 11 months ago
I liked the first book in this series and I liked this one. It's a bit slow paced at the beginning but it soon becomes a page turner you will not be able to put down. I like Cleo, she's a very clever no-nonsense woman. I also love the cast of senior characters who are all likable and well written. Tinkerbelle the cat is sweet and lovely. The mystery is good, no plot hole, and it kept me guessing till the end. I like the setting and I would have preferred some less discussione about cars. I look forward to reading the next installment in this series. Recommended! Many thanks to Kensington Books and Netgalley for this ARC, all opinions are mine.
MKF 11 months ago
Cleo can't seem to get a break! She is a widow who, when she retired from her job as a professor, too a job at the Harbor Village, a retirement community. Little did she know that her ex- husband Travis was involved with the project. She was looking forward to being close to her daughter Stephanie but surely not to him. This is the second in the series and don't worry if you didn't read the first one- Gardner catches you up. Cleo's found her feet in the community, made some friends, has a love interest, and now she's got a dead man in the shopping area! Of course, she's intrepid and of course she's going to sort out what's what and who's who. This is fun, well written, and the characters are all mature (in age and attitude). Thanks to Netgalley for the ARC.