Mrs. Jeffries Stalks the Hunter (Mrs. Jeffries Series #19)

Mrs. Jeffries Stalks the Hunter (Mrs. Jeffries Series #19)

by Emily Brightwell

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, August 21

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Mrs. Jeffries Stalks the Hunter (Mrs. Jeffries Series #19) 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 21 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Mrs.+Jeffries+is+always+a+good+read.
drebbles on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
In this mystery set in Victorian England, Inspector Gerald Witherspoon is in charge of the investigation of the murder of Sir Edmund Leggett, who was killed on his way home from his engagement party. Witherspoon has plenty of suspects, beginning with a young woman who has been stalking him. But there's plenty of other people that wanted him dead, including his fiancée who hates him (he was marrying her for her money, her parents agreed because they wanted his title), his mistress who is furious at the upcoming wedding, his cousin who inherits everything, and the numerous people he owes money to. But Witherspoon will have no problem solving this case, not while his housekeeper Mrs. Jeffries and the rest of his household staff are working behind the scenes to help him! I really enjoy this series. The mysteries are always well written and well plotted. Brightwell switches back and forth between Witherspoon's investigation and the servants which I like, because it gives insight into all the characters. What I like the most is that, even after nineteen books in the series, the characters continue to grow and in each book we learn more and more about them. In this particular book, it was a little tidbit about Hatchet that made him come even more alive to me as a character. And Witherspoon's detecting abilities develop more and more each book, which is a nice touch as it would have been easy for him to become a caricature. I highly recommend these books for fans of cozy mysteries.
juglicerr on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This series centers around the household of Gerald Witherspoon, an extremely kind, but not terribly bright individual who has a great reputation for his amazing (if not downright unlikely) success at solving murders. Inspector Witherspoon doesn't realize it, but his good deeds and kindly nature have created great loyalty on the part of his household staff. Led by the housekeeper, Mrs. Jeffries, a policeman's widow, they successfully (and competitively) investigate every case, and tactfully pass the information along to Witherspoon. A few friends and neighbors eventually join in to help.I like having a largish band of appealing, repeating characters who are distinct from one another and continue to develop throughout the series. The stories are somewhat formulaic, which the reader may like or dislike. Personally, I wish that the continuing subplots would develop and change a little faster. The books are best read in order, although it isn't entirely crucial. With such a long series, it is often hard to get all the books.A friend recommended this series to me when I was extremely depressed, and it was perfect!
showssetters More than 1 year ago
I really enjoy the Mrs. Jeffries series, and this one did not disappoint me. Like the others, it's a quick read and entertaining.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another winner....Mrs. Jeffries and her "team" always do a great job.
Laurel_Blue More than 1 year ago
This story finds Mrs. Jeffries and her team at their best!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As with all of the Mrs Jeffries books, I really enjoyed this one. Once I started I could not put it down. Emily Brightwell has an interesting plot and a good sense of history.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
thimblemom More than 1 year ago
I'm entraced by Mrs. Jeffries and her staff. They show intuition and good sense when it comes to solving the mysteries. I would not hesitate to compare Emily Brightwell to Agatha Christie with layers of the story. My only complaint is that when I pick up and Mrs. Jefferies book, I want to read the entire book in one sitting.
harstan More than 1 year ago
In Victorian England, Sir Edmund Leggett is so in debt he is marrying heiress Beatrice Parkingtom for her money even with her parents in trade and the chit not wanting to marry him. A woman stalks Edmund hanging outside his home every day and follows him wherever he goes. Afraid that his cash cow will cry off if she learns about the stalker, Edmund announces their engagement at a society gala so she cannot dump him. Later a drunken Edmund heads home; someone he knows shoots him and calmly walks away leaving him dead.--- Inspector Gerald Witherspoon is assigned the case and finds too many suspects with motives as Sir Edmund played fast and loose with women, abused his servants, and was late paying off his gambling debts. Even his fiancée loathed him and the female stalker is assumed to have been one of the many women he discarded. The inspector worries that this will become a cold case, but his housekeeper Mrs. Jeffries and the rest of his household staff are helping him although he remains unaware of their assistance.--- The nineteenth installment in this long running series retains its fresh, unique ¿police procedural¿ premise due to a terrific who-done-it, the fabulous Witherspoon and his unofficial experts, and a solid secondary cast loaded with reasons to kill Edmund. Although his nasty behavior provides much of London as suspects, perhaps the only weak link is the odious Edmund, who was so nasty and hedonistic that no one cares that he died. However, what makes this well done who-done-it shine even brighter is the vivid look at Victorian England from the perspective of several lifestyles.--- Harriet Klausner