Mrs. Everything (Barnes & Noble Book Club Edition)

Mrs. Everything (Barnes & Noble Book Club Edition)

by Jennifer Weiner

Hardcover(Barnes & Noble Book Club Edition)

$22.40 $28.00 Save 20% Current price is $22.4, Original price is $28. You Save 20%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, September 19

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Mrs. Everything 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 53 reviews.
Anonymous 6 months ago
Too much going on to care about one person. Kinda like other people have said. All of the social issues in one book.
Anonymous 7 months ago
I found myself caring very little for the characters portrayed in this book. The author stuffed way too many injustices into the story and with such little athenticity, that I actually got bored. Plight of the jews, the blacks, the gays and women...check, it's in there. Sexual abuse, sexual harrassment, adultery, drug addiction...check, it's in there. It's as if the author made a list of all the current headlines and created a story that included them all so she could maximize her readership, not maximize the depth of her characters. Ms. Weiner, next time write a story with a clear focus and emotional draw. This book didn't make me laugh. This book didn't make me cry. This book didn't make me feel anything but bored and frustrated. By the way, I am a jewish woman from the east coast who grew up in the 70's with 3 sisters and I still couldn't relate to anything beyond the first few chapters.
Anonymous 6 months ago
Dreary, preachy, not a good read. Characters are not likable.
AnitaG 8 months ago
Books with long sweeping timelines can always pull me in. The length alone tells me I’m going to get to really know these characters, not just a small snippet of their lives. Jennifer Weiner tells the story of Jo and Bethie, young girls when we meet them in the 1950’s, and how two sisters raised in the same Jewish home, in a nice Jewish suburb of Detroit can be very different. Bethie is the younger of the sisters, and she is everything her mother could wish for, pretty, talented, obedient. Jo is challenging, questioning, and her own person. Her mother struggles understanding her, and her father is the one who comes in to smooth things over, to take her away from that pain. Jo knows she is different, Jo knows that she is what her own mother calls “unnatural”, Jo likes girls. Being gay in the 50’s, 60’s and on wasn’t easy. Jo battles this desire most of her life. Weiner lets history take Jo and Bethie along for the ride in a turbulent 60’s and 70’s, Coming of age in a time of political and social turmoil, the choices each of them make is paramount to where they end up later in life. The book follows along as the sisters leave college, take other paths and age. Nothing is lost on the fact that it ends taking note of the 2016 election and the beginning of the #metoo movement, pivotal times for women’s rights. Just as sisters do in real life, they are best friends and worst enemies, they are brutally honest and hurt each other, yet they are also there to save one another. I cannot begin to tell you how much I loved this book. The characters are the same age as my own sisters, two very different women just as Weiner’s sisters are. I thought of them so much while I read this. I also thought of my daughter, a gay woman who has been able to be herself, out and honest since her teen years. I know how lucky she is but also how judgmental and ignorant so many people still are of her, and all people or aren’t like them. Reading Mrs. Everything is an emotional journey, one of wanting to reach out and comfort the characters, wanting to slap others who didn’t step in to help, and also cheering Jo and Bethie on. I have read most of Jennifer Weiner’s books and I believe this to be her best work yet. She has created a story that will grab you, turning pages, longing to know more, invested in the characters and crying when the last page is read. Thank you again to Net Galley and Atria books for an early copy, and thank you always to Jennifer Weiner for sharing your words. Here is a link to an article Jennifer Weiner wrote for the NY Times about writing this book for her mother.
Anonymous 5 months ago
I kept reading hoping it would get more interesting but, alas, it doesn't. Repetitive, preachy, in need of a good editor.
Piney10 8 months ago
3.25. I read a lot of reviews that raved about this book. I found this book very shallow, simplistic, and hard to connect with. A lot of nostalgia for the 50s, 60s, 70s, etc. but that was the high point. The plot of the novel was well intentioned and if it had more depth and reality to it, it might have made it more likeable for me.
Anonymous 5 months ago
I found this book full of social issues that characters fully reflect in an authentic fashion. Brilliant weavings of people & time.
Anonymous 5 months ago
Great story, kept my interest. With all the crazy stuff going on in the world, this book was both a comparison of like issues and a way to escape them
Aqswr 6 months ago
Author Jennifer Weiner has written a book about women in the 20th Century with all of their struggles and successes, on political, personal and social levels. Mostly, this is a tale of Baby Boom girls/women and their lives. It is a huge canvas for a writer best known for her skill at finding the intimate details in any setting that almost any reader can immediately identify with and share. She doesn’t always succeed in creating a viable story around both of the sisters serving as protagonists in MRS. EVERYTHING but she does very well with one of them, the eldest, Jo. The younger sister, Bethie, is too often an afterthought and used as a filler for all of the Baby Boom activities that Jo has not experienced. I’m a big fan of the author but this book wasn’t my favorite, although I struggle to identify why. There are many unlikable characters that don’t grow better over time. Changes that do occur over time seem useful for the plot but unlikely. I kept reading the book hoping I would like it more because it seemed so perfect for me. I keep thinking my age and having experienced some part of the Baby Boom years is causing me to struggle with this book. I received my copy from the publisher through NetGalley.
paulalala09 8 months ago
Mrs. Everything creates a fantastic story built around the tumultuous ‘60s and continuing up to the present. If you lived through those years, the story rings so true to the time and to the struggles of women in a time when changes were erupting daily. If you did not live it, Mrs. Everything is such a great tribute to that time and will transport you to a day of constraint vs. freedom for women. I voluntarily read and reviewed an advanced copy of this book. All thoughts and opinions are my own.
Noire 8 months ago
I received an ARC of this book to read through NetGalley in exchange for a fair review. Mrs. Everything by Jennifer Weiner is a woman’s fiction story of two sisters Jo and Bethie Kaufman that follows the arc of their lives from the 1950’s to the present. The sisters would be about 10 years older than I am so much of what they experience over the course of the story is familiar to me. I had high expectations for this book as I enjoy Jennifer Weiner’s books enough that I have re-read several of them however I could not connect with any of the characters and while I found Jo to be the most sympathetic, I found her later passiveness to be disconcerting, that her strong and bright character up until she graduated from college became a shadow of her former self for much of the book was a disappointment. The main emotion that I took away from the book was guilt felt by the various characters, guilt about not being the daughter her mother wanted, guilt about her sexuality, guilt about not looking after her sister, guilt about not loving her husband, guilt about not being a good mother, guilt about believing she ruined her sisters life, guilt about not believing her sister when she asked for help, it carries on through the generations of women in the book creating a pall over the story and while I have felt many of the same feelings I found reading about them in characters I couldn’t relate to be more annoying than anything else. Publishing Date June 11, 2019 #NetGalley #SimonandSchusterCanada #AtriaBooks
Anonymous 10 days ago
Loved this story of sisterhood.
Anonymous 3 months ago
So disappointed. I have read all of her books. This one was not good. Characters are awful. I didn’t care about any of them. I am a big reader (around 60-80) books a year. This one I only read 150 pages of any finally quit reading it. I hate to buy a book and not read it, but this was awful. Don’t buy
JamieS 3 months ago
Bethie and Jo are sisters and are different as can be. Jo is a to boy and Bethie is all girl. The death of their fathers sets each of them on paths that are not what their mother chose for them. during the book we see the consequences of their choices and at times I was frustrated with them both and other times was rooting for them. Jo has three girls of her own and the dynamic between her and the girls and the girls with each other is reminiscent of their younger days. I enjoyed the book and was determined to find out how their lives turned out. There were times I was skimming because I felt like it was too wordy and thought stick to the story. I would recommend this if you like family dynamics, its a good beach read.
Anonymous 4 months ago
SunnyCarolinaGirl 4 months ago
Jo and Bethie are about as different as two sisters can be. This book begins in the present, and then goes back to their childhood all the way back to today and into the future. This book covers so many topics from equal rights to drug use, marriage and children, love and disappointment. It was very in depth and well written. I received a complimentary copy of this ebook from Atria Books through NetGalley. Opinions expressed in this review are completely my own.
JYoung 4 months ago
I loved this book! It is an sweeping tale of two sisters and all of the ups and downs (and yes, there are a lot of downs) in their lives. Good in Bed is one of my favorite books ever, but I haven't loved a Jennifer Weiner book as much since that one. Until now. The writing is beautiful, and I couldn't put it down. Thanks so much to NetGalley and Atria Books for an advanced copy of this book.
Bookish_Anki 5 months ago
Thank you Atria Books for my free reviewer copy. "We Loose ourselves, but we find our way back" Mrs. Everything is my new favorite book of 2019. I absolutely loved this book.This is my first book by her. I strongly recommend you to pick this up like right now if you haven't already. You will love it. It takes us on this beautiful journey of two sister Jo & Bethie from childhood to their present lives; through all their hardships, sexual abuse, marriage, career. No matter what they went through, they always stood by each other like a rock & though they think they know what they want to achieve in life, life wasn't going to be easy as they thought it will be. Faced with unfortunate, traumatic incidents, heartbreaks they have nothing but each other. I love family sagas which stresses on the fact that family can get you through anything such is the strength of their bond. I love Jennifer's writing style, I had goosebumps while reading this, it felt as if I was witnessing their entire life unfold before me. Jennifer also reflects on the issues women faced back then(some of which still exist today) & as the sisters go through with it finding their way, its never to late to go for what your heart desires.
smweston 5 months ago
Mrs. Everything is about being a sister, a daughter, a mother, and a woman. It's about how far women have come and how far we still have to go. It's a novel about finding yourself and the ways in which we fail other women, but have to pick up and try to do better. It's about how to balance what we want with what society expects and figure out our identity for ourselves. I don't feel that I can write an adequate review for this book. It's a bit outside of my comfort zone and I don't feel like I can compare it to other books I have read. The writing is just as exquisite as I would expect of any Jennifer Weiner book and it touched on so many important topics in such meaningful ways. Did I feel very connected to it? No. Is it powerful and moving? Yes It initially was hard for me to get into because I was sitting there wondering what kind of point this book would try to make, but by the end I was crying. I think this is the kind of book that will be even more powerful to reread and I highly encourage you to pick it up. Content warning for sexual assault, rape, abortion, eating disorder, loss of a parent, and drug abuse. Thanks to Atria and Netgalley for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.
Anonymous 5 months ago
This beautiful book by Jennifer Weiner will be published on June 11! Thank you so much to @netgalley and @atriabooks for the ARC.⁣ ⁣ This story follows the lives of sisters Bethie and Jo through childhood in the 1950s through late adulthood, allowing the reader a unique lens through which to understand development and cultural shifts. The women grapple with racism, sexuality, and male power, and exhibit wonderfully the lifelong pursuit of balancing education, self-care, socialization, and raising a family. ⁣ ⁣ I adored this method of story-telling because I felt like I was intimately close with the sisters. Their extended family represented a typical American family - some pursuing money, some pursuing passions, some with nefarious motives but are respected because they’re family, some struggling throughout life to identify their path. The imperfections of these characters is what made the story real and raw. ⁣ ⁣
Dianne57 6 months ago
I have to say what a downer this book was. If there was a situation filled with angst, it was in this book. Considering that this book spanned seven decades and some of them the most tumultuous in history, it is no wonder that I found myself deeply depressed while reading it! However, because I lived through a lot of these historical events, I found myself unable to put this book down. This book, in my opinion, will be perfect for book clubs filled with people of a certain age, younger people who like to learn about modern history from the perspective of the generation who lived it, women (since this book was filled with women's issues) and the Lesbian community. This book dealt with issues such as -bigotry, racial matters, political unrest, Lesbian issues, rape, drug addiction, cancer, early death, teenage angst, and so much more. There was very little to make you smile in this book, but a lot that will make you think and remember what life was like back then and really, still is.
JHSEsq 6 months ago
Bestselling author Jennifer Weiner says she has been thinking about the story of Mrs. Everything "for a really long time." She always knew that she wanted to pen a historical novel with "a lot of sweep and a lot of heft that would cover not just women in the present, but would cover generations. That started to feel a lot more urgent after the 2016 election and rise of the MeToo movement." Her goal was to explore "the story of women in America -- where we've been, where we've gotten and, as the mother of daughters, where we still need to go." With Mrs. Everything, Weiner has achieved her goal in entertaining and absorbing fashion. Mrs. Everything is a saga that plays out across more than six decades and examines the journeys of two sisters who are, of course, total opposites. Bethie is pretty, feminine, and loves to be in the spotlight. She learns at an early age how to get what she wants from boys using her female charms. In contrast, Jo is athletic, political, and although she, like Bethie, has boyfriends, they don't interest her much. At an early age she discovers why, painfully aware that she will always have to keep her desires secret, hidden away from a society that won't accept her as she is. Jo is a constant source of exasperation to their long-suffering Jewish mother, Sarah. When their father dies suddenly, Sarah is forced to take a job in the local department store to support the family. Jo feels their father's absence acutely and it strains her relationship with Sarah further since he ran interference between the two of them. But both girls step up to assist with Jo taking a job as a camp counselor while Bethie signs on to perform household tasks in their uncle's home after school. A horrific event forever alters the course of both of their lives. Jo comes to Bethie's aid, scuttling her plan to travel abroad with her girlfriend when she uses the money she had saved to help Bethie. Shattered, and so unsure of who she has become or what the future holds for her, Bethie wanders the country and eventually ends up living on a commune, while Jo decides that convention is the safest route. Through the years, the girls' lives are beset by molestation by a relative, gang rape, abortion, an eating disorder, drug use, sexual harassment in the workplace, a shocking betrayal by a friend and spouse, and cancer, all against the backdrop of sociological changes. including the sexual revolution, women's liberation, and the fight for reproductive and civil rights. Weiner's portrayal of the sibling relationship is believable. Typical of sisters, they go through periods when they barely communicate with or see each other, but remain bound together in the mysterious, inexplicable way that only sisters can be. They harbor grudges, resentments, and anger. At one point Bethie exclaims to Jo, "You think that I ruined your life? Well, I think you ruined mine." They confound each other. But they also come together when one needs the other, their loyalty forceful and, ultimately, unbreakable. Both characters are fully drawn and empathetic -- deeply flawed and aggravating, but also endearing. Just like members of one's own family. Mrs. Everything is an ambitious, compelling, and unsparing look at sexism, stereotypes, conventional roles, and women's ongoing drive for the freedom to unashamedly be true to their own spirits.
Linda Clare 6 months ago
Mrs. Everything was everything I didn't know I was longing for. A great trip to my past, eye-popping revelations about what it means to be straight, gay, Jewish, married, cheated upon, successful, losing everything, and, in the end, loving our families and ourselves as they are. Weiner's books had never really appealed to me until Mrs. Everything. I stand in awe of her skill and mastery of of this odd vocation called novel writing. Humbled as I was, I learned from Ms. Weiner--not just writing craft tips but also how to have a bigger heart. A heart that lives through seventh grade (when we wore our dads' white shirts to school for autographing and a boy drew a circle around my early-developed D-cup and labelled it BIG BOOBS) to the ups and downs of a 60s flower child who has since cut her hair but still longs for peace and love. I loved this story!
Anonymous 6 months ago
enjoyable read. liked all the characters in this and the book was really well written
sweetbabyjane 6 months ago
absolutely loved this book. Jennifer Weiner has done it again and this is her best one yet. Jewish fiction, generational, love, hate, same sex, rivalry, you name it, it's in this book. From the 1950's to 2022 this book went from the hippie days to the Me#2 movement with Beth and Jo being 6 and 8 to being in their 60s at the end of the book. I watched them grow up w/a mother who never loved them to them loving their own families and treating them totally different than the way they were treated. I laughed until I cried and then cried like a baby the end of the book.