Mostly Harmless (Hitchhiker's Guide Series #5)

Mostly Harmless (Hitchhiker's Guide Series #5)

by Douglas Adams

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback - Reissue)

$7.99 View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, October 17

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Mostly Harmless (Hitchhiker's Guide Series #5) 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 116 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is an awesome climax to the series. I would recommend this book to anyone who loves science fiction or comedy. Douglass Adams should know how much I love this book.
1000_Character_Reviews More than 1 year ago
"Mostly Harmless" are the words that now replace all of the writing and research that Ford Prefect has created for the Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy...and he wants to know why. The Vogons are back...still trying to destroy earth, but in a different way than usual. We also find Arthur Dent jumping through alternate universes trying to find his version of his beloved Earth...and learning that he has a moody teenage daughter spawned from his need to get traveling money. The fifth and final (at least from Douglas Adams) entry into the Hitchhiker "Trilogy" is probably the most hilarious and crazy entry in the series. I found myself laughing more at this book than the other ones. The sarcastic and just plain weird subplots (was Elvis kidnapped by aliens? how many “Earths” are there in the mish-mash?) and side-stories are simply hilarious. A great diversion, though I found the ending to be less than satisfying – very Sopranos-like.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The book ¿Mostly Harmless¿ by Douglas Adams is the last book in the Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy series. This book sums up all of ¿the crew¿s¿ experiences together and finally gives it an ending that I would say suits the book. It all starts out when Trillian gets lost in a time warp and Arthur Dent crashes his ship on a Bob fearing planet. Yes I know it sounds strange that a whole planet fears Bob¿s but that¿s just the humor in the book. The whole book makes as much sense as that first part that I told you about so its not even worth it trying to make sense of everything. Believe me, I¿ve tried this and after using up a whole summer on it I gave up. This overall is a very funny and interesting book and really gets you thinking about the world around you.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I think Mostly Harmless is the best book in the Hitchhiker's series (except maybe the first). Of course it is hilarious, like all the others, but this book is a little deeper and a little darker. It conveys raw emotion and philosophical ideas, more so than the previous books, yet still maintains the same zaniness we love. Random is one of my favorite characters in the series. There is a new robot character in this book that is hilarious - he is the antithesis of Marvin (he is chronically happy rather than depressed - hilarious). I thought the ending was fitting. It does leave you with unanswered questions, but isn't that what it's all about?
sweetiegherkin on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The fifth and final book in the Hitchhikers ¿trilogy¿ begins rather slow but picks up pace quickly after the first five or so chapters. Three of the usual suspects are back, but Arthur, Ford, and Trillian are all facing adventures on their own up until the end of the book. The reader still feels the lost of the marvelously interesting Zaphod and Marvin, but two new characters are brought in to help fill that void a bit. Random, the teenaged daughter of Arthur and Trillian, sulks about and inadvertently causes trouble while Colin, Marvin¿s antithesis, is Ford¿s new robot companion who is always happy. This book seems more in line with the tone and trajectory of the original trilogy, rather than the fourth book that just seemed like a side note. While it seems that many others found this book depressing, I still found it delightfully funny and the perfect ending to the series.
Shmuel510 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Arguably Adams's best book.It's hard to decide whether the first or last book of the Hitchhiker's trilogy is the best, because they're so different. Simply put, when Douglas wrote The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy, he didn't know how to write a book. He ended up producing a work that didn't fit any of the usual rules, and famously ended in the middle of nowhere when he hit his deadline. 99.999% of the time, this would have been a disaster. Instead, Hitchhiker's was the wildly (but not infinitely) improbable exception to the rule: everything worked in its favor. It was brilliant. It was a hit. It was irreproducible. (He came as close as one could with The Restaurant at the End of the Universe, which was essentially the second half of the book, but never managed it again.)So over the years, Adams learned how to write a book properly. And after a couple of flawed attempts at mastering the form, Mostly Harmless is the one in which he finally got it just right. It has a solid plot in which several threads satisfyingly come together at the end, providing closure for the series as a whole. It's the perfect ending for the trilogy. It may lack the manic inventiveness of the first book, but you can't have it both ways...
stonester1 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The last novel in the Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy series, and Mr. Adams' last novel, this one brings us back to most of our time/space tripsters Arthur Dent (who just wants to enjoy a quiet, normal life), Trillian (who just wants to find her purpose) and Ford Prefect (who just wants to avoid boredom at all costs). And we find out that Arthur now has a daughter, and his fatherly instincts aren't at all bad ones.The ending, though it was an "end", as far as "ends" go in the Hitchhikers' way of reckoning, was...jarring. Not so much ending, as coming to a crashing, banging halt.I enjoyed the book...but was less than satisfied with the wrapup. Still a worthy read if you are a fan of this series.
LTJinja on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The worst of the five.
mysticrune on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
i didnt dislike the book, i just didnt have as much fun reading this than i did with the other 4, it didnt have the hitchhickers charm. the ending was complete jiberish or was it just me? i hope eion colfar does a better job of finshing off the seiries than adams.
Darla on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Every morning--every school day morning, that is--I make breakfast for my kids, then while they're eating it, I read to them. We've been doing this for years, since before the youngest started school. Mostly Harmless was our latest morning read.We all loved it, even if the ending had everyone a bit stunned. Mostly about Arthur, but Ford and Trillian were in there, too. We did miss Zaphod. All in all, a satisfying ending to the "increasingly inaccurately named Hitch Hiker's Guide to the Galaxy trilogy"... since it had to end, that is.
rincewind1986 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Not particually good, really killed the series, it lacks all the fun and silliness of the other four, and just seems to plod along in a slow rather dull manner. Obviously fans of the series will read it no matter how many people say it is a bad book, but it is the worst of the 5
susiesharp on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I really liked this one and am glad Eoin Colfer took up the reins to write a next book because this one just kind of ended without resolution.This one as my 2nd favorite after the 1st book.
samlives2 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I thought this book ended somewhat abruptly, and I stopped mid-stride while reading it walking home from the bus stop. I had expected something at least a little dramatic, maybe with a little more emotion, but then I realized that that's what makes this series so special. It is special because it is unique and any abrupt and at first glance meaningless ending has simply to do with the whole point of the book: things happen, sometimes at random, and seemingly never for any higher reason or destiny. I have to admit this book was a little perplexing at times, and one definitely has to keep an open and focused mind when reading it, but it is definitely worth it. I love this series dearly. It's such a relief to read compared to most of the endless drama and obvious plots I seem to come across.
FolkeB on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Mostly Harmless is the fifth and final volume in The Hitchhiker¿s Guide to the Galaxy Series written by Douglas Adams. In this final adventure of the universe, Arthur Dent finds himself living on a planet where he is the sandwich maker for the village. He quite enjoys his simple and new life, but once again things are going to change for Arthur. Trillian shows up on his planet and drops off Arthur¿s daughter. Arthur had no idea that this daughter, named Random, even existed. Arthur tries to get to know this angst filled and lost girl, but she is just trying to figure out where she belongs. Meanwhile, Arthur¿s old companion Ford Prefect is discovering what has happed to The Hitchhiker¿s Guide and the fate of the book. This exciting story continues once again to unite some of Arthur¿s companions and to wrap up the journey for Arthur Dent in the crazy galaxy he has been apart of. Douglas Adams does a wonderful job bringing certain unresolved items from the series to a final close in this final volume of the series. The story is compelling and makes the reader feel like there is something important to this ending that keeps you reading on and on. Adams does a good job ending the series and making it as fun and crazy as the previous volumes in the series. I would recommend this to anyone who has read part of the series. I would give this book four out of five stars. Molly S.
jorgearanda on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A Whole Sort of General Mish Mash.
ariebonn on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I was looking forward to read the last book in The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy and find out how it all ended for the characters, but most of all I was hoping that it will be on the same level as the first two books in the series, creative, hilarious and fun to read. Unfortunately it wasn't much of that at all.Fenchurch disappeared in hyperspace and Arthur has been traveling through all possible dimension for a place similar to Earth until he settles on an Earthlike, albeit a little primitive, planet where he makes a huge success as a sandwich maker. Arthur's fate is not to live serene though, and thanks to Ford and his newly found teenage daughter Random, his world is turned upside down once again. Random is his daughter by Trillian and it turns out that she's just as confused as Arthur, especially because of the fact that her mother dropped her here because she simply doesn't have time to take care of her. In the meantime Ford discovers that a huge corporation has bought out The Hitchhiker's Guide and developed a new version with the power to destroy the universe. Naturally he feels that he must stop this insanity.Where do I begin with this book? This series seems to dwindle with every book. The first two books were excellent, but from the third onwards all I have been hoping for is that the next book will be better, but the last book didn't cut it either. I struggled to get though the first part but hung in there, simply because I always want to finish a book once I start it, no matter how bad it is. The second half got better, there was some sort of plot to follow and that raised my hopes a little, until I reached the end and all I could say was, "That's all?" What a dreary ending for these poor characters! Not very impressive. My other complaint about this book and the series in general is how Zaphod was chucked out of the story never to be heard of again. He was my favorite character in the first books and accounted for most of the wittiness, if there was one question I could ask Adams it would be why did he have to get rid of Zaphod!I am glad I managed to finish this series, and I must sadly say that I won't be missing it either. If you've read the other books in this series, then you definitely have to read this one simply to close off the series, however don't set your expectations too high, and if you do end up liking it then that's a plus for you.
pauliharman on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Tolerable tat from an author desperate to kill off a franchise
the.ken.petersen on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Finally, I have read the fifth part of this trilogy! I consumed the first four, almost as they were released but, somehow conspired to miss the last part. So, what do I think of it? It is certainly the best book in the series. I get the feeling that Douglas Adams was probably becoming increasingly keen upon the idea of wrapping up the series and this, the first original storyline to make it to the publishers, does this in a wholly fitting manner. The book has passages that made me laugh out aloud but, perhaps more significantly, areas that left an aching sadness. One wonders how much of his own feelings about his childhood were contained in Random's cry for a state of belonging. The book ends up in an almost nihilistic destruction of everything: the characters, the Hitch Hiker's Guide and, once more, the Earth.Adams finally proved himself capable of producing a worthy novel with this work and I am pleased to have, at last, read it.
Scaryguy on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Adams's writing is mostly hillarious!
leelerbaby on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Douglas Adams writing makes seemingly senseless events seem almost, if not normal at least probable.
ragwaine on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Probably the worst of the series. It was quirky but never evoked more than a chuckle. It was also more confusing than the other books. So the combination of not that funny and confusing didn't work out so well. I am glad to have finally finished a series I started more than 20 years ago just not sure I needed to read this one.
reading_fox on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The definitive end to the trilogy by book 5. The probablilty waveform of Earth is reduced to a flat line in all dimensions. There will be no more hitchHiker books! Despite this its actually a fun read and much better than book 4 which was odd. I can see many of today's corporate business people agreeing with the ideas in here, this is not a good thing!
magnuscanis on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Still pretty funny, but not up to the standard of the earlier books in the series. Perhaps the trilogy should have been left in four parts.
ayork on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This one was not nearly as funny or engaging as the first four. I only gave it 3 stars out of loyalty to the series. Obviously, one should read it if he/she has read the first four in the Hitchhiker's "trilogy," but don't expect great satisfaction.
schteve on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Mostly crap. A sad, bitter finale to the Hitch-Hikers trilogy in 5 parts from a sad, bitter writer.