Moonglow (Darkest London Series #2)

Moonglow (Darkest London Series #2)

by Kristen Callihan

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Moonglow 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 34 reviews.
ConciseReviewsByMichelleL More than 1 year ago
This story takes place in 1883. I will say I was pleasantly surprised with this book. I actually got very involved with the characters of this book. I was a bit lost at times, as I never read the first book, which is based on Daisy’s sister (Miranda), and Daisy is the main character in this one I got ARC copy from NetGalley to review, so I had to wing it without reading the first book (Firelight by Kristen Callihan). The story starts with Daisy finding herself free of the constraints of mourning the cruel husband she hated. She has been so unhappy and gone without for so long. She has a lust for life that is frowned upon by society. She finally goes out to enjoy some life, when at a friend’s party, she is making out with a young man on a balcony, and gets a huge shock, she sees her friends dead body, and ends up living to tell the tale, as the diseased killer attacks her, but gets the young man instead and she gets roughed up a bit. Ian Ranulf is an exiled Lycan. He knows his behavior is not acceptable, and I am assuming his behavior in the first book towards Miranda (Daisy’s sister) and Archer (old friend and married to Miranda) was even worse. He seems to have a jealousy of Archer, but it’s for a different reason that you would first think, I will leave that as a surprise. He is running from ghost of his past and keeps his wolf mollified. Then one night he scents a werewolf and blood—lots of blood with the overlay of disease. Ian works it out quickly that Daisy is in danger from the diseased werewolf, but talking Daisy into accepting his protection is a whole other thing. Daisy has trust issues and she has no intention of trusting him or the attraction she feels for him. Ian would not allow them to have more than a fling, as he will not get into a deep relationship with a mortal again-not ever. Although we will see, there is more to Daisy than we initially think. She has a power all her own. They soon discover greater forces are play than just a mad, sick werewolf, and Ian and Daisy must work to expose them before more people are killed and worse things happen. We get some revelations from Ian’s past which is dangerously close to catching up to him and a few other plots twist that have devastating ramifications that left my heart twisting and aching for Ian and Daisy. The relationship that finally develop between Ian and Daisy is all that I hoped for because of their similar love of adventure and feisty fun along with their great capacity to experience passion. Lots of back and forth on the relationship developing, but it finally happened. We get some twist and turns, and some big discoveries, but all in all, a great story, and I would recommend it to anyone who likes Paranormal Romance’s, especially historical ones. As long as the erotic scenes won’t bother you. The passion that grows between Ian and Daisy is very sweet, and came to really care about them. The ending is sad, but satisfying too. I find myself looking forward to book 3 Winterblaze when it comes out, because it will continue with a plot that was left very open that had to do with Poppy and Winston (Poppy is Daisy’s other sister, and Winston her husband)
gaele More than 1 year ago
AudioBook Review: Stars: Overall 4 Narration: 4 Story 4 Daisy is recently widowed and reveling in the fact that she can now live her own best life. She’s had a bit of rough go, but her sister Miranda has always been her cheerleader, but she’s got secrets too. But after suffering six years at the hands and will of her abusive husband, she’s determined to never be cowed again, and to protect her heart at all costs. After all – who could want her? But, it isn’t long before a series of murders all seem to lead to her (or threaten her) in some way, and she’s got to get over wanting to take care of herself and ask for help. Ian is the Marquis of Northrup, and has managed to not reveal his own secrets to London society, for to do so would be devastating. But, there is a killer who now threatens his secret, and has embroiled the lovely (and now free from encumbrance) Daisy with the repeated murder victims. Ian knows that he can and should investigate, and he also is aware that he should protect and watch over Daisy – so perhaps they can combine the two? There is a ton of emotion and newness here: the world-building and legend of the lycans is unique and clever, other paranormal creatures that I’ve never before seen, from separating werewolves from lycan and twisting up ghosts with her own version of a ‘gim’ or ghost in the machine. When you add in the multiple red-herrings to the mystery, the palpable sexual tension between Ian and Daisy, and the rather sweetly developing romance between them as they come together in very ‘sherlock-like” interactions over the investigations, to the far more charged personal moments as their pasions build, the story just keeps on giving more surprises and moments of delight. Clearly adding to the world in Firelight, the story works alone but taking these two in order does help to build the reader’s impression and understanding of the world of Darkest London. Narration for this story is again provided by Moira Quirk, and she presents a cast of characters that are distinct, unique, and above all, clearly available throughout the story. From tone and delivery changes, to small pauses, emotional moments and carrying the sense of attraction between Daisy and Ian, the story is engaging and hard to put down. I received an AudioBook copy of the title from Hachette Audio for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.
krau0098 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I got an advanced reading copy of this book to review through NetGalley(dot)com. I absolutely adored Firelight and was eager to see what Callihan would come up with next. This was a fun read, Callihan does an excellent job of blending sizzling romance with a solid story and an intriguing world.This book is about Miranda¿s sister Daisy. It¿s been a year since Daisy¿s horrible abusive husband has died and Daisy is finally free to stop mourning. Daisy wants to get back to living and on her first night out as a single woman encounters a horrible murdering werewolf in the ally. Ian Ranulf rescues her and is drawn to Daisy in a way he hasn¿t been drawn to a woman in ages. Together can they solve the mystery of this murdering were and stop him from brutally slaughtering other women?This is a very adult read; lots of violence and lots of sex...not ever together though. Callihan is very good at writing both the fighting scenes and the love scenes; she seriously writes some of the best love scenes I have ever read. The characters are very well done. Daisy is a strong woman who has been harshly abused; but rather than let it tear her apart, she is doing her best to become the woman she wants to be. She is one of those women you can¿t help but admire because she seems so lovely and soft on the outside but has a core of steel. Daisy ends up having some special powers of her own that were intriguing.Ian Ranulf, is a character that most of us hated in the first book. In this book you learn so much more about him. He is a lycan and has lived a long time, as such he has a very complicated past. It was fun to learn more about him and learn what really lay beneath his foppish exterior. Even though the characters are well done they don¿t even begin to touch Miranda and Archer. Those two were just too interesting, too creative, and had such incredible chemistry that they can¿t be topped. Ian and Daisy do develop a sweet relationship that is based on trust (at least as much trust as you can build over the short time period covered in this book). It is very much a protective alpha male guarding his true love kind of thing though. This is something that us paranormal fans have read before and it is kind of a typical relationship to see in these types of books.The world created in this series is incredibly well done. The world grows in complexity in this book. We find more about where Daisy and her sisters got their strange powers. We also find out Poppy is part of a secret organization called the SOS (Suppression of Supernaturals). Additionally we are introduced to GIMs (Ghost in the Machine) which are an absolutely fascinating type of creature that I am dying to learn more about. I also oved how Callihan handled lycan society and how weres are distinctly different form lycans. Shapeshifters were also thrown into the story. This are just so many interesting things in this world and I am dying to learn more about it.Overall an excellent novel. I didn¿t enjoy Daisy and Ian as much as Miranda and Archer; this book didn¿t have the gothic overtone to it that Firelight did. But Daisy and Ian are still well done characters. The love scenes and story are incredibly well done, and the plot and world that backs up the story is fascinating. The world is growing in complexity and I am dying to learn more about some of the fascinating creatures introduced in this novel.
Lavinient on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Daisy is finally finished with the mourning period for her awful dead husband. Now she has the freedom to do what she wants. Unfortunately on her first night of freedom she witnesses a werewolf attack and is able to save herself by hiding. Lycan, Ian Ranulf, comes upon the scene too late to stop the werewolf, but takes Daisy to his home to let her recover and clean up. He is very attracted to Daisy, and once it becomes clear that the werewolf is after Daisy, he becomes very protective. Ian left his pack many years ago. Being alone has taken a toll. He has become jaded of late. Daisy becomes someone he can see settling down with. But her mortality is an issue. Daisy also has her own issues. Her husband really did a number on her and she does have some self worth doubts. She is trying to push past those negative feelings, but it does make her reluctant to get close to Ian.This book had a very different feel to it than the first book in the series, Firelight. There was a lot more mystery to that book. We, and Miranda, had no idea what Archer was hiding behind his mask. In Moonglow, we know Ian is lycan from the beginning. Also, Daisy easily accepts the fact that there are lycan and werewolves because she grew up with a sister who has supernatural powers. Ian pretty much tells her right away what he is. It also didn't feel as dark to me. Ian's flirting and teasing is probably the main reason for this. He's just too adorable to be dark and broody. I did enjoy this one just about as much as Firelight. I wish we could have explored Daisy's discovered power more. This book seemed to focus more on Ian's supernatural side. But overall, it was excellent and I relished getting back into Callihan's magical world.ARC provided through NetGalley.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Can't put these books down! I hope the rest of the series continues to be as impressive, mysterious, and steamy as the first two!
Samantha1020 More than 1 year ago
Why did I wait so long to read this book? I adored Firelight which is the first book in this series but then I never moved on to this one until now. Well actually last year to be exact as this is a book that I read months back and am just now sharing my thoughts on (definitely a different discussion for a later date but my lack of blogging in 2016 is to blame). Moonglow was just as good as I hoped that it would be overall. Once again I found myself swept away by the romance that was brewing, this time between Daisy and Ian. What made this book even better for me was that there was a bit of mystery involved as well. A romance and mystery combined? I'm so in! I loved the relationship that developed between Daisy and Ian...but I especially liked Daisy's character. There is just something about the female characters that Callihan writes that I can't get enough of. What else can I tell you? The author does an amazing job with the world that she is creating. I loved that there is some paranormal aspects mixed in with the historical romance feel. It is a winning combination in my opinion and different from so much out there. My one and only complaint with this book was the ending. This may just be my personal preference but I didn't care for the way the book ended. I obviously can't say much more than that without spoiling anything. I didn't hate the ending by any means but it just wasn't my favorite. The thing is I thought about it for a really long time and I can't see how it would have worked any other way either. So take my opinion with a grain of salt as overall the book is really great! All in all, I found that this book cemented my love of this series! I really, really need to try and read the third book sooner rather than later. I love how different these books are from what's out there in the romance genre. I also love the gorgeous covers! I just plain really love these books and can't say enough good things about this series. I can easily recommend to other romance readers! And the best part is that you really don't need to have read the first book to read this one. Recommended! Bottom Line: Another great addition to this series that is fast becoming a favorite of mine! Disclosure: I received a copy of this book for review thanks to the publisher and NetGalley.
Hfowler More than 1 year ago
Book 2 was a very passionate and intense love affair between Daisy and Ian. We met Ian in book one, he is the one who flirted with and tried to steal Archer's wife (and Daisey's sister) Miranda. There is a werewolf on the loose and Ian rescues Daisy from an attack. From that point on, they are together, inseparable. Their characters were great and well developed. The plot was entertaining and faced paced. Their passion and love was beautiful. I loved every second of this book. Ian was such a strong character and Daisy was the perfect match. But things aren't all flowers and champagne, they must stop a werewolf, keep humans from discovering the existence of supernaturals, stop Ian's brother and king of the Were's from exposing them to the humans, and of course fall in love and prove to each other that they could trust the other. It was a well put together story and I can't think of anything I didn't like about it. I highly recommend this one.
thereadingchick More than 1 year ago
Forgive me but I'm going to gush for a moment. Kristen Callihan's Darkest London series is a fantastically dark, dangerously fun, sexy thrill ride. I enjoyed Moonglow, the second book in the series, just as much as Firelight, the first. The characters are not perfect. They are flawed in the best way possible. They are interesting, and hold my attention to the extent that I am reading each page like I eat a piece of chocolate cake, savoring each bite and disappointed when my plate is clean. I had loved the brief moments that Daisy appeared in Firelight. She was funny, irreverent, brassy, and I thought, stole the show from her sister, Miranda, who that book was centered around. I am very happy to say that she was just as interesting in Moonglow, and I loved how the author didn't hold anything back. Her love interest in Moonglow was the evil character from Firelight, Ian Rathburn, the Marquis of Northrup. We find out that he isn't so evil after all. He is a Lycan, who has given up his pack to live a "normal" life, tortured by the death of his wife and son. Daisy and Ian had instant chemistry, but their dialog was what I enjoyed the most. They had a delicious sense of humor that was a joy to read, the author describing every lift of an eyebrow or coquettish glance through eyelashes. The mystery in Moonglow was thrilling. A mad werewolf is hunting down women who wear Daisy's one of a kind perfume. Daisy, playing Sherlock to Ian's Holmes, very smartly follows the clues that ultimately lead them into the path of the werewolf. Ian, protective of her from the start, pits himself against that villain, as well as facing off against his brother, now the Alpha of clan Ranulf, a subplot that gives the reader insight into Ian's background. The conclusion to this story is a satisfying end, leaving the reader looking forward to the third novel in this series, which will revolve around the third sister Poppy and her husband the officer investigating this crime. Luckily for me, this is an old series, and there are six books already published, with the seventh to be released in June.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved this book!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am disappointed in this nook. I loved the first book in the series and couldnt wait to read this one. It was nowhere near as good as the first. Characters werent as interesting, storyline bland, just never grabbed me. I'll give book three a try and hope for better.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Patokagwp More than 1 year ago
This was an interesting book. It was rather uneven towards the end. In fact, the end was rather a let down as it felt a bit too contrived. The beginning and middle were good. It was not as compelling (making you want the next page more than sleep) as other books; but it did make you return again and again until you were done. The characters were a bit too blind. Too many hints about past trials and not enough present. The author needed to stop hinting and to spell it out. She made too much of a mystery about things that should have been told in full sooner than what she did. You were almost more in the dark than the characters. Still, I've read worse and the author shows a lot of promise. She has a great story idea in this book. The editor should have worked with her more.
Meli_Green More than 1 year ago
As much as I adored the story of Archer and Miranda from Firelight, I was equally as taken with Ian and Daisy in Moonglow. Even though Ian had the propensity to act like a cad in Firelight, there was something about him that I was very intrigued with. Ian has a lot of dark secrets, and a lot of charm and personality, too. He was a character I liked in Firelight, and a character I grew to love in Moonglow. I admit it: My favorite scenes of this book were the love scenes. They were long, sexy, and just explicit enough. I also loved Daisy, who was a great combination of sweet and strong. I appreciate that the author gave me a new protagonist who was so unlike the protagonist in the first book but just as lovable. For one, the supernatural aspect is increased almost exponentially. Where it was once just Miranda and her fire-starting capabilities, the mystery that was Archer, and the reveal of Ian as a werewolf - now it is a veritable monster-mash. Some of said supernatural are the usual fare, and some were... utterly unique and unusual. And had me going, "Huh. Well, that's interesting." But it almost became a case of too much all at once. There is a lot of mythology thrown at you in one novel. You're learning about werewolves, their clans and rules and customs, and then vampires enter the picture and then something else and something else and then two or three others. It made me long for the simplicity of Firelight and yet... I really want to learn more about two of the new supernaturals. I mean, move over vamps and weres - I want more GIMs. The story does bring back Archer and Miranda as well as Poppy and Winston in minor roles which was nice to see them all again. Moonglow, the second Darkest London book, has a different texture than its predecessor Firelight, which was slower-paced yet sizzled with sexual tension. What you'll find in this second installment is nice balance of mystery, murder, romance, and expanded world-building set in alternate reality Victorian England. Secrets and monsters are underlying themes. So, in my humble opinion, this one was as good as or better than book one. They both are some of the best blend of historical and paranormal out there. I am eager to get to book three, Winterblaze when it comes out because it’s going to continue with a plot thread that was left jarringly open to do with Poppy and Winston.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
RaeLynn_Fry More than 1 year ago
Rating: R Spoilers: Nope Coffee Beans: 3.5 Cover: Pretty cool Instalove Factor: None My Personal Recommendation: Worth the read Disclaimer: I received this book free from the publisher in exchange for this honest review Oops. So, I’ve had this book since about June, I think. Read it and then completely spaced writing the review. So, here I go. Moonglow is the second book in the Darkest London series, after Firelight. I loved the first in the series sooo much that I hopped on NetGalley to request this one. I wanted to know what happened to the sister. I think the thing I especially liked about this book was the relationship between Daisy and Ian. They hate each other and are forced to work together to solve a crime and keep her alive, but they don’t like it. One bit. Okay, maybe they like it a little. Okay, a lot. But that’s the fun. We know they like each other, but refuse to let the other one know it. As body counts rise, Daisy realizes she has to trust and rely on Ian to keep her safe, and Ian has to let down his guard and be brave enough to love again and strong enough to make the hardest decision he’s ever had to make. Moonglow is a good, fast read with an interesting plot and fun characters. Pick it up and fall in love with Daisy and Ian.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
csingh More than 1 year ago
The "Darkest London" series continues with Daisy's story. Daisy is a widow who is flying free for the first time, and she hasn't even fully extended her wings when she witnesses a werewolf attack. Marquis Northrup, Ian Ranulf just happens to be strolling in the vicinity when he catches the scent of the unknown werewolf. When Ian realizes the werewolf is after Daisy, and his secrets are in danger of being revealed, he resolves to keep her safe. Both Daisy and Ian who initially dislike each other, find that they are drawn to each other as they spend more time together. But will the killer werewolf separate them, and what secrets are they keeping from each other? The second book in the "Darkest London" series by Kristen Callihan, and her sophomore release, is a fantastic book. Kristen Callihan does a phenomenal job of taking what she started with Firelight and elevating it to new heights. She manages to seamlessly not only tell Daisy and Ian's story, but also build another world as well, without overloading the reader with information. The story flows freely and never hits a low point, but keeps Daisy and Ian were wonderful people to read about and relate to. Daisy bears both mental and physical scars, as does Ian. Both hide the pains of the past under veneers of joie de vivre or ennui. It's a treat to watch them realize that there is more to them beyond what they see and know. Daisy is weary of Ian because she knows he wanted Miranda and doesn't want to be his consolation prize. Ian is fighting his true nature and leaving his duties as an alpha of his pack. Miranda and Benjamin appear in this book as supporting characters and it is good to see them as more than a fleeting mention. Winterblaze, the third book in this series is due to be released at the end of February 2013, and having been given hints as to what the book will be about, I find that waiting for it to be released will be the hardest part. Kristen Callihan has found a way to make her second book as equally spectacular as her first book and so my expectations for the third book are high.
linnylouwo More than 1 year ago
While I did enjoy reading Moonglow, Kristen Callihan's second book in her Darkest London series, I was never as engaged in the story as I was in her first book, Firelight. The couple in this story is Daisy, Miranda's older sister, and Ian, the lycan who was trying to win Miranda's heart in Firelight. I didn't find the couple or their story as interesting as Miranda and Archer. The second half of the story was more engrossing than the first half and I found myself actually looking forward to reaching the conclusion and solving the mystery. If this had been the first book in the series I doubt that I would have read another of this author's books. However, given the quality of her first book, Firelight, I will pick up the third book in the series and hope that it is as refreshing as the first.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
KimberlySouza More than 1 year ago
“Moonglow” by, Kristen Callihan Daisy Ellis is finally free of her abusive marriage and she just wants to enjoy being a widow; but when a night out turns into a nightmare, Daisy’s life quickly spins out of control. After witnessing a grizzly attack and narrowly escaping death Daisy is rescued and taken to safety by Ian Ranulf, the Marquis of Northrup. Daisy and Ian are both hiding dangerous secrets and with a mysterous killer on the loose they have to decide weather or not to trust one another. “Moonglow” is the second book in the “Darkest London” series. (The first book is called “Firelight”) In this series you will find immortals, magic, shifters, werewolves, and other supernatural characters. The setting for this series is early London and it has a steampunk feel to it that I enjoy. However, what really drew me into this story was the sexual tension between Daisy and Ian (steamy doesn’t begin to cover it). This couple had a great back and forth banter throughout the story and the tender moments were extremely satisfying. I am a big fan of strong female characters. Daisy walks with confidence and isn’t afraid to kick some butt. I am also drawn to the strong damaged male character, but I appreciated that Ian was able to say that he was scared and that he needed Daisy (instead of just wallowing in a dark corner). I am also really excited to read more about some of the characters that were introduced in “Moonglow” (Winston and Talent). This series is great for anyone who loves historical or paranormal romance books. I eagerly await the next book in the series!