Monsters: The 1985 Chicago Bears and the Wild Heart of Football

Monsters: The 1985 Chicago Bears and the Wild Heart of Football

by Rich Cohen

NOOK Book(eBook)

$9.99 View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Monsters: The 1985 Chicago Bears and the Wild Heart of Football 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 14 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I thoroughly enjoyed this book being a life long fan of the Bears and Cubs. The memories and feelings of being a Chicago spoets fan described are mine as well. Great job, Rich.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
You do not have to be a fan of football to enjoy this book. You just need to like men that never want to grow up. ~*~LEB~*~
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a fantastic book. If you followed the bears at any time in the 80's or football for that matter, you will get a kick out of it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Barbara4 More than 1 year ago
I heard that this book was a good read & very interesting. Since we are all BEARS fans, I decided to order 3 of them - 1 for my Husband & 1 for each of our Son's. It arrived in plenty of time for Christmas, so I surprised each of them with the book as a added Christmas Gift.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is an easy read and very entertaining. However, I some of the facts from his research are wrong which makes me question the rest of his research. He states that the 1963 bears championship game was in the pole grounds in NYC and the bloodied picture of YA Tittle was from that game. The 1963 championship was played in Wrigley Field and the bloodied picture of Tittle was from a 1964 regular season Giants game with Pittsburgh
sunshine60 More than 1 year ago
Easy to read and njoyable. This book covered the team and players that I used to watch and listen to as a kid.
HenryBeemis More than 1 year ago
This book was obviously written by a fan of Chicago, not just the Chicago Bears but the entire city. He had all the right names, and it's obvious he misses the city, as do I. He had me when he quoted Ecclesiastes on Vanity. Cohen has written an excellent book that includes a history of the team. If you want to read a book with a true flavor of the subject as well as the setting, this is it.
REB More than 1 year ago
I'm only part way into this book and I have a mixed review, overall good. The backgrounds of the various characters, especially Poppa Bear Halas, is valuable and I'm looking forward to additional bios. However, the author presents a somewhat distorted view of the history of football. The basic T formation actually preceded the single wing and apparently he doesn't know much about that fabled formation or it's personnel. The left half or tailback handled the duties of the T quarterback except for calling plays. Also key were the blocking back/quarterback and the center who had to hike a wide variety of passes. The T formation shown on p. 71 is illegal with 6 men in the backfield. Both the tight end and right side WR should be up on the line as well as the backs were usually split rather than in the I formation. Such quibbles aside, it's a good book. A must read for any Bears fan and for those who want to understand us better. Our family came of age football wise with the '85 Bears, including my wife who had ignored it until then. Our kids were teenagers and we and their friends cheered our way through the eventful season (including one friend who died very prematurely just before the Super Bowl). My copy was a birthday present and I've already given copies to my "kids" (now in their 40s). I don't have their reactions as yet.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of the best I have ever read.  I have written three books on pro players I personally interviewed have many interviews on tape and would like very much to talk with Rich Cohen Bud Buczkowske 530-289-3315 530-2873287 123 Main Street Alleghany, CA 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Bears all the way!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago