The Messenger (Gabriel Allon Series #6)

The Messenger (Gabriel Allon Series #6)

by Daniel Silva

Paperback(Tall Rack Paperback - Reprint)

$9.99 View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, November 15

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Messenger (Gabriel Allon Series #6) 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 121 reviews.
WIBruno More than 1 year ago
I have read them in order and each one is very good. Seeing the world from Silva's point of view has added a lot to my understanding of what is happening in the world. Fiction, yes, but more that just a story.
Man_Of_La_Book_Dot_Com More than 1 year ago
The Mes­senger by Daniel Silva is the sixth novel in the Gabriel Allon series. Allon is an Israeli agent who is more inter­ested in restor­ing works of art than the world of espionage. When an al Qaeda oper­a­tive is killed inLon­don, some pho­tographs are found on his com­puter and the Israeli intel­li­gence sus­pects that the group is plan­ning a big attack aimed directly at theVatican. Israeli agent Gabriel Allon finds him­self in a bat­tle of wits against dan­ger­ous men which takes him on a hunt across Europe. The Mes­sen­ger by Daniel Silva is more of a thriller than the pre­vi­ous five books. The book is quite vio­lent and Allon’s ruth­less­ness comes out in sev­eral highly charged scenes. While I didn’t think The Mes­sen­ger was the best in the series, it did fill in some miss­ing gaps in the rela­tion­ships between the char­ac­ters. As in many book series this one also is a stand­alone, but it’s always nice to read them in order. I was glad to read about the return of Chiara, Allon’s love inter­est which we lost in the pre­vi­ous book. I also loved the way Silva wrote the Pope (“the” Pope, not some mob­ster or ter­ror­ist with a nick­name), he was approach­able and seemed like a good leader. Silva incor­po­rated cur­rent events into this book (and sev­eral oth­ers), such as the ten­sions between Chris­tian­ity and Islam and the con­cerns of the Pope who is try­ing to build rela­tion­ships, yet stands to lose his life because of them. As much as I love cur­rent events in books, what I dis­like is cur­rent events like plot devices which never actu­ally hap­pened. Mix­ing up cur­rent events with the destruc­tion of St. Peter’s basil­ica sim­ply didn’t ring true for me. Over the past two years, I have been intro­duced to Daniel Silva and have read most of his books. If you fol­low my blog you know that I am a fan and think that Silva is one of the best espi­onage authors work­ing today. How­ever, in this book his writ­ing seemed to lack a lit­tle – not much mind you, but I could tell the dif­fer­ence from pre­vi­ous books. That being said, this book is cer­tainly is still highly rec­om­mended. Once Allon enters the page, the strengths of Silva in plot­ting and writ­ing come to full power and fruition. The story becomes a grip­ping page turner and I could not put it down.
fred5962 More than 1 year ago
As a reader of the Gabriel Allon series, I'm prejudiced. Grest suspense.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I thought the story of the Messenger was a great read. The story reads well and is very intriguing.Heard he was a very good writer and really like this book.It was interesting from start to finish. I think it would be a good movie.
Guest More than 1 year ago
If you like super-spy novels and lose yourself in fiction, then pick up any book in the Gabriel Allon series today. Although the books in the series reference each other, they can be read out of order, but they reveal the outcome of the previous novels. So, if you like surprises, read them in order. I enjoy reading Silva. The novels are well written. They are fiction but incorporate real places and when I'm reading them I can picture the scenes and imagine the heart-pumping action. Silva describes the terrorists in a way that makes you think they are real... it is part of our current world and although it is fiction, it is applicable to the times. Gabriel is one of my favorite anti-terrorist superhero's. Enjoy!
Guest More than 1 year ago
To those reviewers who gave this book a negative review: IT'S FICTION. Gabriel Allon can be larger than life because IT'S FICTION. It's make believe. I'm not offended by the author's position about the war in Iraq and not only because I agree with it. THIS IS A WORK OF FICTION. Read it, enjoy it, forget it
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have been reading the author's books on the Israeli spy and found this one the best. More interesting story to see the old hand bringing a newbie into the world of agents, surveillance, false identity, and danger.
Guest More than 1 year ago
In order to really understand this book you need to read all of Silvas's books with the character Allon. He style is like no other and his many plots are to say the least will hold all your interest. I think that there is more truth than poetry to all his incounters. His view of the world situation is good and his research on the subject is very well done. He always pinpoints the connection between the Jewish communties and the Vatican as well as the Nazi of WWll, but he also points out the connection between the Arabs and the Nazi against all the allies.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Daniel Silvas best Gabriel Allon book yet.He can say more in one sentence than Tom Clancy can say in an entire chapter.This book really reminds me of LeCarres 'Little Drummer Girl',and is just as good if not better.
Guest More than 1 year ago
While I have thought all his books were excellent, he really excelled at this one. It was his best to date and had me so entralled that I read it in record time.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The story is great. With the current political and social situation in Israel and surrounding area it make it all the more interesting. I actually was at the door waiting for BN to open so I could but it, and I'm already waiting for the next installment.
Anonymous 7 months ago
Anonymous 9 months ago
another good one , number 6 in the Gabriel all on series . I am ordering number seven now
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fantastic read. Recommended!!!! Silva delivers. Go along for the journey and escape for a time!!! You will enjoy the ride! Thomas from Canton, Ga.
PghDragonMan on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
While not the best of the Gabriel Allon, series, The Messenger is enjoyable. Set earlier in the series¿ chronology than some of the others I¿ve read, this book fills in some of the relationships and characters referenced in the later works. While not essential to have read the series in order, it is nice to see where these missing pieces came from.The pacing for this book was not as fast as others, but there was a lot of attention to detail. The action climax is not at the end of the story, but before the end, something of a disappointment for me. I did like that at the conclusion, all the loose ends are wrapped up, the bad guys are vanquished and the good guys win.If you are a fan of Gabriel Allon and his usual associates, this is a must read. For spy aficionados, there are better choices, but this is still a satisfying read. Short of a full four stars, but definitely above average.
debs4jc on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Art dealer and Israeli operative Gabriel Allon embarks on a mission to take down a terrorist who funded an attack on the Vatican. To do this he needs a Van Gogh painting and an American women to infiltrate "Jihad, Inc.", the network of the Saudi businessman who is a known associate of the target. They need this American, Sarah, to ID their target so they can take him out. This sets up quite an exciting story with a lot of spycraft. Silva also puts a lot of detail into his scenes, and some political grandstanding by the characters, which slows things down. I found myself often wishing he would get back to the story. So keep that in mind if you try this one out, especially if you like really fast paced books. The narrator did an excellent job, handling all the foreign accents and names with skill.
smik on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A daring attack on the Pope and the semi-destruction of St. Peter's Basilica leads to an alliance, even if it has to be a secret one, between Israeli and American anti-terrorist squads with the aim of ridding the world of two of its most powerful and evil men.For Sarah Bancroft, once rejected by the CIA as an agent after 9/11, there is no hesitation when she is invited to be part of the team that brings Ahmed Bin Shafiq down by infiltrating the household of a Saudi billionaire and art collector named Abdul Aziz al-Bakari.THE MESSENGER is #6 in Daniel Silva's Gabriel Allon series. Although I was aware that I had begun mid-series, I felt that THE MESSENGER stood well on its own. The author leaks just enough background information into the main story so that the reader/listener is not left feeling out in the cold, as it were.THE MESSENGER is a thriller, rather than crime fiction. There's quite a bit of violence, because Gabriel Allon is pretty ruthless. But there are some very highly charged scenarios, and at least one time that Gabriel appears to be done for, although you suspect he'll survive, just, because, after all, this is only book 6 in a 10 book series isn't it?
Joycepa on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
6th in the Gabriel Allon series.Allon¿s cover has been blown, and he is now working as an art restorer in Israel. But Ari Shamron, Israel¿s ex-officio overseer of Israeli Intelligence, wants Gabriel to get back into the Service, as director of Special Ops. He shows Gabriel some interesting images taken off the laptop of a Palestinian agent: they are of the Vatican and Pope Paul VII, and are excellent indicators that both are targets for a massive terrorist attack. Monseignor Luigi Donati, the pope¿s private secretary is at that moment on his way to Jerusalem to meet with Allon to discuss the seriousness of the situation and the steps to be taken.Allon goes to Rome, where he participates in the heightened security arrangements and tries to determine how the attack will be carried out. During an outdoor audience in St. Peter¿s Square, a terrorist attack occurs, which nearly kills the pope and succeeds in blowing a massive hole in the dome of St. Peter¿s Basilica.So begins the story. I had a hard time with this book initially because in general I dislike books that have as a central part of the plot an event in modern times that never happened. I can take a different pope¿not a problem¿but blowing up St. Peter¿s? It¿s not that I think it an unlikely event; it¿s just that it didn¿t happen, and I don¿t like stories that depend on such plot devices. It also seemed to me that Silva¿s writing was not up to his usual standard.But once Allon gets into the field, all of Silva¿s strengths in plotting and writing such stories come to the fore. The story turned into a typical Silva gripping thriller, a page-turner, where you race through the book, tension at the max, to find out what happens next. Silva is at his best with the action-adventure parts; the characters are good enough to serve his plot purposes.While I feel that this is not the best book in the series, it¿s certainly no slouch, so long as you can overlook fictional events happening to famous landmarks that re crucial to the plot. I found it hard to swallow, but otherwise thought the book was excellent.Highly recommended.
dspoon on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Gabriel Allon, art restorer and spy, is about to face the greatest challenge of his life. An al- Qaeda suspect is killed in London, and photographs are found on his computer. Photographs that lead Isreali intelligence to suspect that al- Qaeda is planning one of its most audacious attacks ever, aaimed straight at the heart of the Vatican. Allon and his colleagues soon find themselves in a deadly duel of wits against one of the most dangerous men in the world and a hunt that will take them across Europe to the Caribbean and back. But for them, there may not be enough of anything: enough time, enough facts, enough luck. All Allon can do is set his trap and hope that he is not the one caught in it.
Suuze on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Interesting mystery, and for me a quick read. However, it's *very* realistic about our country, our world, and how terrorism will affect us all. Scary. People that have no consciences terrify me because there's no humanity in them.I liked it because it was hard to put down - the author kept you dangling and wanting to find out more.Nice 'in between' book...
theportal2002 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Another fantastic book. The only sad part is that character development is hitting it's peak and I can sense the ending over the horizon. I hope Gabriel Allon lasts long enough to be the next James Bond!
MSWallack on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Perhaps it was because I was reading this novel during breaks from watching the news coverage of the Israeli-Hezbollah war, but I found this book to be quite compelling. In several respects, the story reminded me a bit of The Little Drummer Girl (by John LeCarre). I've gotten to know Gabriel Allon so well by now, that reading about him has become like reading about a dear friend. My early criticisms about not knowing the character have obviously been resolved; much like many people, it simply took a long time to really get to know and understand Allon.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Highly recommended to all Allon fans. Another page turner.
miss_dobie More than 1 year ago
Anything written by Daniel Silva is exciting and beyond a great value in a reading experience. His characters are human and make you want to be friends with them. His stories are fast-paced and exciting. And even tho Gabriel Allon is a spy, Daniel Silva writes in such a way that anyone can easily follow along and understand what's going on and why. Gabriel is one of the most famous characters ever written about and we never want his story to end. The stories are so well written that you have finished the book before you know it. And to say that Daniel Silva is one of the greatest writers of our time, is probably a very big understatement. His writing is fluid and flawless and easy to read. You never have to read a sentence twice. If you haven't already read a Daniel Silva story, you are truly missing out on a great reading experience.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I just can't get enough of Gabriel Allon. Keep writing, Daniel Silva!