A Merry Heart (Brides of Lancaster County Series #1)

A Merry Heart (Brides of Lancaster County Series #1)

by Wanda E. Brunstetter

NOOK Book(eBook)

$5.99 $6.99 Save 14% Current price is $5.99, Original price is $6.99. You Save 14%. View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Merry Heart (Brides of Lancaster County Series #1) 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 24 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love Wanda Brunstetter books but this one, not so much. This was the most miserable whining heroine ever. I get that it was part of the story but it was not easy to get into the story with such a miserable main character.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I want to recommend this book. It lifts your own spirt and makes you apreciate your life. I am not going to write a paragraph about the book, like some choose to do. I just want you to read this, you won't regret it
Anonymous 9 months ago
Loving story of faithfulness and patience. Proof and trust took time.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book!Easy read!
wearylibrarian on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Miriam Stoltzfus has been dumped by the man she expected to marry and it has turned her into a spinster with a cold heart who teaches school.Amos Hilty is in love with Miriam and has been since they were children. Miriam has always loved William so Amos turned to another woman, married, and had one child, Mary Ellen. Now Amos, a widower, once again has eyes for Miriam, but she thinks he wants her only as a mother to his daughter. When an English reporter comes to town, Amos finds that he has competition for Miriam's heart.Miriam's niece has a tragic accident at the school house that leaves her in a wheelchair. the accident not only changes Rebecca's life Miriam's as well.I felt myself pulling for Miriam to open her eyes and listen to God's plan for her life. It's a good read but I did get frustrated when Miriam took so long to listen.
julie.billing on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
While it was very predictable (as many others said), I did like the style and I have a soft spot for Amish novels, not sure why. I would have appreciated a little more depth on the characters, but yet I did like the book, and will probably give the 2nd in the series a try. THe fact that it was on audiobook probably does make a difference.
PattiABond More than 1 year ago
A Merry Heart Brides of Lancaster County Book 1 A Merry Heart ties in with the Bible verse found in Proverbs 17:22 A merry heart doeth good like medicine:but a broken spirit drieth the bones. The story focus on Miriam Stolzfus, an Amish schoolteacher who is left with a broken heart after she is jilted by her longtime boyfriend, William Garber. Miriam is left very bitter from this failed relationship and very unfilled with her life. She is so bitter that she suffers from severe headaches. She is given the c;hance to love again when widower Amos Hilty shows an interest in her; but can Miriam put the past behind her and learn to trust in the Lord again and learn to love. Personally I think Wanda Brunstetter did a very good job in writing this book. She shows us how bitterness can overtake our life and how one can suffer from his or her bitterness
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed the read- recommend this
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Its a nice story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I ENJOYED this book and the others in the series It was a good leisure read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
harstan More than 1 year ago
At one time Miriam Stolfus believed that her true love William Graber would come back for her when he left for Ohio. Instead he never returned to their Amish community, ending her dreams with a Dear Miriam letter in which he informed her he has fallen in love and will marry Lydia Stutzman. In spite of her mom constantly quoting Proverbs 17.22, Miriam has a troubled spirit and heavy heart that even her students notice. She is a twenty-six years old spinster who is often a cross teacher with a short fuse, Widower Amos Hilty has loved Miriam since they were children, but she had eyes only for William. He married but his wife passed away. Amos raises their six years old daughter Mary Ellen mostly by himself though the community is there for him. Though her beloved momma insists Amos would Make a good husband, Miriam believes he only wants her as a mother to Mary Ellen. He has competition with English reporter Nick, but Miriam¿s bitter heart refuses to let go of William¿s betrayal. However, she begins to reconsider her values when her niece Rebekiah is severely injured in an accident. --- This is a somewhat expanded reprint of the first Lancaster Brides¿ tale though this reviewer does not know how much differs from the ten years old original. Miriam is the star as she stereotypes all men as betrayers in spite of the males in her extended family like papa proving otherwise. The interesting story line provides insight into the Amish community through the lead protagonist¿s perspectives and relationships. The support cast adds to the overall discerning glimpse at a 'bah humbug' female who begins to understand God¿s messages of A MERRY HEART after precocious young niece became wheelchair bound. --- Harriet Klausner
LovinClassics1 More than 1 year ago
Hey, I haven't read this yet but a lot of people told me that this is a good series and a lot of people think that this is whiney. Please tell which one it is. And what age it is appropriate for. And what book in this series you like the best and why. Please tell me these things as soon as possible. Thank you for reading and tell me what star I should give this because right now I am just doing my thoughts with stars on the title, cover, and reviews. Thank you!