Maud's Line

Maud's Line

by Margaret Verble

NOOK Book(eBook)

$8.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Maud's Line 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 8 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I went into this story knowing almost nothing about it-the book was on sale; and good thing that it was because there was no description/synopsis, and only one lonely review encouraging other readers to buy it, which is why I'm going out of my way to write my own honest review. Maud, is the type of MC that sticks with you inbetween readings as you go about your day, & is impossible not to love and feel a connection to no matter who you are-in other words, the authors successfully & deftly created a MC character that almost anyone can relate to, along with quite a few supporting characters that remind us of others we may know in our own life(many within our own family). Its the perfect length, easy to read, heartwarming and honest, and guaranteed to teach you something of Oklahoma's past, and what it may have been like to grow up & live there as a Native American with so much change and growth taking place in our country at that time-i.e. 1927-1929. There's love found and love lost, humor and sadness, death and birth, pain and joy, and most of all...there is hope. This is a story of hope and worth every penny.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved her story. Her spirit was beautiful. Even through all her hardships.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Could't put this one down, and I hope I'll see more by this author. I loved the story of Maude!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Had no idea what to expect but this bood didn't disappoint. Looked forward to each chapter.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This window into the lives of a group of first nations people set in rural Oklahoma is visceral and heart wrenching. The story of Maud transports the reader to a time and culture that many of us have really never heard about before. We see into the very personal, very poor, and extremely unjust world of American "Indians" in early 19th century North America and it's bleak and painful. The story is told with sensitivity and simplicity in a way that seems well-matched to the culture of the people and time. I'm of tribal American descent but completely disconnected from the culture and it sometimes haunts me how little I know of it and how ignorant I am of what life must have been like. I don't know how accurate that part of the story is but based on my grandparents lives in a small impoverished mining town in Arizona- it felt familiar and true. The interplay between "white" people and the reach for whiteness among some tribal people in this story was particularly intriguing to me. It seemed likely. I was also thinking there must be so much story to tell without any white side to it.. and then, would it sell? I'm going to read more by this author and I'm going to keep searching for literature on the life of tribal groups in North America, as well as work by women, about strong women.
Mirella More than 1 year ago
Maud's line is a tale about the author's own family. The story is set in beautiful Oklahoma, and delves into the culture of the First People of the land and the settlers of the era. The story includes all the expected hardships: hazards, dangers, illnesses - mental and physical, and the violence of the wild American west. The writing is simple to fall into and the story has many fascinating characters. Unfortunately, the heroine, Maud, came across as selfish and prone to foolish decisions. Nevertheless, the story is a portrait of the times and a good history of Oklahoma. Thank you to the author and publisher. I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.
YoyoMitch More than 1 year ago
I usually do not give Five-Star reviews. If one EVER deserved one, this is the book! From the opening words of this novel, I had the inkling that this was to be a book of unusual quality. The cadence, tone, pacing, characters all created a picture of life on a Native American farming allotment in Oklahoma of such vibrence and precision that it was almost a physical experience. This book is beautiful in the way a thunderstorm holds beauty in its fierceness or in the way a heavy rain can transform a newly-tilled field into an art work of erosion – amazing to behold, difficult to witness. It is the kind of book that will make the next book read to be dull and colorless, regardless of how good that book may be. Maud Nail, direct descendent of those who walked The Trail of Tears from Georgia to Oklahoma, lives with her brother, Lovely, and her father, Mustard (so named because of his temper) on her deceased mother’s allotment. Her extended family live on the surrounding land – all making a living out of the dusty, rich soil given to them in exchange for homes taken from them. Her steady, routine life is forever changed when someone takes an axe to one of the family’s cows. That act of senseless violence sets off a chain of events so dynamic in their impact that Maud is left feeling like an unwelcomed stranger on her own land. Those feelings of detachment are only intensified when a handsome peddler (Booker) drives up with his wagon-full of wares covered in striking blue canvas. Maud loves her farm and her family. She attends to her daily chores without delay or rancor, helps with the farming that will bring what little cash can be had in that part of the world and visits her relatives when time and work allow for such enjoyments. The death of Betty (the cow) is a point of focus of just how small her life really is. The response to this attack on the family and its’ livelihood is expectedly harsh and coincides with the feelings of love she is beginning to have for one outside of her clan. Both occasions are moments of change for Maud. Protecting her family, she knows, requires sacrifice unasked for but nonetheless expected. The growing love she has for Booker awakens her to the demands such feelings make – honesty, transparency, trust of one not blood-kin. In response to each of these moments, Maud takes action; she makes one situation far worse for those she hoped to protect, she acts in the other in a manner that is new for her but one that will lead her further from the certainty she once held in ease. The reader is follows Maud as she goes about living her life in a time of change for her. The riches Oklahoma is experiencing has a feeling of permanence – the oilfields are making everyone connected with them wealthy, farmers are having bumper crops of corn and wheat with a ready market, the Creek and Cherokee nations, exiled to a foreign land, are accomplishing to live on their own. The love Maud learned in her home and within her community is expanding in ways that are new but seem natural and she learns that it is very good. She is wanted by two desirable men who are near opposites, one offers the “future,” the other offers the stability of what she already knows. Maud is the representation of the Nation during that age. Hopeful for more, holding to the past. This is a novel written for adults. There is graphic violence and
JazzFeathers More than 1 year ago
I normally don’t read literary fiction (I’m a genre reader through and through), but this story immediately caught my attention for its setting and the characters. This is the story of a young Cherockee woman trying to find her path in life in the years immediately before the Great Depression. Maud immediately hooked me as a character, although she gets two different incarnation in the course of the story. In the first half, she’s a strong-willed young woman with very clear ideas about what she wants and the way to get it. What I really liked about her is that she always tries to get her way, so she’s willing to lie and to deceive in order to get her goals, but she’s always careful of the pain she may cause. This is particularly true for her romance with Booker who’s not an Indian. I particularly enjoyed the very subtle cultural differences between them and the way Maud handles it, with care and awareness. I liked the fact that while she is a manipulative woman, she always does that in a good way, and by this I mean trying to do the right thing. This is true with her brother Lovely too (his arc is my favourite part in the novel, with him probably going mad and trying to handle it) and with the murder that happened in the very first part of story, which kept me reading. The first part of story was full of mystery and secrets and I loved it. It was character- and plot driven. I read it without pauses. The second part of the story is very different. A couple of character disappear. A couple of mysteries are swiftly ‘solved’ and that took away a big chunk of appeal for me. But above all, Maud changes enormously as a character as she progressively falls into depression and becomes more selfish and self-absorbed. I won’t say this isn’t realistic, because it is. It just detached me from her, because she shifts from a relatable character (for me at least) to a less relatable one. In the second part of the novel, Maud becomes interested only in herself and I had a hard time watching her caring about no one but herself. As I said, this is realistic, particularly in the place and time period of the story, but for me as a reader it was kind of a shame. I still liked the book a lot. It’s very well crafted, and so vivid. The author set it in a place she knows very well (in fact that’s where her family has always lived) and based part of the story on real people and real events (thought most of the story is fictional). And you can feel this. Descriptions are so real, so vivid and so personal that you have no problem believing you’re there in Oklahoma with Maud, and I particularly enjoyed the family portrait, the different people, the way they relate to each other. It’s a deeply involving story, whether you connect with Maud or not. Recommended.