Master of His Fate: A House of Falconer Novel

Master of His Fate: A House of Falconer Novel

by Barbara Taylor Bradford

Hardcover

$26.09 $28.99 Save 10% Current price is $26.09, Original price is $28.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, December 9

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Master of His Fate: A House of Falconer Novel 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 14 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Look forward to the next book in this new series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved loved loved this beautiful love story. Surprising in many ways yet happily predictable. A must read. Another BTB fantastic book! Thank you!
Holly More than 1 year ago
I'm not much for books with a Victorian flare to it but this one, captured my attention in a way that others didn't. You have these two families with totally different backgrounds that come together in a way that will leave you wanting more. First off, James Falconer has this dream of becoming a merchant king but over the course of his life, he has to overcome difficulties in his path to his dream. Then you have this woman named Alexis who is totally independent, rich and doesn't want to get married to those who love her. It's only when fate brings both James & Alexis together that we are left for what might be a romance brewing in the next book in this series. The book was well written but for myself, I felt that there was too many characters in it for me to fully love this story and where it might be headed to in the future. That ending though completely took me by surprise on what may happen since Alexis is totally independent but it's totally going to be worth it just reading what happens next for this soon to be couple, I hope! Thank You to Barbara Taylor Bradford for this good read that will keep me coming back for more!! I voluntarily reviewed a complimentary copy of this book from Suzy Approved Book Tours!
Deb_from_Oz More than 1 year ago
I found this not up to the usual standard that I expect of Barbara Taylor Bradford it came across as very formal and stilted just didn't seem to flow the way her previous books The premise for the series is good and I will try further books in this series as sometimes the first in series can be stilted as the characters of the further books are built This story is the story of James Falconer a barrow boy who dreams of owning his own emporium and his interactions with various members of the aristocracy during his socal climb. The book as a bit of a MR Selfridge type feel for me
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book and I’m so glad it is part of a series! I want to know where Alexis and James go from here! Looking forward to the next book...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Will look forward to see where Barbara goes in the development of these new characters. Victorian England was an interesting time which leaves a rich backdrop of history.
AmberK1120 More than 1 year ago
Thanks to the publisher for sending me a free copy of the book. Ok, let’s start by saying this: BTB knows how to write historical fiction you can sink your teeth into. Her storylines and characters are woven together into such gorgeous webs, you can’t help but to lose yourself in the pages. As with many series, this book serves almost as an appetizer, whetting your tongue for what’s to come in the rest of books. I’ve read some reviews that said this book would be best described as the back stories of Alexis and James, and I can agree with that. You get a lot of info on these two, and you can feel the story building, leading into the “more” that’s to come. So I’m definitely going to say you don’t want to read this as a stand-alone. It’s a great book, but it’s going to leave you wanting to continue, as any great series will do. One of my favorite aspects of this story was Alexis’ passion project: building a home for abused women. Honestly, I was very surprised by this part of the story because it felt so advanced for the time period (although I’ve done absolutely no research into whether or not my assumptions were correct, so I could just be living in a bubble), and yet it made her that much more likeable for me, more relatable. And with that, we’ve come to the part of the review where I say “I will say no more”. (You’re welcome.) If you’re looking for a new hearty historical fiction series to kick off your holiday reading, this is it. Curl up in your favorite reading space, carve out some time from your schedule, and prepare to lose yourself in Victorian England.
KindleLady More than 1 year ago
A very pleasant book introducing a new cast of characters. My favorites were Sebastian and Alexis. I felt the book was a little too "vanilla" and could have used more excitement . I would read the next chapter to see where the story line goes.
CharlotteLynnsReviews More than 1 year ago
Barbara Taylor Bradford is amazing. She takes a time that is so far into history and brings it to life. As a fan of hers, I know that when I pick up one of her amazing books I will be taken back in time to a land that I am not familiar with, customs that are not known to me, and a way of life that I’ve only heard about in a history lesson. Her books are the best history lessons I have ever read. I can picture the horse drawn carriages, the esteemed houses lit up by gas lights, the beautiful corset style dresses, and the rest of the wonders of the era. I loved how involved James’ grandparents were in his life. They let him live while giving him the knowledge, the support, and once in a while a shove in the right direction to make his dreams come true. James’ knows what he wants to do and while he is not from a wealthy family he is taught manners and is educated to make it possible for him to reach his goal of being “Prince Merchant” for Malvern’s. I would put Master of His Fates in the categories of historical fiction, women’s fiction with the twist of romance and suspense. All of the above categories are ones that I look to when I am in need of a book to read. Barbara Taylor Bradford does an amazing job of weaving together the storylines, making them come together seamlessly, and pulling the reader in.
KelsieAL More than 1 year ago
Great start to a series! Master of His Fate by Barbara Taylor Bradford is the first novel in a four-book series, tentatively titled The House of Falconer. This novel, set in Victorian England from 1884 to 1889 centers around two seemingly disparate characters, James Falconer and Alexis Malvern, whose stories are eventually merged in an exceedingly cunning manner. Commoner, James is a young man who begins his career working a market stall with his father, but soon establishes an ambitious plan for his future. Noble, Alexis is a young woman with a strong sense of independence, due to her active role in her father’s business. Bradford artfully switches the story from one character to the other without ever losing the reader’s attention. Romance, drama and intrigue are purposefully balanced with an outstanding cast of characters, which includes the family of both main characters. European history is masterfully interwoven into the story, including the emergence of the infamous Jack the Ripper and the rising career of the then little-known Dr. Sigmund Freud. I loved the ending, which leaves the reader with a sense of hope and appropriately sets the stage for the next book in the series. My thanks to St. Martin’s Press and NetGalley for the opportunity to read an advance copy of this book. However the opinions expressed in this review are 100% mine and mine alone.
teachlz More than 1 year ago
Barbara Taylor Bradford, Author of "Master of His Fate" has written an intriguing, intense, emotional, riveting, and captivating novel. Barbara Taylor Bradford is an amazing author that vividly describes her unique characters and dramatic settings. The Genres for this novel are Historical Fiction, Fiction, Women's Fiction, with a touch of Romance and Mystery and Suspense. The timeline for this story is set in Victorian England where there is a huge diversity between the very wealthy and the very poor. The author describes her colorful cast of characters as complex and complicated possibly due to circumstances and events. This is the first in a series, and I look forward to the next book. Alexis Malvern is a beautiful and intelligent daughter next in line to inherit her father's extremely successful and lucrative business. Tragedy occurs that forces Alexis to step back, and recover. James Lionel Falconer should credit his grandparents for bring up to learn the ways of a gentleman. James has excellent manners and is educated through books in his grandparents house, where they are the head servants given much respect. As a boy, James watches and helps his father in the market stalls. When James is asked what his dream is to be he will say a "Prince Merchant". As James matures, he works his way up the ranks and is honest and hardworking. He is determined to make something of himself. When Alexis is recovering, James works at the Malvern company. James has a head for business and notices that there is something wrong with the books. There are twists and turns, danger, mystery, suspense and murder. I would recommend this book for readers who enjoy a book of substance. 3 likes
LawladyCase More than 1 year ago
In typical Barbara Taylor Bradford fashion, this is a real gem. James Malvern is good-looking, kind, ambitious and only 17 years old. He helps his father at the stall in Malvern Market but he has bigger plans for his future. Through escapades, opportunities he never thought possible and even love, James works to accomplish that goal. This book brings us the lives of the Malvern, Falconer, Carpenter, Venables and Trevalian families. There days intertwine and interlace through pain, loss, love and success. Right up to the surprise ending. Saying more would be a spoiler. I am confident you will enjoy this novel as much as I did. It is an easy read with a variety of beautifully described settings with richly portrayed characters. It tells a story while exploring the depths of a family’s love, support and protection. I received an eBook ARC from NetGalley in exchange for an honest opinion. This did not affect my opinion or the ratings of this book.
Sunshine1006 More than 1 year ago
James Falconer is a very ambitious young man. Working at a stall that his father owns begins his career as a merchant. He moves up until he is working for Henry Malvern, one of the richest and most prestigious companies in London. He gains money and power as he climbs up the ladder, When he works on a project with Alexis Malvern, something grows between them. Great story of Victorian England's class divide between the rich and the poor. I loved James. He was a charming and strong character. I want to know more about him. I received this book from Net Galley and St. Martin's Press for a honest review. The opinions expressed are my own.
onemused More than 1 year ago
"Master of His Fate" begins a new historical fiction series. We begin with James Falconer as a boy- already he has big dreams. He currently helps his merchant father to sell wares at the market, and he absolutely loves what he does. He dreams of owning a big shop and stores to sell wares when he is older. With an idyllic, loving family and grandparents (seriously, Hallmark quality interactions), James is already on the right path for success. Next, we meet Alexis Malvern. Her father owns a trading business and has raised her to take over for him (breaking the mold of the time). She's intelligent, quick-witted, and independent. In fact, she is so independent that she has decided she will not marry and have to worry about her husband's potential issues. Although her father worries that his business will then never be passed through her family, he loves her so much that he supports her in all things. Alexis is starting a charity for women with abusive husbands where they can escape to get on their feet. Between these two characters, following their lives becomes intriguing. I was much more pulled into Alexis's life at the start as James and his family just didn't feel quite real. However, over time, James really grew on me. For lovers of historical fiction and Jane Austen-era/style writing, I think this will be a big hit! Be ready to be pulled into the lives of these individuals and their amazing families. Please note that I received an ARC from the publisher through netgalley. All opinions are my own.