The Mammoth Hunters (Earth's Children #3)

The Mammoth Hunters (Earth's Children #3)

Audio CD(Unabridged)

$59.95 View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Mammoth Hunters (Earth's Children #3) 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 362 reviews.
jansquared More than 1 year ago
Great book for 3rd in Series. Characters rich and well thought out by writer. References to plant life/usage on the mark. Animal descriptions as accurate as I've ever seen. Geographical/topical detail in minutae. Ms Auel is often redundant with prior story background and descriptions of locals and plantlife, but above all the reading is still great. This series of books would make a great collection for a personal library so it could be read again and/or shared with others.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
You definately need to read Clan of the Cave Bear and Valley of the Horses first. They would not be nearly as good out of order. Wonderful insite into how early man developed and lived but written in such an exciting and romantic fashion. Excited to start the next in the series
Roxie56 More than 1 year ago
If this the first in the series you read you may like it, but it was the third for me. I found myself literally skipping over multitude of pages. It is like the author was looking for "filler" to 'make' a book. The descriptions of the environment, the animals, the feelings, the plants, the flint carving, everything went too far. Drama drama drama. I didn't like it much but had already paid for it, so I skimmed it. Don't spend money on it; go to a library and check it out for free.
Jennifer Seastrand More than 1 year ago
I cant believe almost EVERY page had typos to include special characters instead of letters... names switched which was confusing... what a mess... i recommend just reading it hard copy its not worth the frustration of reading it on your Nook!
MagiV More than 1 year ago
So sad - I have all of this series in hard copy, but really wanted them on my new Nook, especially with the new Land of the Painted Caves coming out next month! I started reading at the beginning, and was immediately struck by how AWFUL the translation to eBook had been - NEVER occurred to me that B&N didn't get access to the electronic files which the printers use when printing up new books, right? - NEVER occurred to me these books were OCRed, which means that many times the words are incorrect or missing. There are formatting issues like italics where it does not belong, a sentence that runs right off the page of the Nook never wrapping around. Punctuation that was incorrect or completely missing. And, unlike the old classics, we have to PAY for this. I actually needed to use my hard copy to be sure of what I was reading - in each edition! I wrote a letter of disgust to B&N, and was told - in short, that my issues were being sent on to the publisher and when they made corrections, it would automatically be uploaded to my Nook - BUT, that I was not entitled to any kind of refund per B&N blah, blah, blah.... Very sad. I have many other books on my Nook that are 10 & 20 years old yet there are no "typos" in those books. Be warned!
Brigit More than 1 year ago
This third book in the series is written just as well as the two before it. The descriptions of the plant and animal life make it easy to picture what these steps and plains must have been like. In this story, Ayla and Jondalar set out of the valley with their horses to explore the surrounding area. They come across the Lion Camp of the Mamutoi (Mammoth Hunters) and are invited to stay the winter with them. I thought it was fascinating to read how these people built an earth lodge complete with a hearth for each family, annexes for food storage and sweat baths and that they constructed it out of mammoth bones, hides, sod and silty mud. The interactions between these people, their social order, customs and beliefs were so vividly described, I felt as if I was there.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The Mammoth Hunters are people that gave Ayla her home and her new friends. The book shows the life of two travellers among the Hunters. Jondalar loves Ayla and he is afraid to lose her. Ayla feels the same towards Jondalar, but she doesn't know if he loves her. The story is breathtaking and I am going to read the 4th book. Please, don't stop writing.
susieb327 More than 1 year ago
Adored this one too. Must get the rest of the series
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have been a fan of the Earth's Children series by Jean M. Auel for many years. Always waited impatiently for the next book in the series. Love all the descriptions she gives of plants, animals and landscapes.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Interesting ready to read plains of passage
Jadxia More than 1 year ago
Seems like the publisher ran this series through OCR conversion and didn't bother to spellcheck. The name "Brun" ends up being "Bran" until halfway through the book. Vowels are interchanged with predictably confusing results. This ebook is still able to be read and understood, but who wants to pay for a book filled with typos?
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was one of the best in the series. I cannot put it down and can't wait to finish Ayla and Jondalar's adventures and find out if she stays a Mamutoi or stays with Jondalar - although I think I know which one she's gonna choose.
nieva21 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
If I could I would give this book 10 stars! I loved this book better than Valley of the Horses. Maybe I just like sappy happy tear-jerker endings that are the classic making for love that was at first unrequited, but them was denied out of fear and jealousy. It was realistic because of the love triangle many of Auel's female audience will be able to identify with, having two very different men pulling for you and not being able to be honest or strong emotionally, but learning as a result of pain, budding passion, close calls in life and the mystical flaws of the predetermined eventuality that fulfills Ayla and Jondalar's destiny.
mikedraper on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The action continues the saga of earth's children and takes place during the Ice Age 25,000 years ago.Ayla and Jandlar meet the Mamutoi, who are people like Ayla, they are Mammoth Hunters. When people in the village see that Ayla can control a horse by riding on it and having it come when she whistles, some think she has great power, others become distrustuful.Ayla develops a fondness for Ranec who is a carver of Ivory and artistic. Since she and Jondlar have been lovers, he becomes jealous.One of the points that the author makes is that we should accept others who are different. Ayla helps a six-year-old boy who cannot speak. He is half Clan and half Other. He is a Flathead but Ayla has the ability to communicate through sign language. She teaches this child, Rydag sign language. The boys first sign is 'mother' and his mother is delighted. She tells Ayla that she never expected to be able to communicate with her son.This ficticious examination of history shows how things might have been and shows readers how people of different races (Clans) can get along together. This makes the novel timely with the political climate today.Ayla is a heroic figure who is a born leader at a time when women weren't highly regarded. She stands out in her ability to communicate and her wisdom.
DavidBurrows on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is a good read but not as good as the first two. It's a little overly long. Very imaginative though and worth the effort. It follows on from the Clan of the Cave Bear, set in prehistoric times as the title suggests
janiereader on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is another lllllooonnnnggg book. It is interesting and I finished it but the length of it is so daunting. I think it would have been much better if it had been edited better. I am not going to finish the series, I don't think I could take it. Though I am interested in knowing how it all ends up.
Justjenniferreading on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I've been working on this series off and on for about 12 years. I bought them right after I graduated high school and didn't realize at the time the mental fortitude this series takes to read. At 18 I just didn't have the patience to read 700 pages. But now that I'm a bit older I can really appreciate this series.Since I did start the series 12 years ago I feel like Ayla's been a part of my life for quite a while. She pops in to say hello every few years. So I've really become attached to her. It's hard for me to criticize this book at all because I do love Ayla and Jondalar so much. But it took me forever to read The Mammoth Hunters. I started this book in the summer of 09 and had to put it down about half-way through. Partly because I had just finished reading The Valley of the Horses and partly because the romance scenes were becoming a bit too much for me. Don't get me wrong, I'm far from a prude (believe me) but it just felt like all Ayla and Jondalar did was make love.I'm glad I picked it back up. As it really is a great story. Again, I do seem to have a bit of an attachment to Ayla and Jondalar so I may be a bit biased here, but I really do like this series. There are times when I think the descriptions go a bit more into detail than necessary, but they also create such a vivid picture as to where the characters are and what is going on. The Mammoth Hunters introduces us to so many new characters I didn't think I'd ever get them all straightened out, but as the story goes on I really didn't have any problems keeping track of everyone.I obviously like the main characters but I really liked the Mammoth Hearth. Tulie, Talut, and Frebec are probably my favorite new characters. Frebec comes off as being a bit of a jerk at first but he's really loyal and protective. He also seems to have a bit of a soft side that, like most men, he was trying to hide. Tulie and Talut are great characters. They are strong, wise, serious, playful, and humorous all at the same time. They just seemed so real to me.While I don't think I'll be reading Plains of Passage anytime in the near future, knowing it's sitting on my bookshelf is a bit of a comfort too me. When I decide I need to see what Ayla and Jondalar are up to I can just pick it up and start reading it. It's like a having one of those great friends that even if you don't talk for awhile you can sit down and have a conversation and it feels like no time has passed at all.
mssbluejay on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The third of Earth's Children series, the story line became somewhat overdone, repetitive, and predictable. As did the following sequels.
jayne_charles on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Like a cross between the two previous books, with a bit of a love triangle thrown in. I still miss the Neanderthals - these Mammoth Hunters seem a little too modern. Is there anything they haven't worked out how to do? I half expected one of them to whip out an i-Pod. Certainly anything they haven't yet discovered, Ayla promptly invents. But not to criticise too much - it's well written, packed with information and fairly eventful. Still left me wanting to read the next one in the series.
MaryRunyan on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Once again, Jane Auel outdid herself! I love the Mammoth hunters and she made it all come so alive! Outstanding books
becbb88 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Really, Really good read.
Sherri on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Another fine installment in the Earth's Children Series
surreality on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Plot: A travel/adventure plot, interrupted by long stretches of soap opera community living and romance. The pacing is horribly slow and the plot tends to get bogged down with repetitions of earlier scenes. Tension build-up is rare and usually resolved in anticlimatic ways. No real ending. Characters: There is no real character development going on anymore for the main characters; they stay who they are, despite the adventures they experience. Side characters don't get much attention as far as their personality goes; the focus is on their task rather than who they are, which doesn't make them very interesting and highly replacable. Style: Lots of description of flora and fauna and an increasing amount of rather badly written sex. Personal interaction in general rarely feels very authentic; the dialogue tends to be stilted and just doesn't sound like actual speech. Plus: Beautiful depictions of the surroundings and stone age life. Minus: The soap opera elements. Badly written porn. Ayla the wonder-woman solving every problem imaginable. Summary: This is where the series jumps the shark. There just isn't much to say, and it shows.
jennmurphy on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is were the clan series starts to take a downward turn for me. While the first 2 books held my attention with the writing and unique setting, this book seems to rely on a very soap opera-ish formula as other reviewers have pointed out. The main plot of this book is Ayla choosing between two men: not what I had come to expect from the series. Still to give Auel credit, it did keep my interest, I just was not as excited about it as the others.
Bookmarque on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Now we get to the soap opera of communal living. Fun story though Ayla's constant inventing and heroism are now starting to grate.