Mairelon the Magician

Mairelon the Magician

by Patricia C. Wrede

Hardcover

$17.04 $17.95 Save 5% Current price is $17.04, Original price is $17.95. You Save 5%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Mairelon the Magician 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 23 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Get ready for an adventure like you never had before! Patricia Wrede, author of Dealing with Dragons, triumphs with one of the best fantasy novels to come along in a long time. Kim was unsure about the magician that she met, who was simply known as 'Mairelon.' He was cunning, intelligent, and member of the London's gentry. And he had quickly discovered her secret that she was a girl playing the role of a boy in the mean streets of England. Kim wasn't too fond of Mairelon's henchman, Hunch, either. But a mystery of the magician's past comes up, and now Kim is entangled in a stranger's fate and future. In the English countryside, the three set out to find the real answer to who stole the Saltash Set, and it's not going to be easy.
Anonymous 4 months ago
Still just the most intriguing and exciting writing, I have it in digital and paperback!
bluesalamanders on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Street thief Kim unwittingly accepts a job breaking into a wagon belonging to a real magician. When the eccentric Mairelon catches her at it, everything changes.I've loved this book for years, mainly because the characters are fantastic. Kim, Mairelon, Hunch, Renee, and nearly a dozen minor characters that are all easily distinguishable with clearly different personalities and motivations, even in such a short book. It's refreshing, after the meandering tomes with scores of practically indistinguishable characters that are so prevalent these days.
jjmcgaffey on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Love it. Mairelon is utterly un-pin-down-able - he has distraction down to a fine art. Kim is great, with a fascinating backstory (though we don't get much more than an outline in this book) and an oddly practical (or maybe not so odd) outlook on things. And Hunch makes a wonderful foil for the two of them, as they all three build the structure of their relationship. Mairelon's mission is neat, Kim's interference and then assistance is perfect. I'm always on the verge of laughing almost throughout, as Mairelon wiggles around to get his way; then the scene on the Druids' lodge tips the story _almost_ into straight comedy. But through all the funny bits and slapstick, there's important matters being dealt with - Freddy, to some extent, Renee, Andrew, and of course the Saltash set. And finally Kim. The only weak note is the question of Laverham's blood - after Kim's thoughts on seeing St. Clair, you'd think it would be obvious. Whatever. Happy ending that makes an excellent beginning. It's too late at night to start the next book! Really! Hard to wait, though...I've read it at least three or four times, and I expect I will read it many more times.
Darla on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
It was no Enchanted Forest Chronicles, but it was a fun story, nonetheless. 17-year-old Kim, a girl disguised as a boy, is a thief in Regency England, until she gets caught burgling an actual magician's wagon. But instead of being arrested or turned into a frog, Mairelon the Magician invites her to become his apprentice.What follows is a madcap adventure, reminiscent of, say, It's a Mad, Mad, Mad, Mad World, with several different parties, each with their own motivation, racing to be the first to collect the Saltash Platter and put together an entire set of magical artifacts. It's heavily flavored with 1800s English street cant, but it's easy enough to figure out once you've been reading for a while.I've put the sequel on my list. Maybe I'll be able to talk my youngest into trying these, now that he's suddenly rediscovered reading.
fyrefly98 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Summary: Kim is a young woman who disguise herself as a boy to make a living picking pockets and thieving in the streets of Regency London. When she's hired to break into the wagon of a man doing a magic act in the market, she thinks it's easy money - after all, she doesn't have to steal anything, she just has to take a look around. But when she gets into Mairelon's wagon, she discovers that he's not just a street performer... he really can do magic! Rather than get upset at the intrusion, Mairelon offers Kim a job, since he's on a mission to track down some magical artifacts of immense power, and Kim's street-urchin skills might just come in handy.Review: Patricia C. Wrede has a flair with funny fantasy unlike anyone else I've ever read. Rather than the fairy-tale-spoof nature of her Enchanted Forest Chronicles, though, Mairelon the Magician was more in the vein of the Sorcery and Cecelia books she wrote with Caroline Stevermer - essentially a historical fantasy blended with a touch of a farce, although in this case told from the point of view of a young lady from a very different station in life. Kim's an enjoyable character, though, as is Mairelon, both well-built enough to be interesting and sympathetic without endless character development slowing down the plot at all.The plot is what I think I would call "lively" - definitely fast moving, with enough double-crossing and thievery to keep reader's attention. It's also wildly funny - both in the larger farcical scenes as well as in smaller moments or quick lines of dialogue. My only problem was the sheer number of secondary characters - all of whom seemed to be named Commonname J. Britishdude - so that at times it got confusing who was related to whom, and who was stealing from whom, and who's secret motives were which. A re-read would certainly help sort that out, however. Now I just need to find a copy of the sequel, which is sadly out of print. 4 out of 5 stars.Recommendation: Mairelon is not quite as strong as Wrede's Enchanted Forest Chronicles, but if you like Regency fantasy, books with a good blend of wit, farce, and slapstick, or Wrede's writing in general, then I'd definitely give this one a chance.
Isamoor on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Aug09: Well, she is just one consistently awesome author.Characters: Loved them. Had just enough development and delightful personalities.Plot: Just enough humor to mix with the not-really dangerous danger.Style: So very awesome. I know it's not really 'Old London', but it still makes you feel like it :)
Nikkles on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I'm not usually a fan of fantasy set in the "real" or "modern" world, however, I really enjoyed Mairelon's story. The character are all fun and the writing is great as all Wrede's writing is. If your already a fan and you liked The Enchanted Chocolate pot you will almost certainly like this book.
Pagemistress on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
In the Sorcery and Cecelia books co written with Caroline Stevermer, Patricia C. Wrede created an alternate Regency England where magic is real and magicians can cause trouble. Wrede's solo Mairelon the Magician could easily be the same world as the Sorcery and Cecelia books, but though Mairelon possesses many of the same traits as the other books (mysterious plots, magical hijinx, enchanted objects, and a certain element of a comedy of manners) it doesn't sparkle quite as brightly. Perhaps it's the single narrator structure, or perhaps with this book Wrede was aiming for a slightly younger audience, but Mairelon seems to lack some of the depth one might expect. At the same time, there is great fun to be had in following the adventures of Kim, a gutter orphan disguised as a boy, when she sets out to rob Mairelon, a street magician who is also not quite what he seems. The ending is rushed, and the final few pages wrap up things up perhaps too neatly and too quickly, but Mairlon is still well worth the effort, and has definite potential to grow.
orangejulia on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book is combines a rollicking adventure with magic and the mystery of where is a stolen set of silver located. Kim is a street urchin/thief masquerading as a young boy. She is caught trying to sneak into Maireleon's carriage, and she becomes his apprentice in both stage magic and real magic. Set against the background of regency England, this book is fun and appealing to young and old readers.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book and the sequel were both wonderful reads. They are aimed at a younger audience but as a 16 year old I still found them immensely enjoyable. Kim's street cant took a little while to figure out but as soon as I got used to it I found that it added to realism of the story. By the end of the book I expected the characters to walk right off the pages. The only disapointing thing is that there isn't a third one in this series!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is great! If you like fantasy, you should definitely read it. It is hilarious, dramatic, twisty, and has a bit of intrigue. Wrede masterfully combines all the great things that makes books enjoyable. You should definitely read this book and its sequel The Magician's Ward. They are about a young girl, Kim, who masquerades as a boy. She gets a job to see if a performing magician has a silver dish, but ends up being caught and before she knows it Kim is on an adventure with the magician, Mairelon, aka Robert Marril, and is thrown into a tangled web of magic, deceit, love, political ladder-climbing, theft, honor, brotherly fued, and spy caper.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I LOVED this book! Ms. Wrede is at her usual level of excellence in writing! The book grabs you out of the starting gate (though it will take a little bit to get used to Kim's way of talking), and never lets you stop to rest! EXCELLENT fantasy!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved this book! Patricia Wrede, I thought, did an excellent job with the characters, and the plot as well. I have never read a book with a plot like this before, and I felt like I truly cared about the main characters, Kim, a practical, curious and enchanting thief who has had to masquerade as a boy for all of her life, and Mairelon the magician. When sixteen year old Kim goes to investigate Mairelon's wagon during a show because, she has already captured my heart with her first step into the wagon. She gets caught and finds out that the 'hocus pocus' magic is real after all. Mairelon, instaed of tossing her back into the cruel streets of alternative Regency London, offers to take her in with his suspicious, and prudish, manservant, Hunch and to learn, among other things, learn the art of magic, reading and writing, and to help him discover where the Saltash Platter, which he was falsely accused of stealing, and part of the Saltash Set is, exactly. Kim accepts his offer, but she obviously has no idea that she is going to go on one wild ride with evil magicians, dangerous thieves and more. But despite her practical efforts to get Mairelon to put an edge on his (many) adventures, Mairelon does find a way to use Kim's skills from her sixteen years as a street urchin on the back alleys of London to the best- and sometimes most hilarious- advantages. By the time I am finished, I am jealously wishing that I could be Kim, so I could go on her adventures with Mairelon and the many minor characters. Mairelon the magician was also excellent, and he is my first and only favorite male character. I have never had a favorite male character before, but Kim is definetly one of my select few favorite heroines, as she resorceful, strong, and witty. I couldn't put this book down- it had everything I could have wanted in a book- magic, humor, adventure- and a nice little chemistry between Mairelon and Kim. Fast-paced and interesting, this book drew me in from the first. While I'm not sure that many guys would like this book, really, how many guys read any of Ms. Wrede's books? But I'm fairly certain that most girls like myself would enjoy it. It's definetly going on my keeper shelf, along with the sequel.
Guest More than 1 year ago
i simply loved this book. its like if it has magic of its own.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I brought this book on a road trip and read it right through, I didn't even give in to carsickness! I couldn't put it down! Ilove Kim's street talk and practical thinking and Mairelon's attitude. Mystery, fantasy, adventure, history, magic, humor, you name it! The sequel is equally amazing!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is absolutely wonderful. Kim is enchanting and engaging as a practical yet curious thief trying to curb Mairelon's adventurious tendencies. Despite her best efforts, Mairelon turns her skills in sneaking to his best advantage, dragging her into play-acting a page, burglaring a country home (the second burglars of about five), following various characters through the woods, and harassing their kidnappers. All of this is concluded by a hilarious last third of the book, and a surprise ending. This is not a read-once book, this is a read-often book. Fast paced and very funny, you will not want to put this book down.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The enchanting theif, Kim, takes the hearts of her adience when she first takes step into the Magicians traveling home. Having to disguise herself as a boy Kim has wonder'd the streets taking what she will. One day a Toff comes by to pay her a good sum to see what Mairelon has in his traveling gypsi cart. Taking the offered job Kim gets caught and makes sudden allies with Mairelon. Not knowing that she has thrown herself into a world of evil wizards, theifs, and unsuspecting evils will Kim live to tell the tale of her adventure?
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is an enchanting and delightful romp through an imaginary England, which you probably already know from the previous reviews. I enjoyed this book, just for sheer entertainment value. It's really very funny, with a hilarious climax like something out of a 'Jeeves and Wooster' episode. Despite the many similarities to the 'Jeeves and Wooster' stories, it's also got magic and two wonderful main charaters. Kim and Mairelon are delightful. Look, I'm using that word again...sorry, for lack of any other adjective... Anyway, It's not perfect, and I found I hard to keep up with all the minor charaters, which is important to do, as they often get thrown together in various entertaing situations. The sequel is also pretty cute, I didn't enjoy it nearly as much, I think I missed Kim as the street urchin, and how that affected the chemistry between the two main charaters. Both are enjoyable reads, and I'd highly recommend them.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book I recomend for people 11 and older that like magic, mistery, and adventure. its a story a boy a girl disguised as a boy that is hired to break into a magicians wagon. She discovers that this guy isn't just one who can make things dissapear on stage but is a full fledged wizard. I like this book because of the magic and adventure. Magicians ward gets better so read both.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The thief Kim runs into the magician Mairelon, but things are not always what they seem to be. First, the gentry that hired her to steal from Mairelon doesn't tell all or know all. Now, Kim, with Mairelon's henchman Hunch, as well as Mairelon himself must find out the truth before it's too late. They have all, well, most, of London's flatfoots after them when they have done nothing wrong. Not to mention Kim's own dark and secretive past with a man named Mannerning. What will become of Kim and Mairelon?