The Magic of Recluce

The Magic of Recluce

by L. E. Modesitt Jr.

NOOK BookFirst Edition (eBook - First Edition)

$9.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Magic of Recluce (Recluce Series #1) 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 89 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Simply put, this is fantasy for people who want to think, not those who just want to escape. Modesitt offers several items that are not common in fantasy, but that work well, including a hero that still has to work to put food on the table, moral dilemmas that feel real, and a magic system that is both unique and still understandable. This is most definitely not 'lite' fantasy, but it is very satisfying when you get to the end.
cak57 More than 1 year ago
An excellent read! I highly recommend this book to any fantasy lover.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Modesitt's first book provides us with an introduction into a world not so different from our own. His characters laugh and cry as we all do. The most intriguing portion of the book, though, is the complex system of magic he has developed. For there is Order and Chaos and the Balance in between.
wordforteens More than 1 year ago
There's a handful of publishers that, if I see their seal on something, I'll read it, even if I don't end up liking it, because it normally falls down the path of things I do like. Tor is one of them. So when I spontaneously got the 20th anniversary edition of The Magic of Recluce in the mail from them, I knew I had to eventually sit down and take a peek. I had no idea what it was about, other than that it was high fantasy; I hadn't heard about it from other people, didn't look into it, didn't even look at the star rating on Goodreads. I just sat down and read it. The problem with The Magic of Recluce is that it takes a while to get into. The world itself makes the story interesting enough to keep going -- I wanted to learn more about chaos and Recluse and blackmagic and order -- but Lerris starts the story as unrelatable and unlikable, and none of the side characters stand out enough to really become attached. However, pushing through that section pays off -- Lerris' character grows, his mountain pony is the best part of the story, and the world becomes even more interesting. I like the setup and the way magic works and the surprisingly feminist ideologies at some points for a book published over twenty years ago. (A fantasy with women leading an army? Hell yeah!) For high fantasy fans who enjoy a good world, I'd say to pick it up; for anybody else, though, it would take a while to get into with little payoff at the end. Though the setup for the rest of the series is interesting, it functions just as well as a standalone, so I have no need to pick up the rest of the books.
JonMoss More than 1 year ago
Excellent world building and superb magic system with an annoyingly dense but affable young adult protagonist on a quest. Lerris is 'the chosen one' but for all the wrong reasons or completely mysterious hidden reasons until he's painted himself into a corner with his fumbling choices. Lerris isn't burdened with a prophecy, but he resists the status quo of Recluce. Lerris is just your typical young adult with attention deficit disorder (i.e., he's bored and finds everything boring), but Recluce doesn't prescribe Ritalin. Somewhat like extreme Amish, Recluce peacefully forces their misfits to either exile permanently or go on dangergeld (similar to rumspringa but with a quest attached), during which they must decide if they can return to Recluce and succumb to its creed and worldview (seeking perfection in Order). This novel follows Lerris on his journey as a dangergelder until he understands all that Recluce embodies and effects, and reaches his decision. If you are looking for a story with character growth, Lerris' journey as an exile from Recluce will fit that bill. If you are looking for a new fantasy world with a detailed history, divergent societies, a logical robust magic system, with a different spin on the age-old struggle between angels and demons, good and evil, black and white, order and chaos, then you've come to the right story and series. Modesitt's Recluce series reminds me of Asimov's robot stories. He sets up a scenario with some basic, seemingly simple rules (for example, Asimov's Three Laws of Robotics and Modesitt's Order/Chaos balance system as glimpsed through snippets of The Basis of Order) and proceeds to challenge those rules with his world and its characters. While each novel adds a piece of the broader puzzle, for the most part, like this first one, the books stand alone quite well.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Good book, story was entertaining, however, use of onomatopoeia becomes annoying with sound effects for many minor details ''click' I closed the door.'
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
THIS IS A GREAT BOOK! I LOVE LERRIS AND YOU REALLY FEEL LIKE HE IS REAL! THE BOOK IS VIVID AND THE MAGIC SYSTEM IS SPECIAL! I ENJOY HOW WHITE IS BAD AND BLACK IS GOOD, SOMETHING DIFFERENT TO THE WORLD OF MAGIC BOOK! I RELLY RECOMEND IF YOU LOVE A GREAT STORY WITH MAGIC, A QUEST TO FIND ONES SELF, AND A GREAT CHARACTER! IF YOU LOVED WHEEL OF TIME BY ROBERT JORDAN, YOU SHOULD ENJOY THIS BOOK, BUT EVEN THOUGH THIS BOOK IS NOT AS GOOD AS WoT, IT IS AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I reallly believe that this book got me hooked on L.E. Modesitt, JR. I have enjoyed his writing for several years and have collected many of his books. Good author and excellent characterizations.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is one of my ultimate favorite books to read, and that's hard to say because I read a lot. This is not an easy read but is really worth while I have read it five or six times and love it.
blueshield More than 1 year ago
Seldom is such a well written book produced, but even less frequently in the genre of fantasy as we get more then our share of pulp style novels. This series is great, but this the first book in particular is a real gem. The main character is thoughtful and sincere and you come to feel his personal struggles as he tries to do what he feels is right in the face of many wrongs done by the Chaos Wizards and institutionally by his own people. Perhaps most importantly this book addresses moral points concerning society and people's responsibility within it. This book is not an easy read by any means. It has plenty of action, but doesn't try to speed you along to the finish like it's a race. It's thought provoking and enjoyable from beginning to end. The perfect kind of book to enjoy while sitting around drinking cocoa on a snowy winter's day. I can't recommend it highly enough.
Rick Harrison 19 days ago
Great book, will read more in the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really good series.
jimmaclachlan on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
It's the first one he wrote, but is currently next to the last or so in the chronology. He recommends his books be read in the order he wrote them & I have to agree for the first read, at least. After reading them once, a second round in chronological order is better, though. I've read it several times, at least. Very enjoyable.He posits an interesting world where Order (Black) & Chaos (White) are separate forces that can be manipulated by humans. Those who wield each, don't generally play well with those who use the opposing force. There is a balance, so both forces gain more play in the world as the other side becomes stronger. Some people are focuses of one or the other, too. It leads to interesting situations.In this book, he tells the story from the Order side. He continues this for the next 6 books, until book 8, "The White Order" finally gives us the Chaos side of the story.
Guide2 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Probably better than 3 stars, but having read it out of order, the story looks too familiar to other of his books.
idanush on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The first of a long series of books about the world of recluce. Weirdly enough, recluce is a tiny part (an island) of the world this takes place in.Modesitt has a very interesting look at the whole good vs. evil business. In his world everything needs to balance. Modesitt doesn't define good or evil but rather "order" and "chaos" . Neither is necessarily bad and neither can exist without the other. This really reminded me of Zelazny's Amber series.It is nice though, has the author went to lengths to define a very strict way to practice magic, unlike other fantasy works where magic is very vague and anything can happen if it helps with plot. As far as the narrative goes Modesitt exploits the boy that becomes hero template. The Boy is expelled from Recluce for questioning the principles of order. Recluce has a policy where if you don't fit the frame exactly you're being trained and shipped off. In this book's case, the hero is shipped off to Candar which is the home of White Magic. We quickly learn that the candarian are not "evil" and the hero does in fact settle down in Candar.The book is in first person, which I loved, and unlike the rest of the series which is third person.
Karlstar on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is an interesting novel about law vs. chaos, and how they both can be good and evil, but in Modesitt's world, law is generally good. A young wizard of law must learn about law and himself while forced to confront chaos. Not quite your usual 'boy meets self while wandering the world', but close. A good, interesting novel.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A great beginning to a great series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the first book to one of my favorite series!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
lorisfay More than 1 year ago
L. E. Modesitt, JR. Writes a complete book with a beginning and ending. His books are long too not a couple hundred pages and you have to buy the next one to find out what happened. They will keep you up late reading. I am reading the third book in this series and will get all his other books.