Mad Ship (Liveship Traders Series #2)

Mad Ship (Liveship Traders Series #2)

by Robin Hobb, Anne Flosnik

Audio CD(Unabridged CD)

$49.73 $69.99 Save 29% Current price is $49.73, Original price is $69.99. You Save 29%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, October 21

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Mad Ship (Liveship Traders Series #2) 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 108 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I found this book to be a refreshing change of pace from Robin Hobbs previous series The Farseer Trilogy. While you do not necessarily have to read the previous trilogy to enjoy this one, they do take place in the same world and it wouldn't hurt. This book starts of the Liveship Traders trilogy in a much more positive and fantastic way then Hobbs other works. The difference in story telling is drastic and I found this book to be much less dull and depressing then The Farseer Trilogy. I strongly recommend you give this series a shot even if you do not enjoy previous works by Robin Hobb.
Quilber More than 1 year ago
I read the follow up series first and enjoyed them enough to want more from Robin Hobb, so I found this series. I would highly recommend these books to all fantasy/dragon story readers.
Narilka on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A solid middle book for a trilogy. Mad Ship picks up right where Ship of Magic left off. The characters continue to develop and there were a couple surprises. The stories are starting to tie together more. It will be good to see how it all ends.I do agree with another reviewer in that it seems the middle of the book gets bogged down a little.
littlegeek on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Man, I'm really enjoying this series. When the connections between the sea serpents, the dragons, the liveships and the Rain Wild began to dawn on me, I just got a chill up my back. I love how Hobb slowly develops these fascinating ideas. Such detailed and intricate world building.Another thing at which Hobb excels is character. All the characters are well drawn, but at the same time, they change over time according to their circumstances and situations in ways that ring true to actual human beings. This is a rare, rare thing in any form of fiction, and I can't praise it highly enough.I immediately picked up the next volume in the series and I'm loving it as well. The only downside I have found with these books is they seem to bog down somewhere in the middle, as characters suddenly seem to want to talk everything to death or endlessly argue or psychoanalyse each other. It's almost as if Hobb doesn't trust the reader to get everything that is going on, so for the slow readers she takes a break midway through to explain it all. You've already shown it, just keep going with the story.
willowcove on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
In the same universe as the 'Farseer' books, and just as good. A unique twist of where the ships' powers come from.
tronella on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
o/ I am over halfway through this series now! Hooray. Pirates! Dragons! What's not to like? I'm really liking the way the history of the Rain Wilds is being slowly revealed, too.In the middle of this book there are a couple of very rape-filled chapters, which I was fortunately warned about in advance by Amy. So... you may wish to take that into account. I found them quite disturbing.
abatishko on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
While I enjoyed this book very much, I thought it fell just a little short of the first book in the series. Even so, it was nice to see some of the characters change and grow in this book. There was also a good number of unexpected turns to the plot. I'm very much looking forward to seeing how this series gets all wrapped up in the third book. 4.5/5
littlebookworm on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A phenomenal follow-up to Ship of Magic. The characters really grow in this one, and that stood out to me more than anything else. Hobb's writing is excellent.
xicanti on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The plot thickens in the second volume of The Liveship Traders. Althea, Brashen and Amber refit Paragon as part of an attempt to regain Vivacia. Kennit's kingly aspirations move forward as he works to sway both Wintrow and Vivacia to his cause. The Vestrits become more firmly entangled with the Rain Wild Traders. And Satrap Cosgo's diplomatic voyage to Bingtown seems destined to begin a war.This was a fantastic book with tons going on at all times. Hobb excels at developing complex, multi-dimensional characters who grow as their lives change, and they're really what drives this story. Amidst the vivid sea battles and political upheaval that provide the action, it's really the characters that shine forth and draw the reader in. Their storylines intersect and diverge beautifully as the book progresses.I still found the writing a little loose in places, and the dialogue is occasionally quite stilted, but by neither of these things seemed to matter as much as they did in the first volume. The story is built up so well that it pushes technical concerns to the background.I highly recommend this, but really encourage you to read Ship of Magic first. This is pretty much a direct continuation of the story; I don't think it would have the same impact unless you've also read the first volume.
rocalisa on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
It took me a long time to read this - a month - and I really loved it. The growing "big picture" is fascination and more and more of the pieces are falling into place to make the mysteries of the first book seem much clearer. I knew the liveships had a link to the dragons, but I certainly never figured out exactly what it was.
jedisluzer on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Robin Hobb is my favorite fantasy author these days, and this is my favorite of her books. It is also the first one I read. The last quarter of this book is truly thrilling, as we see the plot come together into something that startles. I could read the scene where Tintaglia hatches over and over.
wyvernfriend on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Book 2 and if book 1 was complicated book 2 becomes even more so, looking forward to book 3
PollyBennett More than 1 year ago
So much detail, changes, and excitement. People you love, and, people you love to hate. I love this series, and I'm starting the final book in this trilogy next.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very good in perts dragged in others
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
WRIGHTMIND More than 1 year ago
IF YOU WANT TO GET AWAY FROM IT ALL, THE LIVESHIP TRADERS SERIES, IS HERE TO TAKE YOU. THE CHARACTERS ARE SO REAL, THE PLACES THEY VISIT ARE PICTURE PERFECT. READ ALL ROBIN HOBB HAS TO OFFER YOU WILL NOT TO COME HOME
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
deesy58 More than 1 year ago
Too many story lines/narrative perspectives make the story too convoluted. Most of the characters are unappealing, wallowing in self-pity or reveling in evil. None of the characters seems able to rise above themselves to act in what might be called a "heroic" manner. The book is very tedious and easy to set down, making it a long, boring read. The first book of the trilogy was bad enough, but this second book is much worse. I found myself skipping paragraphs, then groups of paragraphs, then entire pages. Finally, I simply abandoned the book and decided that I will not read the third book of the trilogy, either.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this series. It's creative and interesting. Worth my time!