Lucky You

Lucky You

by Carl Hiaasen

Paperback

$14.82 $15.99 Save 7% Current price is $14.82, Original price is $15.99. You Save 7%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, November 20

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Lucky You 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 41 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed the book however it had many slow sections for me. I feel it had too many other characters with information concerning them that I really didn't care about. Extra fluff that I just wanted to skip over and get back to the real plot.
Maximillian More than 1 year ago
Carl Hiaasen writes about screwball characters and unbelievable situations. His humor makes you laugh out loud as you read. I love to read one of his books (this was the third title by him for me) when I need a break from more serious tomes. However, there certainly is an undercurrent of keen observation and commentary about human nature and morality in his stories. I do love it that the bad guys get what's coming to them and the good guys get their due.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Loved this book! Complete opposite of these deeply developed novels that you need to take notes to follow. Don't get me wrong, Mr. Hiasson has a great plot, albeit a little corny, but it's ENTERTAINING! If you want to escape from the seriousness of everyday life and laugh, then this book is a must read! Great characters, hysterical plot, fast, funny read.
rmckeown on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Carl Hiaasen has a distinguished career as a newspaper reporter in Miami, Florida. Like Pete Dexter ¿ a former columnist for the Philadelphia Daily News -- he turned his hand to novels. I have read about six of Hiaasen¿s works and thoroughly enjoyed them all. His stories are gritty and down to earth, and have that special something which sounds a lot like newspaper writing. This 1997 novel, Hiaasen¿s 7th, is no exception.Tom Krome has been relegated to covering mall openings, beauty pageants, and, in this case, the story of a woman who won $14 million in the Florida Lottery. Hiaasen writes, ¿The downsizing trend that swept newspapers in the early nineties was aimed at sustaining the bloated profit margins in which the newspaper industry had wallowed for most of the century. A new soulless breed of cooperate managers, unburdened by a passion for serious journalism, found an easy way to reduce the cost of publishing a daily newspaper. The first casualty was depth. ¿ Cutting the amount of space devoted to news instantly justified cutting the staff¿ (21). Investigative teams were one of the first cuts these business types made.Krome was just ¿peaking in his career as an investigative reporter¿ (21). He applied for a job as a ¿feature writer¿ for The Register. He was offered a job as a divorce columnist, which he declined. A week later, the managing editor offered him a job as a feature writer, which Krome accepted, since he was trying to save for a move to Alaska.Meanwhile, JoLayne Lucks won half of a $28 million dollar lottery prize. The other half was won by a white supremacist in Miami, who was furious he had to share the prize with what he was sure was a member of one of Florida¿s two major minority groups. His plan was to start a militia to protect the US from a NATO and UN led invasion of the US to eliminate all the white people from America. The lunatic conspiracy theories which came out of Bode Gazzer¿s twisted mind were just that ¿ sheer lunacy. His partner in this insanity was Chub, a trigger-happy racist, who occasionally expressed some skepticism about Bode¿s theories but liked the idea of being part of a militia.Bode and Chub decide to steal JoLayne¿s ticket. They find her shortly before Tom Krome does, and the two set out to track the thieves and recover her ticket. This is the main plot, but a humorous sub-plot involves Lucks¿ hometown of Grange, Florida and some crazy con-artists running a religious miracle racket. All this is revealed in about the first 20 pages, so I am not giving much away. Lucky You is exciting and takes many unexpected twists and turns. I am not really a fan of mysteries and suspense stories, but the newspaper angle intrigues me, so I am working my way through Hiaasen¿s work. This novel, like the others I have read, are great stories, with several interesting characters ranging from serious to funny to the bizarre. 5 stars--Jim, 6/10/12
Tasker on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book has a better-than average, Hiassen collection of goofy characters that cause frequent bouts of head-shaking and grinning during its read. It's amazing how dumb some characters can be (Bode and Chub) and how deceptively-smart others can be (JoLayne). There is critical agreement on the high quality of Elmore Leonard's dialogue but I feel Mr. Hiassen's is a close second.
Djupstrom on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Hiaasen is a funny author that doesn't solely rely on his jokes. He has well-developed characters and interesting, yet amusing, plot twists.
hamiltonpam on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Hiaasen is a great read, his characters are quircky & outrageous. enjoyed
miyurose on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Hiaasen has a real knack for writing about the dregs of society. His characters seem impossibly colorful, but if you're a reader of Fark, you know that in Florida this plot is completely plausible. I love Hiaasen's matter-of-fact satire. Though I have to say I kinda thought the Hooter's girl deserved the second lottery ticket.
elliezann on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I'm always delighted to read another Carl Hiaasen and this book is delightful.JoLayne Lucks wins the lottery and dreams of saving land destined to become a jungle ruin in mid-Florida. However, before she can collect her winnings, two men brutally beat her up and take the ticket. Enlisting the aid of a has-been reporter and a Federal agent, JoLayne hunts the men down.Zany characters in a Bible-Belt town where all sorts of human-derived "miracles" happen, Hiaasen again reminds us that Florida needs saving. He does this in a witty,humorous style that keeps the reader entertained as well as enlightened. Fans will not be disappointed and new readers will have found a new friend.
madamejeanie on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Grange is a small south Florida town, famous for it's religious shrines and fanatics, like the Weeping Virgin Mother (with twice daily performances for the pilgrims) and the Oil Stain Jesus out on the county blacktop. But nothing much newsworthy ever happens there until one fateful Saturday night. JoLayne Lucks is the beautiful black vet's assistant who plays the same six numbers every week in the state lottery and on this particular Saturday realizes that she has one of two winning lottery tickets each worth a cool $14 million. Her dream is to spend it rescuing a local plot of swampland from a strip mall developer. Bodean Gazzer and his redneck buddy, Chubb, are the founding members of a home-grown White Supremacy militia they've called The White Clarion Aryans, and this unlikely pair hold the other winning ticket, and they want the whole $28 million. Afire with paramilitary fervor, Bode and Chubb need the cash to bankroll the start-up of the White Clarion Aryans before NATO takes over America with heavily armed paratroopers coming in from the Bahamas. In a burst of uncharacteristic deductive reasoning, they figure out who has the other ticket and drive down from the Tampa Bay area to steal it. They break in and beat JoLayne and steal her ticket, but before they can cash it she mounts a hot pursuit with the help of local journalist Tom Krome. As they chase Bode, Chubb and a kidnapped Hooter's waitress through the swamps and sleazy dives, dodging bullets and local religious fanatics, Tom and JoLayne leave a wake of mayhem and hilarity.I just love Hiaasen's books. There's nothing quite like them for pure unadulterated escapism. The descriptions of the ridiculous bad guys, the completely cockamamie ideas and unlikely outcomes never fail to entertain me. I've read nearly all of his books and I have to admit that I'd be hard pressed to try to pick a favorite, they are all just so delicious. This one cracked me up several times, drawing stares from my family. Nobody writes a more satisfying end to such wonderful tales as Hiaasen. This one gets a high 5.
vwbernie on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Rarely have I found an author that has made me laugh out loud so many times in one book. Hiaasen has done that for me in the books of his I have read. I love his wit and dry humor. This is a great story about two lottery ticket winners in Florida. One is a young black woman that works in a vet's office and loves animals (keeps an aquarium full of 45 baby turtles that she saved) and the other is a redneck, white supremacist that doesn't feel like sharing the $28 mil., especially with a "negro". Thus begins the story of his search for JoLayne and her ticket. Along the road we meet a sexy newspaper journalist, his wife that refuses to divorce him because she might look bad, the religious fanatics that relieve the tourists of their money with weeping Mary idols and oil stains in the form of Jesus Christ, a Hooters waitress and many more hilarious characters. If you like a good laugh and a little mystery, give this one a shot.
ctfrench on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Grange, Florida is a small, out-of-the-way community known for its religious miracles, from the weeping Madonna to the stigmata man with holes in his palms that do not heal. Not to mention the road stain in the form of Jesus and the woman who visits every day in her wedding dress. And now, one of their own, JoLayne Lucks, has won one-half of the state¿s lottery of $28 million. JoLayne works part-time as a veterinarian¿s assistant and plans to use her lottery winnings to buy and maintain wooded acreage in danger of being developed into a shopping mall. The other half of the lottery winnings belong to Bode Grazzer, a short man convinced NATO forces are lining up in the Bahamas ready to invade America, and his sidekick Chub, a paint-sniffing wannabe mercenary. Chub and Bode, needing money to begin their own supremacist organization so they can defend the white man when America is invaded, decide to steal the other lottery ticket. They break into JoLayne¿s home, beat her up and take off with the ticket. On the way to the lottery office, they recruit a convenience store clerk known for his lack of cognitive abilities and take hostage a Hooters waitress Chub has fallen in love with. To JoLayne¿s aid comes Tom Krome, an embittered former investigative reporter now working for a small newspaper covering social events. Tom¿s editor sends him to Grange to write a story about the lottery winner, but before he even pulls out his notepad, Tom finds himself in cahoots with JoLayne and hot on the trail of Bode and Chub. All six end up on a small island in Florida Bay, where a confrontation develops over the two lottery tickets and where two will remain behind forever. Carl Hiaasen is a master at developing wacky characters and zany plots and dialogue that will leave the reader in stitches throughout the entire book. This is a book all readers will enjoy as they follow the madcap antics of these screwball characters.
wyvernfriend on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Another riot of a book this time it's about a winning lottery ticket. Actually two winning lottery tickets. JoLayne Lucks uses the numbers that corespond to the age she dumped a tiresome lover, every week, this time they're lucky for her. She's the winner of 14million, half of the 28 million jackpot. Problem is that shes known because she lives in a small community and the racist idiots who won the other half want the rest.Tom is the reporter assigned to do a puff piece on her, just before he leaves his lover's husband has his house shot up, so there's really nothing for him to go back to.A fun romp and better, for me at least, than Stormy weather, but quite similar in feel. Hiaasen has no patience with fools and it shows.
SusyBeast More than 1 year ago
The usually fun ride from Hiaasen! Read and enjoy.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a fun book! The characters are all original and well thought out. I will definitely read more if his books!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
PennedQuinn More than 1 year ago
My mother lent me this book (which led to it living on my "to read" bookshelf for almost a year), but I was shocked to enjoy it! The whole book abounds with humor, humanity, and a certain amount of suspense. Worthwhile pool read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago