Little Earthquakes

Little Earthquakes

by Jennifer Weiner

Hardcover

$24.57 $26.00 Save 5% Current price is $24.57, Original price is $26. You Save 5%. View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Little Earthquakes 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 268 reviews.
harstan More than 1 year ago
Lia thought she had it all with Sam, but tragedy has sent her fleeing Hollywood and him. Popular Chef Becky loves her husband Andrew, but detests her interfering nasty mother-in-law. Kelly works hard so that she and her spouse can live a better life than she did as a kid, but her husband Steve lost his job and seems not to care about anything even her. Reporter Ayinde is married to a basketball superstar Richard who she though was faithful to her, but now knows he is just like every other jock, using the wrong head to break his vows................................ Lia meets the other three women, who already are friends and pregnant. She joins their circle as she sees sisters with spousal troubles. Can this quartet provide the safety net and support that each one desperately needs at a critical time in their prospective lives?......................... LITTLE EARTHQUAKES is a strong insightful character study that runs along four subplots that rotate between the women, but intersects as each tries to be there for the others. The story line hooks family drama readers from the start as the tales seem real, touching, and somewhat amusing though serious. The key cast comes across as friends and neighbors helping one another cope. Jennifer Weiner furbishes a deep look at varying relationships, the good, the bad, and the ugly............................. Harriet Klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I don't understand why an e-book that is fifteen years old is so expensive. $12.99? Why?
Wuzzlicious on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I really loved this book. So much so, that i immediatly went out and bought a 2nd copy of it and handed it over to my then-pregnant friend.I think it's a very good and accurate, without being frightening, view of in-laws, pregnancy, and life after childbirth.
bibliophile26 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
One of those books where the story unwraps from the perspective of different characters, who are connected, but each have their own story. This book was about pregnancy, childbirth, raising an infant and losing an infant to SIDS. As a breeding woman in my 20s, I was entralled.
tripicia2 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Good break from the more serious books I read. Laugh out loud funny, enjoyable read.
cefeick on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
My favorite Jennifer Weiner book. It features the most diverse cast of characters and most realistic situations.
cindyloumn on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Story of a group of women that meet in a prenatal yoga class, and their lives, husbands, and babies, and how a womanthat lost her baby comes to join tehm. Loved all their personalities and those of the husbands,mothers, and MILs. 8/19/05
sleepydumpling on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I'm always pleasantly surprised by Jennifer Weiner's books. I go into them expecting a light read, but I get real food for thought. Wonderful characters and a realistic reflection of life.
risadabomb on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book was really enjoyable. The author has characters I related too and it was well written and just kept me hooked.
Flamika on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is one of those "heart-warming" novels. You know, the ones that make good movies? It's about four women and the troubles they go through during their pregnancies. Not my type of genre, but the book was still good.
MsNick on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I feel as though it's safe to assume that motherhood is a challenging endeavor. Having said that, I felt that this book focused on the negative aspects of becoming a new mother. The characters were one-dimensional, clichéd stereotypes and weren't particularly likable.
imscraps on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Man could I relate to a lot of this story!
jdy on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Wasn't a big fan of this book. A quick read, but found myself bored.
melydia on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
(unabridged audiobook read by Johanna Parker): Though stories of multiple people all experiencing different variations on the same theme are far from uncommon, this one is reasonably fresh and enjoyable. Here we have four mothers (current, former, and soon-to-be) from four different backgrounds, each dealing with issues with her marriage and with her mother (or mother-in-law). The target audience is definitely mothers and mothers-to-be (and I think fathers could benefit from such an honest account of what their wives and girlfriends are going through), but I found myself sympathizing with the characters and wanting to know how things turned out. I especially empathized with Kelly. No, this book has not made me want children of my own, but it was a good story nonetheless. And it certainly didn't hurt that it was read by a actress with amazing subtleties in her voice. Most of the men sounded alike, but she had an amazing range in her female voices.
Sunflower6_Cris on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Little Earthquakes is another great Jennifer Weiner read!True to Jennifer Weiner's writing style this is another book that you will enjoy from start to finish! A must read for Mommies but it can be enjoyed by anyone! I read bits and pieces to my husband when he would find me laughing out loud. A quick and easy read for a rainy day, even with kids at home.
ladycato on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Why did I buy this book at a thrift store? I don't even like chick lit! And this book reminded me why.It's well-written, covering the travails of a cluster of impending mothers and how they cope during their babies' first year. The author is indeed witty and makes some good observations. It's just... they annoyed me (Kelly especially). Their experience was nothing like my experience in becoming a mother and I had difficulty relating to some of their problems. There were so many brand names dropped in this book I wondered if the publisher was getting kickbacks. I can see why this was a bestseller and why many enjoyed it, but it's just not for me.
ktptcruisin on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I have yet to find a Jennifer Weiner book that I do not like...read Good in Bed then Little Earthquakes...follow it up with a dessert of In her shoes....
puckrobin on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
If you have ever known anyone who was pregnant or been pregnant yourself, this book will have you laughing in no time. A slice-of-life with a gaggle of mothers-to-be, Weiner takes aim at all of the predictable opportunities for humour in one of humankind's most awkward and beautiful condition, and finds some new crannies to examine under the light of honesty and compassion. Note: if you are pregnant this book might make you pee a little (laughing so hard, you see).
blondestranger on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Easy story to get into but at times too "fiction". Touching message on the importance of girlfriends and the challenges of life.
Deesirings on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
One of the most important strengths of this book is that Weiner has created four distinct primary characters and has had the wisdom and foresight to introduce them individually rather than opening with a group scene in which they are all together and, within three pages or so, the reader is expected to take in the names, appearances and major character traits of each one. The way Weiner does it, it's easy to keep track of whose who throughout and care about each of the four main characters. She doesn't stop there, either. She manages to introduce the right number of secondary characters at the right time, as well. I don't think I was confused even once about who was who and what their relationships to each other were. That's saying a lot. (I'm easily confused.)Weiner writes from the third person perspective for three of these women, but from the first person for one. In this sense, Lia (Lisa) is the heroine. But I question whether that is really the case. I actually wonder about the author's choice in this respect. Not that I don't think it worked but I don't quite understand why she did it. It's also interesting that Weiner chooses the first person "I" for Lia rather than Becky. Becky, the big,tongue-in-cheek Jewish woman, is likely the character most like Weiner and most like Weiner's previous heroine's, yet in this novel, Becky, like Ayinde and Kelly, is a "she" rather than an "I". Lia, on the other hand, has had success as a Hollywood actress and her baby boy has died (traits which as far as I know, Jennifer Weiner does not share [N.B. I am far from an expert on Weiner and know nothing about her beyond her Wikipedia bio]. Though I am curious about this choice of perspective, I am not claiming that it doesn't work.If I had to identify a one-word theme for this book, I would say "understanding". We see this particularly in the closing chapters where Becky comes to greater understanding of her mother-in-law, Kelly and her husband gain greater mutual understanding of each other and Ayinde gains greater understanding of the woman with whom her husband cheated. Lia, perhaps standing a little apart (and maybe this is why she is different and written from the first person perspective) in turn seems to gain greater understanding not of someone else but simply of events, of life. And perhaps in her case the better word would be "acceptance" than understanding. In any case, we see definite growth and some sort of resolution on the case of each of the four women. Which is one of the major strengths of the novel.Is this book chick lit? Weiner is linked to the genre and I definitely felt as though "Good in Bed" qualified as chick lit, though I might not feel the same way about now that there has been such an explosion of the genre and the category seems to be epitomized by lighter reads that are primarily intended to be enjoyed during the act of reading but have little staying power.This book reminds me more of reads like Divine Secrets of Ya-Ya Sisterhood and Olivia Goldsmith's Young Wives, which I suppose are more "contemporary women's fiction" than chick lit, per se.I think some of the elements I discussed above are those that take a book beyond chick lit and into something with a little more staying power: multiple main characters who are well-defined; a third person perspective; an overriding theme; a demonstrating of true growth in the characters; a cast of secondary characters who are also rich and multi-layered. A well-done novel.
tinas37 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Totally awesome! Jennifer Weiner writes what is in a woman's mind! I really enjoyed reading this, often laughing out loud at her quips
mighteq on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A must read chick book. It tells a great, and often time humorous, story about 4 very different pregnant woman and how their lives intertwine as the birth of their children nears.
seka760 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Another Jennifer Weiner title, although I didn't like it as much as "Good In Bed" or "In Her Shoes." Still a good read, I wanted more about the single life and was not ready to move into motherhood just yet (both in books and real life). Enjoyable just the same though.
alanna1122 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I was surprised how much I enjoyed this book. Weiner does a good job of weaving the stories of 4 friends all whose lives have changed by motherhood. I thought the characters were well drawn and the story was really engaging. I thoroughly enjoyed it and will definitely look out for another Jennifer Weiner book to read.
jlouise77 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I really, really liked this book. I love that Jennifer Weiner always has a chubby "heroine". It really helps me identify with the book a lot more than the typical, 22" waisted, busty maidens, lol. I identified a lot with the moms and all of their situations. This is a GREAT read for anyone who has just had/has a baby. The characters are all so lovable and fun. This was really a great read, I couldn't put it down.