Lion in the Valley (Amelia Peabody Series #4)

Lion in the Valley (Amelia Peabody Series #4)

by Elizabeth Peters

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback - Reprint)

$9.99 View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, October 24

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Lion in the Valley 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 59 reviews.
kayceel on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The Master Criminal! He of the wickedly smart criminal mind, who so clearly intrigues Amelia and infuriates Emerson.Amelia, despite having the pyramids at Dashur to crawl around in, finds herself fascinated with the murder of a Cairo antiquities shop owner. As she investigates, she becomes caught up in more murder, disappearances and, of course, the mysterious "Master Criminal."LOVE. Recommended!
hredwards on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Great, tongue in cheek adventure mystery!
tjsjohanna on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This was an enjoyable installment because of the major introduction of Sethos. Amelia and Emerson continue to have an amusing relationship, but the element of jealousy introduces another layer to their relationship. Ramses continues to be funny and annoying at the same time - but with parents like his, anything else would be a little odd.
alana_leigh on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Perhaps my favorite Amelia Peabody Emerson mystery yet! Elizabeth Peters isn't exactly a brilliant mystery novelist as far as the mystery part is concerned, but she does, indeed, craft a fun tale -- and she's created two very charming lead characters whose banter more than makes up for any deficiencies as far as the mystery is concerned. Thankfully any issues which cropped up in the past few novels and proved to be irritating (aka Ramses and his speech defect) have been firmly dealt with and reasonably worked around. True, things are a bit formulaic and yes, there are several things that the reader just needs to accept and roll with, but hey, I felt more entertained by this book than I have by the previous two installments and this firmly planted me in the pro-Peters camp so that I know I'll keep reading the series, so clearly the book is a very welcome chapter in the lives of Amelia Peabody and Radcliffe Emerson.In Lion in the Valley, the Emerson family heads to Egypt for a season spent excavating at Dahshoor. They acquired this coveted site after events from the previous novel saw them all imprisoned in the black pyramid at Dahshoor and young Ramses may or may not have helped the Director of Antiquities to a rich and exciting find. Even with such glorious pyramids, though, one could not think that Amelia Peabody Emerson would be so content as to ignore the danger from the Master Criminal, that fiend who runs a black-market antiquities ring. Those readers who were growing a bit annoyed at the constant speculation on such a character will be quite pleased with this novel, where considerable progress is made towards unmasking the devil, or at least learning more about his (her?) passions and methods. The Emersons have a talent for "adopting" down-on-their-luck Englishmen (a role filled just as often by Englishwomen, though) and this holds true here. They run across a young man named Nemo (or such is the name he selects from himself) who is obviously a well-bred Englishman (or Scot) even if he is dirty, dressed as an Arab, and has clearly been smoking opium. After Nemo saves Ramses from potentially being abducted, Emerson insists that they take in this stray and assigns him the role of Ramses-caretaker (no one is much surprised that this post is never filled by one person for more than one book). Not to be outdone, Peabody has her own idea as to who should be taken under her wing this trip when she learns the identity of a young lady named Miss Enid Debenham, an heiress seen in the company of the scheming Kalenischeff. Of course, when Kalenischeff is found dead in her room and Miss Debenham is nowhere to be found, there is some question as to whether or not the lady can look after herself. Naturally, of course, there's plenty of romantic backstory to entangle "Nemo" and Enid and that all plays a role as the Emersons try to determine who killed Kalenischeff, who is behind the antiquities smuggling ring, and who seems to be sending Amelia little tokens of love... Of primary importance to me in this particular volume was the fact that Ramses has mostly outgrown any speech defects that rendered his soliloquies quite irritating. Now the boy is merely tiresome, but his parents seem to share the same opinion as this reader and so they are frequently cutting the boy off... of course, this often has the obvious effect of silencing the astute young child when he's about to supply a crucial bit of information, thus leading to confusion and drama, but so it goes. The somewhat harder to swallow storyline involves the identity of the master criminal and his true passions... for even if we can adore Amelia Peabody, let's face it... she was initially described in the first book as a pretty solid spinster entirely out of fashion and unless love has totally transformed her, I'm finding it pretty hard that this mastermind has worshipped her from afar. Be that as it may, at least we do get to interact with this genius of crime
GTTexas on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Amelia and Emmerson excel in this early Amelia Peabody adventure. Always good for fun and an enjoyable break from more serious reading.
Glorybe1 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I came across this by accident and have to say it was quite an amusing read. A series of books about Amelia Peabody and her husband Emerson, archeaologists, digging in Eygpt at the turn of the century.I found it very tongue in cheek and couldn't take it too seriously, but I found myself smiling at their adventures trying to find 'The Master Criminal'.Quite a good filler until something meatier comes along!!
cathymoore on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
As much as I love Amelia Peabody as a character, this book is seriously let down by the plot. When I am reading books in a series featuring the same characters and the same setting everytime the author needs to bring some orignal plotting to the table for each instalment. Unfortunately this is essentially a re-hashing of the previous book in the series. The only thing that seems to have changed are the names of some of the characters. Amelia is hunting down the Master Criminal, Emerson is disagreeing with all her theories and Ramses is being precocious. This really lacks originality. I hope the next one is better.
lisapaul on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Untoward and unwelcome turn to the plot construction / genre, in the last third or so. Turned from a Snarky Chick Book into some kind of rampageous pulp. I like those, but I prefer to know when I'm entering into reading one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A nice enjoyable read.
InTheBookcase More than 1 year ago
Amelia and Emerson are back in Egypt for another season of excavation and archaeology. However, as the odds deem, murder strikes... yet again! Fear of the Master Criminal which Amelia is so sure of deepens the plot. The threat seems to be approaching closer... I have to say... Ramses, the couple's son, is probably my favorite character, with all his innocence, brilliance and sneakiness. He could talk your ear off on topics you've never even heard of! So lovable though. This was yet another great book from Elizabeth Peters. Adults with a sense of humor and a sense of wonder for adventure will enjoy it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read many of Elizabeth Peters books several times, this one included. We get to finally meet the Master Criminal - but having met him in the later books, he does not really strike me as the same man he develops into. But I guess that's hindsight. Amelia is always a fun read. She's always good for laugh and an eyeroll.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Best in the series yet. And it feaurures Sethos!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this author, ELizabeth Peters. All of this Amelia Peabody series is about 1900 murder mysteries with archeologists Radcliff and Amelia Peabody Emerson and their family/asscociates in Egypt. Very intelligent read, very clean; I always learn so much (and have to look up words because she writes like a scholar.) Highly recommended - reading this series for the 2nd time around!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago