Life Drawing

Life Drawing

by Robin Black

Paperback(Reprint)

$13.50 $15.00 Save 10% Current price is $13.5, Original price is $15. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, August 22

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Life Drawing: A Novel 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 13 reviews.
BostonWriter More than 1 year ago
This is a nail-biter of a portrait of a marriage. So few novels nail the complexity of long-term, middle-age relationships, and this was my favorite since Crossing to Safety. One of many observant lines: “There are often two conversations going on in a marriage. The one that you’re having and the one that you’re not. Sometimes you don’t even know when that second, silent one has begun.” It's a twist on the classic a-stranger-comes-to-town story: an artistic, middle-aged couple, newly living in the Pennsylvania countryside to heal a rift in their marriage, and a new neighbor moves in next door. Friendships, confidences, alliances. And from there the screamingly quiet drama begins, and becomes not so quiet at all.
ABookishGirlBlog More than 1 year ago
Augusta and Owen seem to live in quit solitude in the country. Previously being city people it is hard to imagine what would drag an artist and a writer out of their beloved city away from all their friends and into the country. Something big! That's What. All seems to be well  on the surface but underneath there is a hot mess that neither one of them seems to want to talk about let alone deal with it to get the closure their relationship so obviously needs.But life always get interrupted and this interruption is in the form of a neighbor. So at first I thought that either Augusta or Owen would have an affair with this woman and this would be the conflict but I was wrong and the way it goes down hill for all of them is a slippery slope that none of them will ever recover from. Black really opens up the raw emotions of a marriage or coupling. She also focuses on decisions and consequences that we all face but she shows how our decisions can have such a huge impact on others and can be life altering. Deep and raw. I truly enjoyed this book even though there were a few times I rolled my eyes. Our emotions, our decisions, and the people in our lives can make life or break it. This book is what literary fiction is all about! Discover: Love, Betrayal, and Grief. 4 stars means this to me: A great read. Memorable and highly entertaining. Recommended, but for whatever reason, not the all consuming experience that I feel characterizes a five star book. Maybe one or two minor issues.  
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. This was one of the best books I have read this year.
constantreaderRM More than 1 year ago
Stirred into "Life Drawing"—a fusion so difficult to achieve—is the ‘gotta know’ and purely glorious prose. It is that stunningly simple writing that makes for the best read. An example: “The basil I am eyeing with such irritation is rampant. The air smells of it and of lavender. Owen and I are enthusiastic, ignorant gardeners. We are inadequately attentive. We are perpetually amazed. We are innocents to nature, stupefied by its every trick. Even as I am annoyed with myself for letting the basil go to seed, I am also in awe of it. Magic! These beings that continue to grow, that know what to do next, and next, and next.” For me, the finest reading experience opens up a world I knew existed, but hadn’t managed to adequately frame; it makes me anxious, so very anxious, of the character’s fate, that me stomach clenches. A book which impels me forward, because I must know what will happen, so much that I race to finish it. And mourn when it’s done. And sometimes bend over in grief for what these characters—my new family for that period of immersion—are experiencing. Robin Black has written that book. "Life Drawing."
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is one of the best books I've read in a long time.
susanibird More than 1 year ago
Black’s novel is an incredibly imagined trip inside the mind of a woman embroiled in complex relationships with lovers and others.  Life Drawing’s protagonist is intimately revealed and always inches away from being exposed as somewhat less than honest in the telling of her story.  The husband’s death is declared on page one, yet Black cleverly keeps us just enough in the dark that the reader questions the wife’s honesty throughout the tale. Enticing and fulfilling, Life Drawing details the complex repercussions of being a social animal.  A great read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
An indepth look into love, family, relationships and loss. Beautiful. ~*~LEB~*~
Chowbell More than 1 year ago
This is a beautifully written book and a compelling story. which would be a great read for a book discussion group. I highly recommend it. I could not put it down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really wanted to like this book, but I struggled to even finish it. Very boring and depressing. Don't waste your time or money unless you are a glutton for punishment.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed reading. Fell in love with the characters, felt like I was living in their lives.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good, not great.  I found Gus to be a thoroughly unsympathetic character, too  embroiled in her own selfish needs and fantasies.  
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Maggie0624 More than 1 year ago
Sounds like a great story and the review has drawn me to read the whole book. Guess that is why it has 5 stars ¿ No issues for me. Can't wait.