A Letter of Mary (Mary Russell and Sherlock Holmes Series #3)

A Letter of Mary (Mary Russell and Sherlock Holmes Series #3)

by Laurie R. King

NOOK BookFirst Edition (eBook - First Edition)

$9.99 View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

A Letter of Mary (Mary Russell Series #3) 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 41 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very engrossing, even if a little drawn out.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Just the right amount of suspense and intrigue. And I really love the Russell and Holmes characterizations. Enjoyed it very much.
Joycepa on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Third in the Mary Russell/Sherlock Holmes series.In the summer of 1923, Russell and Holmes are ¿at home¿ in Holmes¿ cottage in Sussex. Russell is concentrating on finishing her first book on theology; Holmes is bored. Into their lives pops Dorothy Ruskin, an eccentric older Englishwoman, an amateur archaeologist, whom they met during their adventure in Palestine. She brings with her a letter written on parchment that could very well have been written by Mary of Magdala--Mary Magdalene-just before the fall of Jerusalem in 70 C.E. The letter is potentially explosive, because it clearly suggests that Mary of Magdala was an apostle and to have had a leadership role in the early church in Jerusalem, roles long believed by Christians to have been for males only. Ruskin givens the letter to Russell, and leaves for London. But Ruskin is murdered in London shortly after she leaves Holmes and Russell, and they set off on the hunt for her killer. It¿s an intriguing plot that requires a modern reader to understand the rigid belief in male dominance in the Christian church in the early 20th century (and today in some). For some time, Mary Magdalene has been widely called ¿the apostle to the apostles.¿ Most Christians today would not only not be disturbed, but rather excited about such a find. Well plotted and with the usual King strengths of spare writing, good storytelling, and fine characterizations. One of the fun aspects of this series is the disguises that Holmes and Russell employ in their investigations; this time, Russell¿s gets her into some uncomfortable situations.Because King has a degree in theology, she nearly always brings religion into her plots in some form or another, indulging herself in her own interests as she does so. It¿s always fascinating, always adding an enormous amount to her books. This one is no exception.Highly recommended.
kkisser on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The first story showcasing Sherlock Holmes and Mary Russell as a married couple and their new dynamic at home and on the case. The story is focused and return since the 2nd book to the quick pace and wit of the Bee Keeper's Apprentice.
PamelaBarrett on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
In this 3rd book in the series, Mary Russell and Sherlock Holmes have returned home to Sussex Downs from France. Mary has been exhaustedly studying for the last year and Sherlock is nearing boredom, when Mary receives a letter from Dorothy Ruskin, an acquaintance, whom they met on one of their journeys in the Middle East. Dorothy is an elderly archaeologist, who has spent most of her time on digs in Palestine, and is coming home too settle some family affairs. She tells them that this is a short visit and they agree to meet for a day at their home. When she arrives, she gives them a present, a small intricately carved box that holds an ancient papyrus scroll. What that scroll is, and the implications of its contents is a mystery, and what happens after Dorothy leaves, sends Mary and Sherlock out on a investigation that challenges them and their relationship. A Letter of Mary is another entertaining book by Laurie King, sure to please those who love Sherlock Holmes and enjoy mysteries in general.
lexxa83 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I'm a little torn over this series. I have made it through the first three books, but have had to slog through all of the them. They are well written, and I absolutely love the concept, but for some reason the characters and plot are only just barely drawing me in. Enough that I have read the first three books, but each book had to be renewed multiple times at the library, was punctuated by other books quickly devoured, and ultimately ended with a quick perusal of the ending in order to return the book to avoid an overdue fine. I want to like this series, but I just am not sure I can.
NellieMc on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I reread this recently and added another star. This book, perhaps because of the religious element, brings out theology more than most and I enjoyed it more than in the first reading.
Brian55 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I read this for my local library's mystery book club which, I unfortuneately missed the talk. I'd not heard of Lauie King before. I enjoyed the book the style, the setting in the 1920s, and the sleuthing involved. I think I would have enjoyed it more if the male counterpart of the detective couple were some one other than Sherlock Holmes. I had trouble with the idea of Holmes in the retired enviornment with a wife. Not that shouldn't happen to him, just it kept distracting me from the story and plot.
TadAD on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I was sorely disappointed by the previous volume, A Monstrous Regiment of Women; it was nowhere near as fresh and exciting as the book that introduced this series. If this third book had proved similar, I think I would have abandoned reading them. However, I was quite pleased to find that this book picked up the pace again. It wasn't quite as fun as The Beekeeper's Apprentice. Having thought about it for a bit, I'm not sure why. I can only conclude that Mary Russell married and partner to Sherlock simply isn't as fun as Mary Russell, student and (somewhat) competitor of Sherlock. Still, the mystery is entertaining and the characters are fun to follow.Friends have said they find Mary's scholarly bend a bit of a distraction from her role as sleuth but I disagree. I find that it rounds out her character quite nicely and provides a clear distinction between her and the decidedly non-scholarly Holmes. I also like the echoes of Harriet Vane in Gaudy Night that are evoked within my mind. And, of course, I enjoyed the opportunity it afforded her of meeting that rather odd fellow pottering about Oxford, Tolkien.Laurie R. King is one of my favorite writers and I'm glad that this series survived a minor derailment and is back on track.
mldavis2 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Third in Laurie King's Mary Russell / Sherlock Holmes series, this book begins with Russell married to Holmes (from the end of #2), who encounters the death of an archaeologist friend and a strange letter of possible antiquity. Murder is the theme, and the book is written with the same care as previous volumes. I'm hooked on this series as an old Holmes fan, and I find King's treatment refreshing.
bpez on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I am not a fan of Arthur Conan Doyle. Perhaps it is Watson's adoration of Sherlock that bothers me, but I have never loved Sherlock Holmes, finding that self-satisfied arrogance simply irritating. The Russell/Holmes series, however, is fast becoming one of my favorite mystery series--which says a lot. Mary is a terrific character, and I thoroughly enjoy her voice and perspective. She seems to give Sherlock a humanity and humor that I wasn't expecting; it almost makes me want to go back to Doyle and give the original another shot. I just can't seem to read this series fast enough.However, in this installment, I found the mystery itself to be a bit of a let-down. There was so much leading up to it, but the denouement was, frankly, anti-climactic. I, at least, spent a while in the first third of the book thinking, "Well, was it--oh, no, that's too easy, there's got to be lots more to it than *that*." But there wasn't. The characters, though, are what makes it all worthwhile--and I was delighted that Sherlock was as disappointed in the reveal as I was. Can't wait to read book 4!
alanna1122 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed the first two books in this series. I found this one a little disappointing. The mystery itself was not that engaging... and the one plot twist seemed very obvious to me from the very beginning of the book. It was still a fast read but I just didnt find it as interesting as the previous two books. I have to admit the whole Mary and Sherlock getting married idea makes me a little weirded out and I'm sure my discomfort with the new nature of their relationship somewhat colored my reading of this book. I certainly will read the next in the series... I am hopeful that this is just an aberration in the series.
MrsLee on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Not my favorite Mary Russell novel, but still a good read. I'm not much for the "what if" questions in religion.
toniNC More than 1 year ago
The story itself was good, but the references to the "letter" were few and it turned out not to be a factor at all. Plus, Mary's time with the colonial was a waste of space and of Mary's time.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I liked the part where Mary was having a hard time understanding what Mycroft had said to her because of the bad telephone connection.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago