Legend in Green Velvet

Legend in Green Velvet

by Elizabeth Peters

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback)

$3.95
View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Legend in Green Velvet 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 18 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is so good, not just as a mystery, but it really gets you interested in Scotish history.
mausergem on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is a mystery/thriller novel about an archeology student who comes to Scotland for a dig and gets involved in a racket of antique thieves. She with her friend James solve a mystery.This is a fairly lame mystery as mysteries go. It completely lacked the finesse and the punch.
chinquapin on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Susan is a young archaeology student with a passion for Scottish history. She comes to Scotland to work on a dig and becomes entwined in an antiquities theft ring. She meets James, the sarcastic son of a Scottish laird, who even lives in a relic of a castle. James helps her uncover the thieves and restore the antiquities, mostly while running desperately across Scotland. This was a fun, quick read with a fairly straightforward plot. I liked the quirky, wacky characters. James' father was hilarious. There was plenty of action and plot twists and turns that kept me reading briskly until the end.
tjsjohanna on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Elizabeth Peters never takes her stories too seriously, which is what makes them fun and engaging. Susan and Jamie are likeable and witty. There's plenty of Scottish flavor and an obvious love for the history and legends of the country. Finally, there are plenty of "characters" to give the novel some color.
ImBookingIt on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I enjoy reading an Elizabeth Peters romantic adventure, and this one was no exception. I'm not sure how I managed to miss it until now!Susan has a passion for Scottish history, (and so I learned a number of tidbits as the story advanced) and this leads to a case of mistaken identity, and gets her embroiled in a nasty affair, with bad guys trying to kill her. Luckily her wits and the resources of the guy that gets dragged into this with her are enough to keep them a step or two ahead.Bonus points for a brief appearance by an inconvenient and adorable ginger kitten.
JoAnnSmithAinsworth on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Interesting plot, but lacked tension. Spent more time saying why they couldn¿t investigate ¿ with minor things like I¿m hungry ¿ than giving us the drama of investigating. Read to the end, though, since the plot was good.
annbury on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Standard non-Amelia Peters, featuring young archaeologist heroine, picturesque locale (Scotland), sympathetic if sharp tongued young hero, danger, intrigues, etc. Not as good as the Vicky Bliss novels, in my view, but still a pleasant read, buoyed by Peters' humor and habit of inserting interesting bits of local information.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Excellent writing by Peters. Some of her books are my favorites. This one is suspenseful and fast-paced, but also hilarious much of the time. Hope you enjoy it like I have. Re-reading it is like a visit with a good funny friend.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago