The Last Sherlock Holmes Story

The Last Sherlock Holmes Story

Audio CD(Unabridged)

$37.15 $39.95 Save 7% Current price is $37.15, Original price is $39.95. You Save 7%. View All Available Formats & Editions
MARKETPLACE
2 New & Used Starting at $10.86

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Last Sherlock Holmes Story 3.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 16 reviews.
don0don More than 1 year ago
This book is an well-written obscenity. If one were able to give a book a negative five star rating, this one would deserve it. If you love the character of Sherlock Holmes, with all his strengths and flaws, this book will leave you traumatized and enraged. Fair warning.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Poorly done.
Guest More than 1 year ago
An exciting, chilling tale that's lots of fun for both Sherlockians and Ripper aficionados alike. One must be prepared to put some of the Holmes 'facts' and continuity to one side, however, as events in this novel don't quite work if they are slavishly matched against what has been established before.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Perhaps the most controversial Holmes pastiche written, this original novel is possibly the most prized pastiche is my collection. Few Sherlockians are ambivalent about this one. I genuinely enjoyed it and the fearlessness Dibdin showed in attacking his subject matter. Not for everyone, but I recommend it strongly.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Knowing Holmes primarily from the old movies and not from books, I didn't know what I was getting into with this book. With the different focus and surprise ending, I was drawn to other (Doyle's) Holmes stories. I actually enjoyed this more than those, feeling the older ones a little slow.
Ragnell on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book was vile, and disgusting, and I completely despised it. But I couldn't put it down. For a fanatical Sherlock Holmes fan, this is the most exquisite horror story imaginable. Do not read this unless you like the sort of stories that turn your stomach inside out from the descriptions and make your brain do somersaults trying to wrap itself around the implications. It's a perfect nightmare.It may be one of the top five horror stories I've ever read.
michaelm42071 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The amazing thing about Dibdin is that each book he writes is very different from the last, with the exception of his continuing series about Aurelio Zen, a detective in Rome. The Last Sherlock Holmes Story, originally published in 1978 and recently reissued in a Vintage Crime paperback, is a good example of his originality. Not that there¿s anything unusual about this kind of book, called a Sherlock Holmes pastiche, a literary work that imitates the style of Arthur Conan Doyle and pretends to continue the adventures of the character he made so famous. The Holmes pastiche has been practiced by writers such as John Gardner and University of Louisville author Sena Jeter Naslund. Doyle¿s son Adrian Conan Doyle wrote some Holmes stories with the help of mystery author John Dickson Carr. Probably the most successful author of Sherlock Holmes pastiches was the now-little-read Wisconsin writer August Derleth, who called his Sherlock Holmes clone Solar Pons and whose series ran to seven books.Most Conan Doyle imitators suffer from Holmes worship; they try too hard and too reverently to portray Holmes. The key to a good pastiche is to get away from idolatry and make the characters your own. In this case, Dibdin makes Watson into a credible character who understands that, as he says, ¿Living with great men is itself a minor art.¿ Watson knows his role is that of the amazed and admiring sidekick in the famous verbal exchanges in which Holmes reveals a brilliant chain of deductions. So, when one morning the great detective surprises him by inferring that he had dinner the night before at Simpson¿s in the Strand with an old friend and fellow-intern, Watson, suitably amazed, does not correct Holmes by telling him he had actually dined with his fiancée Mary Morstan at a restaurant in Mayfair.The Last Sherlock Holmes Story purports to be papers written by Dr. Watson not long before his death, sealed up by his bankers for fifty years, and dealing with events in the fall of 1888 when Jack the Ripper was terrorizing the Whitechapel district of London. Dibdin welds factual details of the Ripper murders with fictional details of Holmes cases as chronicled by Arthur Conan Doyle. The result is an ingenious solution to the murders that will shock Holmes fans.
bragan on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Sherlock Holmes is called upon to investigate the killings of Jack the Ripper. This book is really hard to discuss without spoilers -- although I really, really wish certain people both here and on Amazon had tried just a little bit harder -- but I will say that there's a disturbingly audacious idea at the center of it that I found intriguing, but I don't think Dibdin's writing is quite strong enough to bring it off as effectively and convincingly as I might like.
sweetiegherkin on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The Last Sherlock Holmes Story is written as though Sherlock Holmes and Dr. Watson were real people and from the first-person point of view of Watson. It is now 1972 and this last story is finally published well after Watson¿s death some 50 years earlier. The story concerns a case from 1888, which Watson has never shared with Arthur Conan Doyle for his collection of Sherlock Holmes stories. The case is that of the infamous Jack the Ripper and his vicious killings of prostitutes in the Whitechapel district of London.The book is very well written and, as a pastiche, seems to be very much in the style of Arthur Conan Doyle¿s original stories (although I haven¿t read enough of the original Sherlock Holmes stories to really make a close comparison). As a fair warning, the details of the murders could make the narrative a bit gruesome at parts, but that comes with the territory of a Jack the Ripper story. The plot is very interesting and compelling, although I saw the big reveal about half-way through the first disc of the audio book. Nevertheless, this kept me just as interested in and compelled to read because I wanted to find out if I was right. (There were enough red herrings here and there to make me doubt if my theory was correct.) However, the big reveal came with still two full discs of the audio book remaining. The book continued to hold my interest after that, no doubt because of how well it was written, but the plot was not nearly as compelling as before. The BBC Audio edition is excellently done and I enjoyed the audio narrator, with the caveat that he could have distinguished the voices of Holmes and Watson a little more. Overall, I enjoyed this book and would recommend it to any fans of Sherlock Holmes, mysteries/detective fiction, or 19th century literature.
megumim on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
That's an exciting story. In this story, Sherlock Holmes has another face as not a detective but a mad criminal, and I was surprised at the ending. Because I never read books about Sherlock Holmes, I couldn't accept this ending at first, but after all, I noticed the ending was also good. It's an enjoyable book for me.
Eurydice on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Genuinely shocking. The Last Sherlock Holmes Story is devastatingly argued, with a plausibility and depth of character-reading quite unequalled by Doyle himself. Holmes, here, is deeply flawed and divided, but far more deeply human than Doyle painted him. Both Watson and their friendship are fleshed out with a palpable realism. Atmospheric and fascinating, but not recommended to anyone who would like to keep Holmes on a pedestal, unbesmirched: it's titled "the Last" for good reason. (****)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Nice short novel that keeps true to Doyles works.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I found this book a well written pastiche on the Sherlock Holmes stories. Most of it felt like A.C.D. could have written it himself. However, I cannot approve of the plot. For me it undermines the value of the entire canon. I appreciate the skill but find the story repugnant.