The Last Detective (Elvis Cole and Joe Pike Series #9)

The Last Detective (Elvis Cole and Joe Pike Series #9)

by Robert Crais

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback - Reprint)

$7.99 View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, January 23
MARKETPLACE
50 New & Used Starting at $1.99

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Last Detective (Elvis Cole Series #9) 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 39 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The Last Detective is one of those books that grabs you from the first few pages and keeps you in the 'I hate to put this down' mode throughout the book. Having a peek into Elvis Cole's past adds another demention to his character in this well written book. Joe Pike continues to be a mysterious personality who will come to the aid of the few he truly cares about. He must have a soft spot somewhere ... the cat likes him!! I felt all the characters in the book were well developed. I knew who I liked, didn't like and why. I had read the earlier Elvis Cole books, but with all the other books out there I had not read him again until The Last Detective. I will most definitely go back and read the few I missed. Page turner, excellent read, well plotted, all of those terms we book lovers use, in my humble opinion of course, apply to this latest Robert Crais book.
macha on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
sokay. except the part where i didn't get to sleep till 4 am. i was obscurely disappointed in it though, because it seemed a bit perfunctory, and maybe a bit simplistic, two qualities i don't really stick Crais with too often. and Joe Pike was borderline touchy-feely, which just seems wrong.
pharrm on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Carol Starkey, who first appears in Demolition Angel, joins the Cole series
jrtanworth on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Elvis Cole, Joe Pike, and the bad guys keep the action moving from the first page to the last. Too bad that Elvis and Joe can't figure out the mystery before the reader can. Otherwise, a good thriller, with Elvis and Joe a little less perfect than usual, and up against a formidable team of nasties.
plunkinberry on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Great read! Kind of uncomfortable in places, but realistically so. Ben is kidnapped and Elvis must get him back, as much for himself as for Luce and Ben. Somewhat predictable and expected but still good. I like how Elvis & Joe are both human with failings and weaknesses. Somewhat confused about the very end...
msphotogirl on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I wasn't as impressed with this one as the previous one. I really begin to not like Lucy. Although I'm sure she's acting like any mother would in that situation. It was nice to find out how Elvis got his name and some of his background. I would have loved if Pike had gone back to Alaska at the end to get the bear.
MichaelDeavers on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A gripping read This was a fast paced thriller that is sure to be one of Robert Crais' best books. It grabbed my senses from the very beginning and didn't let up until I finished reading the exciting ending. I think that it is probably one of the darkest books in the series, and it is fascinating how it explores Elvis' past, and Joe Pike's hidden insecurities. I couldn't put the book down and I read it over a two evening period. The only disappointment was the solution of the kidnapping...a little bit contrived and unrealistic in my mind. Still, this is a roller coaster read.
Ericnwest on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
My first Crais/Elvis Cole/Joe PIke book and I think I will look for others. A bit too much graphic, gratuitous violence, and the parts in italics (especially the end piece) are distracting and boring. Elvis and Pike are slow to figure out the scenario. Pacing is good.Sharkey is an interesting character-looking forward to more of her.
caroren on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago

A real page turner with interesting characters and background information on wartime experiences of main character.  This book is filled with intricate detective work and combat details.

fnrlr1 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Best book in the author's Elvis Cole series to date. Elvis is babysitting his girlfriend, Lucy Chenier's, 10-year-old son, Ben, when the boy is kidnapped. The kidnappers imply that this is payback for something that Elvis did in 'Nam. Then Lucy's obnoxious ex-husband, Richard, shows up and tries to take over the case. It's a race to save Ben's life and uncover the true villains. Multiple viewpoints and Crais's own grab-you-by-the-throat writing style make this a riveting read. Villains are scary without being superhuman. We learn more about Elvis's own background as well.
theprint on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
It took me a couple of chapters to get into the main character of this book, but once there, I was hooked. The story is well composed with a good feel of urgency and the badguys are truly evil. Pretty good, recommendable.
Carstairs38 More than 1 year ago
Personal Kidnapping I know lots of people who rave about Robert Crais’s books, but I’ve found them to be hit or miss. That’s changed with The Last Detective. Sit back while I rave about this book. As the book opens, Los Angeles based PI Elvis Cole is trying to repair things with Lucy Chenier, he girlfriend. She’s beginning to think that her ex-husband, Richard, is correct that Elvis’s world is too dangerous for her and her ten-year-old son Ben, while Elvis is trying to convince her that some of the events she’s seen since they got together were exceptions to what his life is like. Lucy still does trust Elvis mostly since, while Lucy is out of town for a few days for work, she leaves Ben with Elvis. On the last afternoon, the unthinkable happens – Ben vanishes. After a frantic search of the neighborhood, Elvis gets a phone call. Only it’s not a ransom. The caller tells Elvis this is payback for sins from his past. The only problem is, Elvis doesn’t recognize the voice or know what the caller is talking about. With so many people investigating the case, can Elvis figure out what is really going on in time to save Ben? Lucy and Ben have been in the past few books in the series, and I love these characters, so I was immediately pulled into the story. While most of the book is told from Elvis’s first person point of view, we get scenes from Ben’s point of view and even some from the point of view of Elvis’s partner Joe Pike. This adds to the suspense and our knowledge of what is really going on. Even though I figured out one plot point early on, I was still glued to the story to find out how it would end. Just how engrossed was I in the book? I listened to the audio version narrated by James Daniels. I had already started the book, but I listened to the majority of it while driving to and from an event in Southern California. I was actually disappointed when I got home since I was in a very exciting point and I needed to know what was going on. I might have invented a reason to go out again that night to get just a little bit more of the story. Since the kidnapper is targeting Elvis because of his past, we get our first real look at his past, from his childhood to an extended look at an incidence from his time in Vietnam. At first, I was disappointed because I wanted to know about what was happening to Ben, but then I got caught up in these flashbacks, too. My biggest complaint with previous books has been that the characters, especially Joe Pike, haven’t felt real to me. That wasn’t the case here at all. We are seeing weakness in Joe even as we get to see a different side of Elvis. The rest of the cast are also strong characters. Fans of Crais’s other books will be glad to know that Carol Starkey pops up here. She was first introduced in the standalone Demolition Angel. I feel like we missed a piece of her life between that book and her appearance here, but that’s a very minor issue. As with all of Crais’s books, there is more language and violence than the cozies I normally read. A couple scenes of violence were unnecessary, but I didn’t feel the language was as out of place this time as in some of his other books. Obviously, I can’t praise this book enough. The Last Detective is a thriller that will keep you engrossed until the very last word.
Arlene70AL More than 1 year ago
The usual exciting Cole and partner/best friend Joe Pike. Exciting, interesting and gripping. You never know when some random event will turn into a new case for the pair. I love the relationship between these two men and each book is a treat for me. If you like this series, you will like this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Well written and hard to put down. Robert Crais is indeed a great writer.
CharlieParks More than 1 year ago
This was a fast paced thriller that is sure to be one of Robert Crais' best books. It grabbed my senses from the very beginning and didn't let up until I finished reading the exciting ending. I think that it is probably one of the darkest books in the series, and it is fascinating how it explores Elvis' past, and Joe Pike's hidden insecurities. I couldn't put the book down and I read it over a two evening period. The only disappointment was the solution of the kidnapping...a little bit contrived and unrealistic in my mind. Still, this is a roller coaster read and I highly recommend it.
star60 More than 1 year ago
Robert Crais has never written a book that is not worth reading. His Elvis Cole series is the best.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
KenCady More than 1 year ago
As a big fan of Robert Crais' novels, I enjoyed this one a lot. The wrap-up of the novel was one of the most exciting I have read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read the Elvis Cole books up through #11, and have enjoyed them all. He is my favorite World's Greatest Detective. That is, he and Harry Bosch.