Lady of Conquest

Lady of Conquest

by Teresa Medeiros

NOOK Book(eBook)

$3.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Lady of Conquest 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 32 reviews.
Nixmom More than 1 year ago
What dreck. The plot has possibilities in theory, but there are way too many contrived scenes that defy belief. Is our heroine a strong-willed warrior queen, or a childish, brainless twit? Is the hero a man of which legends are told or a petty tyrant? It doesn't appear the author could decide either. I suspect this was one of Mederios' first efforts that has been re-released--or else she's picked up a far better editor somewhere along the way. Couldn't make it to the end of this one--frankly, couldn't care less what happened to either of the main characters.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love the author and every one of her other books, this one just had too much abuse and too little happy. Not one i would recommend.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I've read a couple of this author's other books and this one was by far the worst. i love a good romance with twists in the plot and a good issue that needs to be worked out, but this book was like a 'How not to express your love' book.. There comes a point where Gelina should've stood up and said 'i'm tired of being used and abused and it doesn't matter that i love.' Granted both main characters were very flawed but even the king, Conn, knew that forcing yourself on someone is no way to prove your love. The end of the book leaves nothing resolved. Instead it leaves the reader with a feeling of 'what is going to go wrong next, and will it be the straw that breaks the camel's back?' I'm not sure what was going on in the author's life to lead to such an unhappy story becoming a romance novel. If the novel was taken in a purely historical sense then it was rather accurate in the treatment of women in those days. While for me this book failed to live up to the definition of a romance some of the author's other books were good.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I love Teresa Medeiros...and Lady of Conquest was good I do recommend reading it...however...there did come this point where Conn for being such a wonderful King...started acting a bit stupid...I began to become frustrated with the lovers overcoming their internal conflict...it went beyond a point.
emigre on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
well-researched romance, the conflict felt real and the chemistry felt intense.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
So glad I ignored some of the bad reviews and took a chance on this one! I love Teresa Medieros' stories and this one is one of the best! Fast paced and rivoting in it's story telling, passionate characters and plenty of twists and turns! You won't be disappointed!
MikiHope More than 1 year ago
Teresa Medeiros has been a favorite author of mine for many many years. There aren't too many of her books that I haven't read at one time or another and then ended up reading them a second and even a third time. I also bought Shadows and Lace at the same time I bought this--Shadows and Lace is actually Book 1 in the Brides of Legend series--but it reads just fine as a stand alone!! I also happen to love historical romances where there are strong handsome men--but even stronger women who manage to subdue the beasts!! It is said that true love never runs smooth and the hero and heroine of this book have their ups and downs several times. The sub characters on Medeiro's books are always entertaining and the villains--oh boy her villains. Do I think you should read this book--A resounding YES and while you are at it any other of her books you can get your hands on!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
For the most part I liked the book. I liked Gelina's character very much, she was strong and was not your typical damsel in distress kind of female. I thought it was a page turner until I reached the end, I found it very disappointing. It felt rushed and as someone else mentioned in their review, nothing was really resolved. I was not left with the feeling that everything between Conn and Galina would be okay. I think it was lacking some kind of confrontation between the two in the end, and it never happened, everything was just peachy keen all of a sudden. There was no real closure as far as the issue of trust was concerned... and boy were there major trust issues.